Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars545
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The film is based on the highly successful 'video-game' series 'Need for Speed''
first introduced in 1994 by 'Electronic Arts'
Street Racer 'Toby Marshall' has inherited his fathers business, they build high-
speed cars, trouble is the business is in debt, when former partner 'Dino Brewster'
(Dominic Cooper) who 'Toby' (Aaron Paul) has historic issues with, offers 'Toby'
a job to complete the construction of 'Dino's' 'Ford Mustang' for 25% of the sale
price, a return that could give the business a $500.000 minimum lift
Reluctantly 'Toby' and his friends accept the proposal...........when complete, 'Dino'
challenges 'Toby' to a race for the 25% fee......'Toby's' friend 'Little Pete' wants in
on the race, despite reservations 'Toby' agrees, sadly during the three car race
'Pete' is involved in a fatal crash.
'Toby' is held responsible by the law, despite the fact he wasn't responsible for his
friends death.
'Toby' out on bail hears of a Cross-Country-Race called the 'Del-eon' which sets
off in 'San Francisco'
'Toby' faces a long drive to meet the sign -in deadline he is joined by 'Julia' (Imogen
Poots) who he'd met earlier with 'Dino' during the 'Mustang' deal, she wont take no for
an answer even though the parolee tries to scare her with his high-speed driving skills.
'Dino' gets wind of 'Toby's' intention to join the race, he places a bounty on his rivals
head, whoever stops him - collects.
This a a high-octane adrenaline rush with plenty of car-chase action along with intense
high risk racing sequences..........'Bears in the Air' ......'Smokey giving chase'
The film has been underrated in some quarters, visual content '5' -dialog '4'
(Don't miss the outtake during the credits)
( If you enjoy this one you might also want to take a look at 'Non Stop' another 'chase'
movie worth a spin.
Special Feature -
* Ties That Bind.
* The Circus is in Town.
* Monarch and Maverick.
* Deleted Scenes.
* Feature Audio Commentary with director - 'Scott Waugh' and 'Aaron Paul'
* Capturing Speed-Making an Authentic 'Car-Movie'
* Need for Speed -Rivals Trailer.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
I play this game on consoles and loved it. Then I watched the film and I loved it even more than the game. I think the cars are fantastic but think it ends in a sad way. I think it is one of the best and is worth the money to buy it. I found it quite amusing and funny.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Fun, thrills, heart, cool cars and no silly over the top CGI like you get in the Fast And Furious films, the cast apart from Aaron Paul don't quite gel as well as in the Furious films but the rest of the ride sure makes up for it, great blue ray picture and sound.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Certainly has its fair share of wooden acting. Paul's ability to pull a face which makes it look like he is doing a little poo in the car when engaging in a hair raising moment is particularly special. Its a bit of fun though and has some nice cars in it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
Games are amazing! Film is the biggest load of rubbish I've ever seen. I knew this wouldn't be good, when I first heard about it I knew it wasn't going to be good i just couldn't see it being a good film and I was right. Reasons, Aaron Paul hype was a big one. Yeah the dude from Breaking Bad this movie is going to be amazing!!! Like really? I mean really?? This movie bored me to tears and wasn't at all how a Need for Speed film should have been done. In my mind, it should have been one really long police chase from start to finish with charecters interacting throughout while racing. The storyline being, they just enjoyed the thrills! That would have made a sweet Need for Speed movie and would have been just like the game! I didn't get this, and thought it was crap! F*** this movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
"Need for Speed" makes the Fast & Furious franchise seem polished and gripping. Perhaps being tied to a video game imposed too many constraints on the film makers: the plot is thin and there are many long sequences of driving shot from behind the wheel that appear to mimic a video game (but which actually lessen the sensation of moving at speed). None of the characters are well-developed (Imogen Poots is wasted in a role that requires her to screech most of her lines and Michael Keaton tries really hard to add some colour to the proceedings) but, in the end, I just couldn't escape the feeling that I should be watching "Vanishing Point" instead (the one starring Barry Newman, not the dreadful 1997 remake starring [gasp!] Viggo Mortensen).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Loved this film, not fast and furious, but then what is. However this is a very good film in its own righ, just don't compare as it would take away from an otherwise very good film
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
i actually really enjoyed this film plenty of fast cars plenty of laughs and action ive seen many films similar but this film better than most
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
Slow to start but once it gets going it's very enjoyable. Similar storyline to fast and furious but fantastic action scenes and a good cast.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
I'm glad that I never listen to film critics! This film got a bad Critical response from Rotten Tomatoes but then again if we only watched films that critics like, the world would be a very dark place indeed... Now onto the film... this isn't a fast and furious wannabe, I found the film fun, creative and had a great concept of speed (something I always hated about the NOS filled early F&F franchise. The only thing better than the camera angles is the sound track... from Marshal Motors to Switching Seats, the music gives the film real personality.

The cast is again brilliant, every actor nails the character they play.. Tobey's crew gives an impression that they really have been lifelong friends way before the film starts.. The love interest of Toby is Julia Maddon played by Imogen Poots, again hats off to the producer, 1) because I fancy her and 2) because her character actually brings a personality to the film as well as just a pretty face..

The clothing department might have been picked out by a guy straight out of a media course (bad guy wears black and good guys wear white right?) and some of the stunts do stretch the laws of physics.. I'm not talking about the grasshopper stunt, but rather the police car axle trick.. But that's the movies and I wouldn’t have it any other way...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)