Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars21
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2003
WOW...AMAZING...SUPERB... absolutely addictive with an incredible pace and FANTASTIC story.... AND THIS IS ONLY THE FIRST OF 13 BOOKS!!!!!!!!
I am not going to give away too much away, but I will tell you that the book involves a British secret government branch with all of their secret agents having a supernatural talent like Precogs, Telepaths, Spotters and of course the NECROSCOPE!!! Throw in a dead Lord of the Wamphyri (vampire), some Russians special agents, treachery, death, astonishment, & gruesome horror.....then that about covers the first couple of chapters!!!!!!
Having read all of the 13 books and now just starting them again, I know that anyone who likes their Horror, Vampires, Supernatural, will absolutely love this book.
When you read this book, you will not only be shouting from the roof top's that 'Brian Lumley is a GOD!' but you will also find yourself looking at everyday things completely differently and wondering what will happen next in the Necroscope's World...
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2012
For me, book four of the Necroscope series is not only a return to the form of the first book, but may actually be an improvement. It is my favourite in the series, for certain.

The villain in this piece fascinates me more than most and the settings are amazing, leading to two or three scenes that stayed with me long after I finished the book.

Book will make you desperate to read book 5!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
I am a total fan of Brian Lumley's Necroscope series. This one, book 4 in the whole series of 13, is especially good. But readers and enthusiasts are possibly ignorant that one of its most central ideas and even some event background, are based on a wonderful shivery long story/ novella by H.P. Lovecraft 'The Case of Charles Dexter Ward', one of the best tales I've ever read. The necromantic activities of Janos, the main Vampire in Necroscope IV, are derived from Lovecraft's story; and even Janos' castle itself and its two original owners are taken from the Lovecraft story! The whole motif of necromancy as such by reducing the cadaver to an essence of salts, and bringing back the rebellious spirit in the thus reconstituted body to reveal secrets by compulsion, and the other motifs of the monstrous shapeless 'guardians' kept in underground tubular holes, comes from 'The Case of Charles Dexter Ward'.

There's absolutely nothing wrong with using Lovecraft's ideas, in fact it is a wonderful tribute & extension of Lovecraft's story; and he would have been the first to delight in it. The original story is so hauntingly good, one longs for more; and for an enthusiast of Lovecraft's novella, like myself, it was an absolute treat to have an author of Lumley's calibre do it justice. Lovecraft himself I believe always encouraged other weird writers to use his mythos, and Necroscope IV shows Lumley's great respect for the story by in fact carefully integrating its events with the references there.

But I think it would have been handsome and appropriate for Mr Lumley to dedicate this chuckaliciously shivery wonderful book Necroscope IV 'To H.P. Lovecraft, author of The Case of Charles Dexter Ward! As an admirer of Lovecraft, he'd surely be the last person to grudge doing so. It would have helped disseminate that wonderful story. I hope he'll do so if Necroscope IV is reprinted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2009
This fourth book in the Necroscope series finds us back in more familiar settings than book three - entirely back on Earth. But the subject matter remains the same and is a continuation in the saga.

Deadspeak is enjoyable but I did not find it as engaging as the first three in the series. There is definitely a darker tone in this one which lends itself nicely to the problems faced by the central character. The good points are that some characters from previous books are brought back and utilised in a constructive way, and there is more emphasis on future events rather than using the past to explain plot lines.

On the down side I found Deadspeak lacking the fluid style from the first three books. Some events are given a slow build up, others (and arguably more important events) are given less time. Without wanting to spoil, first I wanted to know more about Harry's eventful exit from Starside. Second I found the final showdown very rushed and lacking the magnitude which was promised in the build up and would have been justified given the villain's strength.

I look forward to book five and the conclusion of this series. Some plot lines are revealed by Deadspeak and they should make it an interesting finale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
Like all the necroscope books this is a great blend of thriller and supernatural action. Lumley has by far the most origional take on vampires and manages to blend in a bit of spy thriller to boot. I first read this in paper back years ago and am now revisiting the series on kindle since my old books have all been leant, been lost in moves or give away.

Can't wait for them to release Deadspawn on kindle reading lost years until then.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2003
WOW...AMAZING...SUPERB... absolutely addictive with an incredible pace and FANTASTIC story.... AND THIS IS ONLY THE FIRST OF 13 BOOKS!!!!!!!!
I am not going to give away too much away, but I will tell you that the book involves a British secret government branch with all of their secret agents having a supernatural talent like Precogs, Telepaths, Spotters and of course the NECROSCOPE!!! Throw in a dead Lord of the Wamphyri (vampire), some Russians special agents, treachery, death, astonishment, & gruesome horror.....then that about covers the first couple of chapters!!!!!!
Having read all of the 13 books and now just starting them again, I know that anyone who likes their Horror, Vampires, Supernatural, will absolutely love this book.
When you read this book, you will not only be shouting from the roof top's that 'Brian Lumley is a GOD!' but you will also find yourself looking at everyday things completely differently and wondering what will happen next in the Necroscope's World...
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
Number four in the best vampire series ever produced. Each one of the volumes although they can be read seperately are much better read in sequence and how these books havent ended up on the big screen is hollywood's loss as these books combine to make an epic adventure. Necroscope rocks !!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 March 2009
Deadspeak will make far more sense if you're up to speed with the previous three Necroscope novels. This entry offers a fresh story and villain, utilising a myriad of characters from the first books. It has plenty of twists and the plot is well constructed and straightforward. Previous entries have contained substantial reminiscence to build the story and Deadspeak is set solidly in the current era, with a single flashback to offer some depth to the new plot. Although it capitalises on previous content, there is plenty of action and intrigue in Deadspeak making it an entertaining read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
The fourth book in the Necroscope series and I am once again thrilled. Brian Lumley always brings his original storytelling to the fore and we delve once again into the fascinating world of the Necroscope Harry Keogh. He's such an infectious character but Lumley always keeps you on the edge with him an where he's taking him in the story. Even though he's had a lot of trade by you still feel he's the best unlikely hero and hope he remains alive through every book. Number 5 left to read and can't wait to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
I've been a fan for years and am currently working on collecting this series on my kindle. But where's book 5? Surely it can't take this long to publish them all. There are other titles from later in the chronology available so why not the one that rounds off this particular set?

Anyroad up, as we say in t' North, Necroscope will always be the best in it's genre. The only way it could be improved upon would be a movie or series adaptation from a competent director. And a complete set for kindle.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.