Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
33
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2012
Every few weeks for the past year I have been checking Amazon UK to see if the Necroscope books were released on the Kindle and every time I was disappointed, until recently. At last, the Necroscope books are available on the Kindle, albeit only books 1-3 so far, but hopefully the others will follow. I first read these books when they were first release (and have the first 5 in paperback). The stories are amazing! Centred around vampires (not in the stupid Twilight series sense but in the true horror of these creatures. The books also centre around the ESPionage departments of the British Secret Service who are attempting to track the same department belonging to the Kremlin. It's a sort of espionage meets telekinesis meets vampires story that stretches over, so far I believe, about 13 books.

The story starts of with a boy of about 13 who has the ability to communicate with the dead. Not in the same way as the "is anybody there?" séance claptrap but in that he can reach out to them in his mind and speak to them, and most are only to happy to speak to him and help him whenever and however they can. As he gets older his powers increase until he is able to convince the dead to actually rise to help him. They are also able to control his body, if he allows them, to help him deal with certain situations, such as school bullies, driving test and his work. He learns how travel to anywhere in the world instantaneously using the Mobius continuum.

He also has a Russian counterpart who is not only trying to track our hero but is also dealing with an ancient creature buried in the earth who is thousands of years old. Wamphyri!

The story is awesome and the author has the ability to keep you engrossed until the vary last page.

This is the third book of the series which continues the saga of our Necroscope hero, Harry Keogh. A brilliant sequel to Necroscope and Necroscope II: Vamphyri! In this installment we travel to the "Other World" where the terrible Wamphyri first evolved; a dark malevolent and dangerous place to live.

Note on the Kindle version: No proplems with formatting, typos or any of the sort of thing at all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
I love the way he develops the Vampire origins in this one adding weird time/space anomaly's into his tale of metaphysics over physics and metamorphic monsters.

His writing owes a lot to Lovecraft but in my opinion is better and manages to also have elements of a spy thriller blended effortlessly into the mix give it a unique style of its own. All of Lumley's books are well worth reading thought I am particularly fond of the Necroscope series and this is one of my favourites.

Some advice though Necroscope 1 - 5 should be read through in order, so it was odd the published the first one on kindle only after 2,3 and 4 and a petty we most still wait for Necroscope 5 to come to kindle still.

Sadly my paper back copies have all been leant out or lost over the years.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
This is the third book in the Necroscope series, and this one sees Harry Keogh once again recruited by the British ESPionage services to find out where various strange monsters have been coming from, somewhere in Russia/Ukraine. Using the teeming dead Harry finds The Source of the Wamphyri world where he believes his long lost son is now living.

The Russian E-Branch sends a team of its people into the Source to investigate what is on the other side, so not only does Harry have to fight the denizens of this new world, but he also has the Russian E-Branch looking for him.

This book is, like the previous two, vary well written and a fast action packed read. I first read these books (1-5) when they first came out in paperback in the mid-late 80’s, and I know have them on my Kindle, working my way through them.

Note on the Kindle version: No proplems at all. (Kindle Fire HDX)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
a great edition to the necroscope series, through an accident at a secret Russian facility, a gateway to the vampire home world is discovered, harry - through contact with the great majority (the dead) - knows that Brenda and harry junior are not among them but also are not on this earth, so he heads for the vampire source world in search of them. I am going on to the next one immediately, although I read some of the necroscope series many years ago, I have really enjoyed reading them again and I am looking forward to reading the ones that I missed first time round. If you like vampire novels and want something different from the norm, then give Brian Lumley's necroscope series a try, you will be horrified and entertained by this series. I recommend it highly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
great story,they need to make them into films, as i would really like to see a CGI 300 foot armour plated mutant flying squid! i mean who would'nt apart from my wife and practically everyone else that i know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 September 2008
Lumley could have just made another hunt the vampire entry in this original and interesting series. However 'The Source' is a remarkable break from the first two chapters. Although the story still follows Harry and the interaction between the UK and Russian E-Branch supernatural agencies, the plot, and indeed location, of the story is a great new twist. The Russians have created a grey hole, which acts like a gate between worlds (or versions of Earth at very least). You can guess who's on the other side. 'The Source' adds to the Necroscope history, whilst presenting an action-packed horror story. Riveting from start to finish this third chapter should not be missed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2001
This third installment of The Necroscope saga will not let down those of you who have read the first two and been mesmerised by them. This third edition is completely different from the previous two, taking the reader into a new and completely different direction and dimension! If you have read the last two books in this 5 book serious, you have got to read this one!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2009
I read the first Necroscope last year and almost found it a revelation in horror writing.

I'm currently about 3/4 through DeadSpawn and I can honestly say that The Source is by far the best in the series so far. In fact it's down right amazing from beginning to end. I won't babble about the story for fear of sneaking in any spoilers, but suffice to say Harry has evolved into an ESP force to be reckoned with - as have other new characters! Lumley has a knack of developing a captivating plethora of characters within his Necroscope novels but the scope of Harry's 'supporting cast' in this book far exceeds anything else.

A top read and one of the best Horror/Fantasy novels I've ever read :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2000
The third book in the series, brings the Russians, E-branch and Harry Keogh to a confrontation with the source world of the vampires, the book is split into two stories which meld together in a blinding culmination of magic, blood and war. I found that this book did not grip me as much as Necroscope, but still held me reading until the last page. The details that Brian brings to his books is such that they could be considered documentarys on actual events.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2009
part three of the necroscope series sees the story spread to the vampire home world via a man made gate in russia, they don`t know what they have done but things !!!! keep coming through , nasty monstrous things , the russians also send people through the gate to see whats there but its a one way trip , some new charcters come into the mix , jazz simmonds and the travellers on sunside/starside and the many and varied wamphri lords and don`t forget the dweller in his garden , you`ll just have to read it to find out more
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.