Narrow Dog To Carcassonne and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£2.45
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book is eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK. Your order will be picked, packed and dispatched by Amazon. Buy with confidence!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Narrow Dog To Carcassonne Hardcover – 1 Jan 2005


See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover, 1 Jan 2005
£0.01


Product details

  • Hardcover
  • Publisher: Bantam Press (1 Jan. 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0593055659
  • ISBN-13: 978-0593055656
  • Product Dimensions: 21.4 x 14.2 x 3.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (206 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 889,160 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Terry Darlington was brought up in Pembroke Dock during the war, between a Sunderland flying boat base and an oil terminal.

He survived and moved to Staffordshire, where he founded Research Associates, the international market research firm, and Stone Master Marathoners, the running club.

Like many Welshmen he is talkative and confiding, but ill at ease with practical matters and liable to linger in public houses.

He likes boating but knows nothing about it.

www.narrowdog.com

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Ms. K. J. Bishop on 10 Oct. 2012
Format: Audio Cassette
I have now read all three books in the trilogy, and re-read them too. The journey carried me along during many an insomniac hour. Can't understand the negative reviews - as an English tutor, I can see the lack of punctuation might be annoying at first, but after the first few pages it goes un-noticed and what comes over is a train-of-thought style which is clever and, for me, works. The literary and musical allusions added depth and interest. I much prefer this characterful writing to some of the drivel churned out and marketed as "bestseller" material, when in fact it is so formulaeic and predictable. This book is ultra- relaxing, but keeps the brain ticking over as well. As for Terry, well, give me a grumpy, opinionated old fart anyday, rather than a politically correct shadow of a bloke.....he has inspired me to be more opinionated and grumpy and I feel the better for it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Ms Joy Kay on 20 Jan. 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
i really enjoyed this book. Having had quite a few narrow boat holidays on canals and enough inland sailing to be suitably terrified by the description of taking their narrow boat across the Chanel, I was able to enjoy the fears from an armchair. It has also reached the heart of a daughter-in-law who has lurchers - the big version of the dog in the story. I have also spent enough time in France to appreciate the cultural gaps, told with great aplomb..

The author is a Welshman with a very good turn of phrase, and the marital effects of living in a small space while fighting the recalcitrant properties of water bring welcome chuckles.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
42 of 47 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 24 Jun. 2005
Format: Hardcover
Hilarious, moving and exciting. The author has a wicked eye for the small details that make you laugh - a dry observational sense of humour. A British Bill Bryson perhaps although personally I found him funnier. It is very well-written and reads like a really good novel rather than a travel book. In fact it is unlike anything I have read before - a unique voice. In addition, of course, the fact that the story is true is amazing - apparently these old guys and their dog actually drove their canal boat across the channel and down to the South of France!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Nailor on 19 July 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I must say that I really enjoyed this book and went on to read the whole series. I did not like them as much as the first Narrow Dog, but they hang together as a charming trilogy.

A lot of people have mixed opinions about the prose style and punctuation of the Narrow Dog books, so I would strongly recommend looking at the free Amazon samples before purchase. They won't give much of the book away, and it will give you a good idea of whether or not you will like the style before purchasing the book. You'll know right away whether or not it is readable for you. If it's not, I wouldn't bother - I find that the rhythm and movement of the prose is at least 30% of the charm for me. It's definitely to my taste but I can't speak for yours.

I am a female university researcher in the 18-25 age bracket. However, I would warmly recommend this book to a variety of people, as it will have an appeal to several demographics. It will appeal to people who are interested in poetry (modern and classical), humorous travel writing, British humor, British travel, long-term relationships, dogs, boating, and misadventures. I would give this book as a gift to older family members, particularly when I wish to explain some of the culture of English boating. I would not give it to friends unless I was reasonably sure that it would match up with their prose style tastes. Darlington's writing is like Marmite - you'll love it or hate it. Both reactions are legitimate, but it saddens me to think that some people will buy the book for its content only to be turned off by the prose. So check it out first, and if you're buying it as a gift, consider the recipient's own tastes.

As a further recommendation alignment I would suggest that readers who enjoy H.E. Bates, Dorothy Sayers and Bill Bryson would probably get the most out of this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By KJD on 16 Jun. 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Good grief, they must be mad! I'm totally with the dog on this one - narrow boats crossing the channel? Huge waves and even bigger ferries. I'll stick to the canals thanks, and absolutely wonderful read. Once you've read this one you'll read them all. I'm just about to start them for the third time.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Christine on 14 May 2012
Format: Paperback
Introduced to the book by friend and have recommended it to others. I enjoyed the humour and sense of adventure. I felt as if I knew them all and was sad to wish them goodbye till the next trip at the end of book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Bookaddict on 12 Dec. 2014
Format: Paperback
A superbly written travel book with a difference. The narrative is funny and also random at times which adds to the quirky adventures of Terry, Monica and Jim. It provides an honest account of the places they visit and the reader get's a glimpse of the emotional roller coaster they are on as they complete an amazing journey. Whilst evoking pleasurable memories of a canal boat holiday the detailed descriptions of the world of the narrow boat capture the trials and tribulations involved brilliantly. Although written with a lighthearted slant the reader is left in no doubt that completing the journey is an extraordinary achievement. Jim is the star character and his personality is the making of the book. This book leaves the reader with a desire for adventure and a travel companion just like Jim.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback