Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars18
3.6 out of 5 stars
Platform: PCEdition: Standard EditionChange
Price:£12.16 - £149.98
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2015
I was a huge fan of Dark Souls 1 and naturally had to get the second in the series. My very brief overview is that it's not as good as the first. It's easier and the level design feels far more simple but I'd still highly recommend playing it if you like souls / RPG / challenging games.

To go into more detail on the cons:

It requires steam, but doesn't use steam cloud! Really annoying if you've put hours of your time into this game only to find out that your save is not stored on steam cloud!
Story - Not as good as the first! It feels at times like a bolt on to the first e.g. (small spoiler) you find a sunlight shrine burried at the bottom of a level, basically saying this is Lordran years after the time of the first game. With a bit of artistic licence you can say most of the bosses are supposed to be from the old game (the rotten = nito, old iron king = gwyn, lost sinner = witch of isilith)
Level design - Doesn't have the same 'looping around, unlocking a bit more and going back to a bonfire' feel of DS1
Boss design is lazy - It felt to me like they just though 'lets throw three of the same boss in' rather than make new or interesting designs.
Same for standard enemies, just not as diverse as the first game.
Cuts corners on graphics - This is just me being very picky, but you stand at the top of the bell tower, and look down, everything is there. In DS2 it's just a picture.

Pros:

It's still really rewarding to play.
DLC levels are very well designed, feels like DS1.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
if you're looking for a hack and slash game this isn't it i can't stress that enough. this game is about tactics and patience you can't just run in blindly and expect to be fine. i see some of the reviews on here complaining about its difficulty but that's what the game was made for not to be a simple stroll in the park. what i will say is if you get stuck there are plenty of guides and help on the internet as well as being able to summon people to help you.

when you buy this game prepare for frustration but also a great deal of satisfaction when you kill a boss which has taken you like 20 tries.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Upgraded to a PC copy after completing this on the Xbox 360 and I must say that it is gorgeous compared to the 360 version. A game not for the faint of heart but I completely recommend it to everyone and anyone!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
Bought as a birthday pressie for my bf - he really enjoyed it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
i bought this game in the knowledge that it was going to be hard but good god its incredibly difficult. i found the gameplay with a keyboard and mouse very frustrating, much better with a controller. its one of those games i play till i hate it then 2 weeks later i find myself going back to it.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Very fun. Requires Windows or Wine. Requires Steam. Steam tends to go down sometimes. Other than DRM, very good product. There is a piece of hand armor that should force your hands together, but does not. Instead it's simply only on one of the arms. Even when manually placing your arms together, the armor piece clips through your arm. Also, the terrain that is 'out of bounds' or otherwise not part of the critical path will often not have collision, resulting in falling through the floor when exploring new areas. That part where you have to set fire to the metal part of the wooden windmill doesn't make sense. Item durability is frame-rate dependent, which is silly. Very fluid and good combat. Game structure and setting is very similar to The Legend of Zelda series. Recommended.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
Wow. How s***ty job can a company do when they release a game on multi platforms? The answer is DS2 on PC. I bought the game to run some serious graphics, because of the mediocre PS3-engine. And boy, did I get a surprise. It seems that From Software don't care AT ALL about PC, cause the controls are terrible. The game looks stunning, but what use is that, when you have to guess form the title screen which key you should press to get further? There are tombstones everywhere which says which button you should press on the X-box for everything. Not A SINGLE instruction for PC. So you have to guess your way into the menu, to adjust settings for keyboard and mouse. I WILL NOT buy a console pad to play a game on my laptop. I turned the game of after 45 minutes, uninstalled it, and went upstarts to continue DS1 on PS3, cause it was damn near impossible to target lock and fight opponents with keyboard and mouse.
33 comments5 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Ordered as a gift
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
It's not as good as the original Dark Souls but it's still a good game. The world doesn't flow as well and the level design isn't as good but the animations and movement have undergone a massive improvement and overall the game is a lot less clunky. Unfortunately no pre-release lighting but the game can still look good in certain areas.

I'd recommenced this game if you're a fan of the Souls series or just want a decent challenge.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
This game is different to anything else you've ever played.
Too difficult for many people, but the difficulty for me is the attraction -I WANT to be challenged, I don't want to breeze through a game in a few hours and then never touch it again.
The high difficulty level means that when you succeed you have a real sense of achievement.
Easily one of the best games this year
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.