• RRP: £9.99
  • You Save: £0.01
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
My Wicked, Wicked Ways: T... has been added to your Basket
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: All purchases eligible for Amazon customer service and a 30-day return policy.
Trade in your item
Get a £0.34
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

My Wicked, Wicked Ways: The Autobiography of Errol Flynn Paperback – 1 Feb 2005

72 customer reviews

See all 23 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£17.00
Paperback
"Please retry"
£9.98
£4.65 £2.69
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
£9.98 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card for your child's school by voting for their favourite book. Learn more.
  • Prepare for the summer with our pick of the best selection for children (ages 0 - 12) across Amazon.co.uk.

Frequently Bought Together

My Wicked, Wicked Ways: The Autobiography of Errol Flynn + The Moon's a Balloon + Bring on the Empty Horses (Hodder Great Reads)
Price For All Three: £26.76

Buy the selected items together


Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card and 30 Kindle E-readers for your child or pupil's school.
Vote for your child or pupil(s) favourite book(s) here to be in with a chance to win.

Product details

  • Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Aurum Press Ltd; New Ed edition (1 Feb. 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1845130499
  • ISBN-13: 978-1845130497
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 2.8 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (72 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 26,164 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

‘The most entertaining autobiography ever by an actor’

(Jeffrey Meyers)

‘Its greatest distinction is that it manages to pass beyond the conventionally “frank” to the unconventionally truthful in its portrait of an engaging but by no means overscrupulous romantic extrovert’

(Times Literary Supplement)

‘A major autobiography in the tradition of Cellini, Casanova and Frank Harris. Perhaps it is not the book to leave alone in the house with your daughter, but Flynn was not the man to leave in the house with your daughter.’

(Guardian)

‘The confessions of a rake, unsparing of himself or anyone else’

(Newsweek)

‘An obstinately unabashed report’

(New Yorker)

About the Author

Errol Leslie Thomson Flynn (20 June 1909 – 14 October 1959)[1] was an Australian actor.[2] He was known for his romanticswashbuckler roles in Hollywood films and his playboy lifestyle. He became a naturalized American citizen in 1942.


Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
A Tasmanian devil (sarcophilus ursinus) is a carnivorous marsupial known for its extreme ferocity. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By bibliophile on 8 Mar. 2010
Format: Paperback
Most of my ideas about Errol Flynn are based on reports and hearsay. This book exploded all the myths about the man. I found the book entertaining, and in the final few pages thought provoking.Flynn comes across as an honest man about his weaknesses and the mistakes that he made in his life. The early part of his life in New Guinea, and his journey across the world to London and finally to Hollywood certainly uncover a facet of his life that is not well known. Flynn writes with candour and humour, and at the end I felt sorry for the man that had achieved so much in terms of fame,success and wealth, yet seemed so unhappy with his lot, and died at such an early age of 59.
A good read that certainly cast a different light on a iconic character of the early 20th century. Well worth reading.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 28 Mar. 1999
Format: Paperback
Errol Flynn was not merely the swashbuckler of legend, nor the great party animal of the golden era of hollywood. He was a great liver of life, but at the same time deeply introspective and unsatisfied. This book covers his origins in Tasmania, his life in Sydney and England and onto his great success in Hollywood. However, his meteoric rise was cut short by personal allegations which led to the fall of his career...into escape and alcohol.
The twists and turns of Flynn's life make this book a real page turner at every step, with his character well captured; taking the reader beyond the Hollywood image and into the mind of the man who had too many questions to ask of life.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Sourmashontherocks on 30 May 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I must confess I have always had a soft spot for Errol Flynn. He struck me as the epitome of the "Mans Man", An athlete, film star, hard drinker, romancer and chancer. Admittedly he got up to his fair share of wrong doings and this auto biography does gloss over some of his more unsavoury experiences.

Originally Flynn himself wanted this book to be more hard hitting and the Original title "In like me" shows you how he was planning on treating the material.

Errol certainly portrays himself as the romantic hero who was a victim of circumstance with his many painful issues. I dont doubt that he didnt always have good luck, but he attributes many misdemeanors to others when he was really to blame himself.

There is no mention of the murder he stood accused of in New Guinea (prior to his hollywood days) and his petty theft and larceny are similarly ignored.

As a highly romaticized version of his life, its well worth a read, but Flynn writes with a certain resignation that he doesnt really believe the story he's telling you. I could certainly feel the desolation and even loneliness coming from him through his words. If ultimately he was a legend (few would disagree) then he was also an outsider who perhaps was never intended for the Hollywood circus and would have been more at home discovering lost islands and sailing the high seas.

I personally would recommend that you supplement your knowledge of Errol Flynn with other biographies as well as this one.

An intriguing man and something of an enigma.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By WriteStuff on 13 April 2010
Format: Paperback
When I found out about this book (thank you Amazon!), I knew I had to read it. I've loved the films of Errol Flynn ever since I was a child. His movies took me on exciting adventures in exotic lands beyond my innocent imagination and instilled in me a love of adventure stories which I have carried into adulthood. This book, the story of his life, is possibly the greatest adventure story of them all. Beginning with Flynn's youth in Tasmania, Australia, we follow him to gold mines and plantations in New Guinea, casinos and brothels of South East Asia, the highs and lows of the down-and-out life in Sydney and Queensland, his early acting career in England and finally to the glitz of Hollywood and the exoticism of Jamaica. In these pages we encounter angry native tribes, sharks and crocodiles, con tricks and diamond smuggling, high profile court cases and tempestuous relationships. But, surprisingly, we also find reflection and philosophy. According to the introduction by Jeffrey Meyers, this book was written to be scandalous, but the charm of the subject wins through. Although I approached the book determined to take it with a pinch of salt and not be seduced, 438 pages later I was more fascinated by Flynn than ever. However, I did feel that there was something missing. The story felt incomplete without photographs and an epilogue explaining what happened to Flynn and the key characters in his life. But that might just be me being greedy. Overall, this book spans fifty years of adventure, mischief and excitement and is well worth a read by any armchair explorer or devotee of Hollywood.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Big Red on 16 Jan. 2008
Format: Paperback
I found an old copy of this left behind in some expat's house in Papua New Guinea when I lived there in the early 90's. I was only vaguely aware of Errol Flynn at that point, having seen 'Robin Hood' years before and read the chapters about him in David Niven's books, but that was about it.

The self deprecating humour engaged me immediately and Flynn's immense charm and charisma came right off the page, even after all these years.

And the stories!! While in PNG, I lived in Wau and Rabaul and having been regaled with many stories about him while there from elderly expats, his version of his time there seems totally believable to me. PNG is a place you can't describe - going there is like stepping off the planet and not terribly different today to when Errol lived there - so I can understand people thinking his stories sound like tall tales. He was one of a kind.

Buy it. It's still the best, most entertaining biography I've yet read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback