Start reading My Story: Battle of Britain on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
My Story: Battle of Britain: A Second World War Spitfire Pilot, 1939-1941
 
 

My Story: Battle of Britain: A Second World War Spitfire Pilot, 1939-1941 [Kindle Edition]

Chris Priestley
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £3.60 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.39 (48%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.60  
Paperback £5.59  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

OCTOBER 1940. I was out, free of my aircraft, tumbling wildly in the air. I pulled the ripcord. I was jerked back by the parachute as air punched into it and I swung there like a puppet, winded and gasping for breath. I looked down at my leg. It felt like a bear was gnawing on it but it was still in one piece. For now, anyway. Then I heard it - right behind me. An ME109 diving towards me, guns blazing. There was nothing I could do. Nowhere I could go. Shells whistled past me on either side. I just thought, OK then. if this is it, OK. Maybe my turn had finally come... It's 1939 and Harry Woods is a Spitfire pilot in the RAF. When his friend Lenny loses his leg in a dogfight with the Luftwaffe, Harry is determined to fight on. That is, until his plane is hit and he finds himself tumbling through the air high above the English Channel...

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 394 KB
  • Print Length: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Scholastic Non Fiction; new edition edition (1 Mar 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007FFWTKW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #51,189 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Chris Priestley worked as an illustrator and cartoonist for twenty years before becoming a writer. His books have been nominated for many awards including the Edgar Awards, the UKLA Children's Book Award and the Carnegie Medal. The award-winning and critically-acclaimed Tales of Terror series for Bloomsbury feature chilling stories rooted in the tradition of M R James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe and are available in many languages. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by, and linked to, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great twist to the Battle 14 Dec 2011
Format:Paperback
This one's my favourite one yet of the series. I have never read about the Battle of Britain before, not from a RAF and aircrew perspective anyway. I am ashamed to say that I have never even considered pilots who fight in battles before this, because the focus is usually always on those fighting on land.

Chris Priestley's style of writing is great. It was very amusing, very entertaining, very evocative and poignant, and most importantly...very real. He knew how to get us attached to Harry, to his family, to his friends, to Lenny especially - and he was able to successfully accomplish this in very limited space. Add to this the historical context, and the knowledge that is gained by reading this.

I found the Moby-Dick part hilarious, and the German soldier part at the end extremely depressing. And the concept of war being honourable reminded me of one of my favourite poems "Dulce et Decorum est" by Wilfred Owen during World War I. In this poem, Owen refers to the old age lie, "Dulce et decorum est, pro patria mori" - meaning, it is a sweet and fitting thing to die for one's country.

On a separate note, reading the historical section at the back of the book, they included the nationalities of aircrew involved in the Battle of Britain, and how many of them were killed throughout. I was very surprised, and proud, to note that there was one Palestinian pilot, who took part in this battle. As I am a Palestinian myself, I found that to be of extreme interest.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars a thrilling story 26 Mar 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A good read, although fictional characters , the truth wasn't far behind, a story of the struggle that pilots had both to do their duty and to stay alive.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Personal Account 24 Mar 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Anyone who is interested in the Battle of Britain will find this personal account of what it was really like will appreciate this book. Although there have been many books writtedn on this subject this is slightly different and takes the reader with the author into the cockpit.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars great book 13 Jan 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
got this for my 10 yr old daughter and she loved it, she really got into the book and its also helped her with a school project that will be coming up soon
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put it down 13 Dec 2013
By daubroy
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Absolutely amazing good with humour satire and horror all from the perspective of the Everyman brilliant book truly a great read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Felt it was a good factual account 26 Nov 2013
By Colin
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Felt it was a good factual account, but was not initially aware the characters of the story were fictional. I did enjoy the book but felt it was too condensed, hence the 4 star rating.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow 5 Nov 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Ok highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the battle of Britain and the history of ART or ww2 5 stars
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 17 July 2013
By Mrs A
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I got this book hoping to read it on holiday but I was into it so much and couldn't put it down.

I give this book a five
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category