Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
61
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is an ideal book for me as I'm a newby for Android and, I like lots of illustrations and screen shots. This book was written for Android "Ice Cream Sandwich" 4.0.4 but the tablets on sale in January 2013 have "Jelly Bean" 4.1.1, but don't let that put you off. Samsung's Jelly Bean manual (January 2013) can be downloaded from the Samsung site and read alongside this book.

There are 15 chapters that are subdivided into the specifics, so for example Chapter 8 "Playing Music and Videos" has 10 subsections covering purchases on Google Play to viewing YouTube videos. There is a lot of content. The first three chapters are an introduction to the Tablet and setting it up, the remaining chapters are:

4 - Customising Android;
5 - Browsing the Web;
6 - Emails and Instant Messaging;
7 - Calendar and Contacts;
8 - Playing music and video;
9 - Reading and managing books;
10 - Capturing and managing photos;
11 - Maps and Navigation;
12 - Apps;
13 - Adding new hardware;
14 - Accessories;
15 - Troubleshooting.

This is a reference book so use the first few chapters to get up and running and then pick out the chapters that are needed.

Things that aren't covered:
* The book refers to the Samsung Kies software to synchronise the Tablet with a computer. It doesn't mention that Windows 7 will probably need new USB drivers - select Device Manager `Update drivers' / search the internet - otherwise the Tablet and Kies will not connect.

* If a micro SC card is installed, .pdf files will be downloaded to the card and do not open automatically. You have to go to My Files and then open the .pdf.

* My Files shows the internal memory as "sdcard0" and a micro SD card - if installed - as "extSdCard".

* Although Adobe Reader works in Polaris, Adobe Flash Player doesn't work in the web browser (unless you're prepared to faff around with earlier versions and then upgrade).

Summary
Well written in plain language with plenty of clear screen shots; easy to put into practice.

Update August 2013
The Tablet automatically downloaded Android 4.2.2. Be aware that this update is 618 MB so it would be advisable to plug the Tablet into the charger when the update starts. The graphics are clearer than in 4.1.1, there is a greater emphasis on privacy as it lists the permissions given for each installed app and, Application Manager shows whether an app can be transferred to the SD card. So 4.2.2 is worth installing when the opportunity comes along.
33 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
This book is up to date, clearly laid out and easy to understand. Recommended if you want to get the best out of the Galaxy Tab.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
I love the layout of this book - everything is clearly illustrated and the instructions are easy to understand and follow and not over technical. I am sure it will cover everything I need to know - it has done so far!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
This manual is very easy to follow even for a complete amateur like me. Each function is very clear I am so glad to have come across it. Would recommend it to anyone. I am gradually working my way through it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Very useful boopk, it expains most of what I needed.
Not complete though and still struggling with some aspects of it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
This booklet is a great help with my new gadget. Fortunately for me it caters for the not so clever older generation
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Great book - but had to wait for a few weeks as it had to come from the USA. Worth waiting for.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
An excellent book,my only critic would be that a publication like this should be that the pages shpould lie flat so that one can actually use the book as a tutorial.

But all in all a very good and easy to understand book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
So you've just got your Galaxy open and running - but bits and pieces are a mystery. So you browse for a guiding helping hand as I did. This book has so many variants in it that it has become a jumbled mess.

Since it's electronic I wouldn't care if they presented every variant as a "part book" in the one book; that's to say one part for Galaxy 7 and repeated information for Galaxy 10.1 in a separate Part. That way you could only read the Part of interest and know all you are reading applies to you. Your machine, your screen, its capabilities, its features.

The current design is like reading a modern day Bayeux Tapestry with everything vying for place on the same page (with apologies to the Bayeux Tapestry).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
A useful guide, particularly for older untechie people. Very easy to follow, particularly with all the pictures. Slight problem in that Samsung has updated some features, which cannot be helped with printed guides. Nevertheless I am glad to have it and would recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)