Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
50
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2010
For the thirty years I've supported the Reds, no single player has come anywhere near having the same effect on me as Kenny Dalglish. I grew up on his genius & of course, the trophies flowed. Souness, Hansen, Rush & dozens of other sublime talents graced the hallowed Anfield turf but none made the impact that King Kenny did. When he turned his hand to management, the success continued & Liverpool have never quite been the same since the day Dalglish resigned.

This is actually Kenny's third proper autobiography although unlike his others, this focuses solely on Liverpool & even though I don't like admitting it, I expected slightly more in all honesty. Everything is contained in this book that you'd expect from his career it's just that in terms of anecdotes & stories, there's not a huge amount I've not heard previously. Even the funny tales seem a little muted - perhaps Dalglish is just the type of guy who holds back in terms of his private life which would be of no surprise to most who have followed his career with such interest.

The single biggest thing I took from reading this is that Kenny is even more dyed-in-the-wool red than I could imagine. He makes it perfectly clear that ever since he left Anfield, even when taking Blackburn to a glorious Premiership, all he's ever wanted is to return to where he considers home. It simply confirms my belief that post-Benitez, the Board could do far worse than giving the King his throne back & seeing how things turn out.

Even though the book isn't quite as entertaining as I'd hoped, I still hung on every word & enjoyed reading what makes Liverpool's greatest ever player tick. Long live the King
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
Im not a big reader of books but as being a Liverpool fan and an admirer of Kenny Dalglish i had to buy this.what a read.at times i thought i was on the pitch it was that good.Had it read in no time.Best book on Liverpool by far.Hope you enjoy.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
Having been a lifelong Kenny Dalglish fan I eagerly snap up any book abput the King. I was looking forward to this one and was not disappointed. Sometinmes the links back to Liverpool FC being his home are a liitle strained, but there are pleanty of new anecdotes and takes on the events he went through to satisfy the most knoweldgeable Liverpool fan.

It is clear that Kenny loves Liverpool and is unhappy about the current state of the club. This will help you to remember how great Liverpool was and still is as a club, whilst also making you a little sad.

As an ideal accompaniment to this book I recommend Modern Football is Still Rubbish Modern Football is Still Rubbish: Slinging mud at what's left of 'the beautiful game'- another book to highlight how great the game was, but in humorous and satirical way. A great stocking filler and another antidote to the ills of the modern game. Enjoy!

YNWA
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
KING KENNY! What a man this is a book which celebrates a true gentleman and a liverpool legend who has taken to liverpool as his spiritual home this book delves into not just the man but what liverpool means to him and his family and as to why he still resides in lkiverpool and allways will a must for all LIVERPOOL fans. Y.N.W.A.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
Fantastic book, it's just sad reading it and seeing the current flight of LFC. Still nice to read about happier times!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2011
I loved reading this book. The only downside was that his book comes to a disappointing end when he isnt offered the Liverpool job. I was keen to know whether a 2nd edition of his autobiography would be written when he portrays his ectascy in being handed the Liverpool job in Jan 2011 and goes on to win 2 Premier League titles, an FA Cup and the Champions League?

Unfortunately this didn't happen in reality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
During my time off I was kindly given a copy of My Liverpool Home by Kenny Dalglish which I finished this weekend. I enjoy reading biographies and autobiographies, and as a Liverpool fan it's great to read King Kenny's account. During my life time I don't think any other single player has had the effect that Kenny Dalglish has had - yes Souness, Hansen, Rush, Owen, Gerrard and others have been huge names but Dalglish has been a key part of Liverpool for so many years.

The book isn't so much an autobiography of Dalglish, but more an account of his relationship with liverpool. There's a huge amount of history, stories and anecdotes and it gives a great insight into the inner workings of Liverpool Football Club - both from his time as a player and a manager. It is a very honest, witty and sometimes sad account of his days, giving good honest opinions on what happened at Heysel and Hillsborough.

The single biggest thing I took from reading this is that Kenny is even more dyed-in-the-wool red than I could imagine. He makes it perfectly clear that ever since he left Anfield, even when taking Blackburn to a fantastic Premiership title, all he's ever wanted is to return to where he considers home. It simply confirms the Board's decision to re-appoint Dalgish his role back and see how things turn out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
A generous three stars. All footballers "autobiographies" are written by someone else, but they usually manage to recreate the voice of the subject so that it seems as if they wrote it. In this case the author used language and phrasing that was nothing like Kenny Dalglish, other than when he was moaning to a certain extent - which admittedly was quite a lot of the time.

I'm afraid the more Dalglish rubbished anyone who ever criticised him and tried to defend his obviously prickly character, the less convincing he became and in fact only reinforced the image many (other than hero-worshippers) will have had of him.

It's an okay read and gives you some glimpses behind the scenes, but not one of the better football biographies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
Whether a reds fan or not this book is a great read from cover to cover. Now that it has been updated to include the 2nd half of the 2010 / 2011 season is even more of a reason to buy it. There has always been an intense rivalry between LFC and MUFC. Kenny has proved that this should be shown on the pitch, and by the fans. But always with respect..... As a player he let his boots do the talking. As a Manager he makes sure his players do the talking for him. The man is a class act, let's hope Carra can follow in his footsteps one day!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
One of Liverpool's best ever manager's. What a shame Peter Robinson didn't seize the opportunity and get Kenny back in instead of Evans. How different things would be now if Kenny had been allowed the time Fergie had at Utd. Liverpool would have many, many more trophies than they do now...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)