My Kitchen: Real Food from Near and Far (New Voices in Food) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£2.19
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book is in good condition and fulfilled by Amazon which means it is eligible for Amazon Prime. The book itself may have been used before but will be largely free of stains and markings. Textbooks may have slight highlighting. Corners may be slightly bent and spine may be creased but overall in solid condition with money back guarantee.
Trade in your item
Get a £0.34
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

My Kitchen: Real Food from Near and Far (New Voices in Food) Paperback – Illustrated, 2 Jul 2010

61 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, Illustrated
"Please retry"
£498.38 £0.01

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card for your child's school by voting for their favourite book. Learn more.
  • Prepare for the summer with our pick of the best selection for children (ages 0 - 12) across Amazon.co.uk.


Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card and 30 Kindle E-readers for your child or pupil's school.
Vote for your child or pupil(s) favourite book(s) here to be in with a chance to win.

Product details

  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Quadrille Publishing Ltd; First Edition edition (2 July 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1844008495
  • ISBN-13: 978-1844008490
  • Product Dimensions: 16.5 x 1.8 x 22.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (61 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 495,175 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Stevie Parle runs and owns Dock Kitchen restaurant in Ladbroke Grove in London. Previously he has worked at River Café, Moro, The Spotted Pig in New York and Salt in Tokyo.

Product Description

Review

There is an old-fashioned simplicity to 25-year-old Stevie Parle's book that is very much in the tradition of Elizabeth David and Ambrose Heath --Jamie magazine, August 2010

Recipes he shares with us here are a perfect reflection of how we all love to cook
--Country & Town House, October 2010

About the Author

Stevie Parle went to Ballymaloe Cookery School in Ireland when he was sixteen and has been cooking professionally ever since. He has worked in some of London's top kitchens, including The River Cafe, Moro and Petersham Nurseries, as well as some of the world's hippest restaurants such as The Spotted Pig in New York and Salt in Tokyo. Together with his River Cafe co-chef, Joseph Trivelli, Stevie has created The Moveable Kitchen, secret supper parties that move about London. The London Evening Standard has described them as 'London's hottest young chefs' and reservations at their supper clubs are proving to be must-have tickets. Stevie writes fortnightly for the Observer's Allotment Blog and contributes to Waitrose Food Illustrated magazine. In September, he opened The Dock Kitchen, a restaurant/cafe in designer Tom Dixon's Portobello Docks showrooms which is already receiving rave reviews. Stevie has also won the Observer Food Monthly award for Young Chef of the Year 2010. Author Location: the red barge Avontuur, Hammersmith, London

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By D&D TOP 50 REVIEWER on 23 Oct. 2011
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
There seems to be a trend amongst cook book writers to make them replete with glossy photos of glistening mouth watering food which the amateur cook is highly unlikely ever to replicate. This book however has no photos except on the inside covers and a few drawings.

Let me start by saying that the book is immensely readable but I actually found only a handful of dishes I was even tempted to make. There is no one style to the cooking it is in a real sense a travelogue cookbook of dishes picked up from other countries.

Just looking at the recipes again whilst writing this review I am struck by the diverse and occasionally obscure ingredients recommended. If there is one thing guaranteed to put me off a recipe it is the need to track down buttermilk or a tasty ripe tomato (other than out of a tin).
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Stevie Parle has produced a very interesting mix of recipes in this book reflecting his wide source of influences. The book is laid out in a cooking - through - the - year style, with some economical recipes for January (I'll be trying those) alongside a guide to slow cooking and some different ways of using blood oranges.
Quantities throughout are nicely relaxed; a splash of this, a few of that.

The only photographs were on the inside covers, thumbnail shots of dishes from the book - it's interesting trying to work out what is what - along with shots of Stevie, his wife, houseboat and the Dock Cafe in London.
The other illustrations are line drawings by Ros Shiers - beautifully done and including a very helpful guide on preparing an artichoke, amongst other

Stevie is just 24, but you wouldn't know it from his comments that thread their way through the book - warm and funny, quirky and informative. This is very much a book of its time with a wide sea of influences - Italian, Indian, Japanese and Irish but all of these recipes could be reproduced at home. Most refreshingly, they don't usually insist you use some exotic, expensive, hard - to -obtain ingredients but give sensible alternatives.

Some cookbooks are a joy to read but you can't imagine cooking from them. This is one that has recipes that appeal to the tastebuds and the pocket and is an interesting, informative read. A very good first book from a chef and writer who will surely produce more
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful By M. Dale on 22 Sept. 2010
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Primarily I expect a recipe book to be just that, but if I had to give this book a description I'd probably go for "lifestyle". It attempts to take you on a journey as the author describes where and how he came across various recipes and the book is interestingly divided by month rather than by food category, but that means you have to read through the whole book and attempt to find a recipe you like the look of.

A more major problem was that there just weren't that many recipes I was particularly interested in. Soups and salads seem to feature prominently whereas I'm more interested in cooking big, hearty meals.

Having looked through some of the existing reviews the word 'pretentious' has been used a few times, and I'm afraid I'd have to agree. Maybe I'm not the target audience for this book, but I can't really think of anyone I would recommend it to.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful By Johnnybluetime VINE VOICE on 22 Sept. 2010
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
My wife was really looking forward to receiving this book, but what a disappointment it turned out to be. We have really struggled to find even one recipe that we would both like whereas usually we would find at least half a dozen worth trying. Half the recipes seem to be for side dishes masquarading as mains and the vast majority require ingredients that will be very hard to source unless you live in or very near a large town with either a very good deli or a decent sized middle and far eastern population.

Overall the tone is very Hoxton pretentious; a recipe can't just include kale, it must be forced sea kale (which apparently more shops are selling now, although not down here on the South Coast by the sea). And how about a recipe that contains himalayan basmati rice - never heard of it?Don't worry because Stevie (someone really should tell him that the only male who can carry off the name Stevie without seeming an utter d*ck is Mr Wonder)tells us that all basmati rice originates in the himalayas, which begs the question, why specify himalayan basmati why not just say basmati?In the end I found the book so pretentious that I couldn't bring myself to try anything.How about some nice japanese food?Well, until Stevie lived in Japan he didn't really understand japanese food so there's not much hope for the rest of us clods who have never even managed to visit Japan let alone live there.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Bluebell TOP 500 REVIEWER on 19 Sept. 2010
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I'm not sure what this book is aiming for. It's not a practical recipe book; more an anthology of diverse reflections by a young chef to tell us what a lot of wonderful culinary experiences he's had all over the world. The book suffers from graphic design over-kill: too many of the pages are difficult to read owing to the use of too small print on dark background colours or simulated sack-cloth: presumably that's also why many of the heading imitate the kind of stencilling found on sacks. The sizing of type throughout the book is strange: very large for headings, but too small for ingredient lists and methods to read comfortably, especially if used while cooking.

The recipes are an eclectic mixture of styles with a predominant Far Eastern influence. It pays lip-service to the seasons by focusing on what is available month by month, or not so available in the case of things like fresh ceps. And how many of us would use four bottles of Chianti to make a shin of beef dish, as listed on page 16. A recipe that is also practically impossible to read as it is printed on dark plum coloured paper: or should I say chianti-coloured paper!

It maybe because there is such a plethora of chefs producing books about food and cooking that new boys on the block have to try and do something more novel than a straightforward cookery. But, if you've got very good near-vision eye-sight and like reading about other people's experiences of exotic food, then this might be a book for you, but, I'm sorry to say this book from one of the "New Voices in Food" is not for me.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback