• RRP: £23.73
  • You Save: £0.39 (2%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
My Father S Fortune: A Li... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Ships from the UK. Former Library books. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Your purchase also supports literacy charities.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

My Father S Fortune: A Life Audio CD – Audiobook, 12 Apr 2011

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Audiobook
"Please retry"
£23.34
£11.08 £11.07
£23.34 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card for your child's school by voting for their favourite book. Learn more.
  • Prepare for the summer with our pick of the best selection for children (ages 0 - 12) across Amazon.co.uk.


Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card and 30 Kindle E-readers for your child or pupil's school.
Vote for your child or pupil(s) favourite book(s) here to be in with a chance to win.

Product details

  • Audio CD
  • Publisher: Audiogo; Unabridged edition (12 April 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1609981537
  • ISBN-13: 978-1609981532
  • Product Dimensions: 3.2 x 12.7 x 15.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,010,450 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Metropolitan Critic on 15 July 2011
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The poet Wendy Cope recommended My Father's Fortune as one of the books of 2010 in the Observer's annual round-up and I bought the audiobook version on the strength of this, not having read any of Frayn's other work. The memoir starts rather slowly, with the opening chapters devoted to family genealogy from Edwardian censuses, but comes to life once Michael Frayn can act as eye-witness rather than historian. The book charts the varying fortunes of his father, an asbestos salesman who lived in Surrey in the 1940s and 1950s. By the end, I shared Cope's high opinion of the book.

Most striking are the contrasts in tone: the account of Michael Frayn's efforts at poetry as a schoolboy are hilarious (he quotes from a journal that he kept as a teenager which records the arguments about poetic technique he had with a school-friend). Yet there are also very moving passages which deal with his father's misfortunes - which I won't reveal here.

Frayn's book will I think become a classic "father and son" memoir in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, J.R. Ackerley and Blake Morrison.

The shifting moods of the book are brilliantly caught in Martin Jarvis's reading. Jarvis's voice will be familiar to many Radio 4 listeners, but he is also a consummately professional reader of audiobooks. Now in his late sixties, he is at the top of his game and peerless in English comic literature - his recent readings of P.G. Wodehouse are superb.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback