Mutant City and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £6.99
  • You Save: £1.00 (14%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Mutant City has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Mutant City Paperback – 8 May 2014


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£5.99
£1.79 £0.01

Children's Gift Guide
Children's Books Gift Guide
Explore our Children's Books Gift Guide to find the perfect gift for the child in your life.
£5.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

Mutant City + Earthfall (Earthfall 1)
Price For Both: £11.98

Buy the selected items together



Looking for Christmas Gift Inspiration?
Explore the Stationery and Art Supplies Christmas Store to discover gift ideas for kids, connoisseurs, artists and writers, as well as gift wrapping supplies, greetings cards and products to get you ready for the New Year.

Product details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens (8 May 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 140884303X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1408843031
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2.3 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (21 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 295,822 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

STEVE FEASEY lives with his family in Hertfordshire, UK, where he sometimes hears a strange and unidentifiable howling just after midnight. The Changeling series of books are his first venture into teen fiction.

Product Description

Review

In this book, Steve leads the reader down the pure fantasy horror path which is brimming full of pure imagination. It escapes the bounds of the horror genre with a great plot and a new deadly functioning monster to deal with, the Mutants. This is the type of book that I love to sink my teeth into - I'm always looking for more. (Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books Mr Ripleys Enchanted Books 2014-04-10)

MUTANT CITY is a fun read set in a grim world, with good action and adventure, and a whole bunch of characters to root for (Kate Ormand Kate Ormand) --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Book Description

ZOM-B meets Mad Max - Steve Feasey's action-packed vision of a very nasty future puts the fate of the world in the hands of four mutant teens with unexpected powers. Perfect for fans of Shan, Higson and Michael Grant

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Paul Tapner TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 6 May 2014
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
A post apocalyptic science fiction novel for young adult readers. It's the start of a series, so don't expect anything much in the way of closure at the end as it has a lot to set up.

It runs for three hundred and forty five pages. It's divided into a short prologue and then one long main part of relatively short chapters.

Ideal reading age would be eleven and up, thanks to some mild violence.

The prologue details a raid on a secret laboratory. Led by a man who is assisted by a boy who has rather special abilities.

As do the children they rescue from the lab, and who are then hidden to keep them safe.

Then when the main body of the book begins, it's thirteen years later. We meet one of the children, a boy called Rush. It throws us into the middle of his world and you gradually learn about the setting. That it's a post apocalyptic environment with 'normal' people living in cities and mutated ones outside.

The mutated ones are being hunted. Rush is forced to flee for his life. Guided by a message he received in a dream.

Another child is on a journey as well.

A young reporter is on a crusade.

And the son of a city leader is determined to take over from his dying father, head of the Melk family, is about to discover some very surprising truths.

The world of all these people, mutant and pure, is about to change forever.

The fact that it throws you right into the middle of this world does mean it takes a short while to get used to the book, but things do become clear quickly enough. Details are revealed at just the right pace.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Leanne Bell on 2 July 2014
Format: Paperback
At the moment I'm going through a pretty difficult and trying time as well as being off work sick and so as a result though I've been doing a lot of reading, a lot of books struggle to grab my attention. I had no such issues with this book. I've been a fan of the author since I read Changeling and the rest of that series and I found this book to be just as compelling. It did what I needed it to do; sucked me into an incredible fantasy/sci-fi world that the child inside me loved and appealed to the adult self longing for some much needed escapism.

The plot itself is pacey, original and despite the jumping between the different characters, I didn't get confused once. For me this is a mark for how good a writer steve is. Not many can pull off what he has achieved with this book and the clever way in which it is written.(which I might add has easily made it into my list of all time faves).

Mutant City will appeal to all groups; guys, girls, young and old and does that rare thing that some books do in the way it straddles across all age bands and will give something to anyone who picks it up.
Not only do you have the x-men-esque mutant story, there's the good vs evil, the battles, the class systems, the fight for justice and fairness and ultimately some amazing lessons about loyalty and family.

I have been left dying to read the next in the series and I can't wait for 2015. I would like to thank the author for writing an incredible book that made a crappy day of mine so much more bearable :)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Moonless VINE VOICE on 26 Jun 2014
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
A story set in a post-apocalyptic future where the Last War has destroyed much of Earth as we know it. Millions of humans were left with deformities and defects - mutants, the legacy left by the chemical war. Others managed to shelter for years in bunkers below the scorched earth - the pure. Now, pure and mutants don't mix, at least, not officially. Parallel lives that bear no resemblance to each other. The pure can change eye colour at whim, demand a blue-eyed, black-haired baby if that's what they want, enhance and perfect, while the mutants cannot even treat basic illnesses.

In the middle of all this, almost a new group entirely - created in a lab, a mixture of pure and mutant - five teenagers with mutant blood and extraordinary powers. Children whose existence threatens the rule of the cruel and evil President Melk. Melk wants the children in his possession at all costs and sends out his ARM (Agency for the Regulation of Mutants) agents to find them.

`Mutant City' is a fantastic read for fans of sci-fi, alien worlds, super heroes, a post-apocalyptic Earth. With gender selection, genetic engineering, biological and chemical advances, there's a touch of the here and now in this novel. With a bit of fantasy thrown in.

The characters are likeable, there are also plenty of baddies and goodies, too. Apart from the idiosyncratic Melk who will stop at nothing to retain power, there are also outlaws, bandits, rogue mutants, protectors of the children, enemies of Melk and a host of other players that bring the story to life.

Feasby has created a whole new world that somehow replicates the one we know now but with so many tweaks and changes that could be plausible. Who knows what the long-term outcome of chemical warfare and genetic engineering could be?

The ending suggests a second book could be on the way. I hope so! I could also see `Mutant City' being turned into a TV series!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback