Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars90
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2013
These books are fabulous for anyone studying music theory. Clear, concise explanations and examples are given so you can refer back when completing exercises.
Used in conjunction with the AB guide to music theory part 1 (part 2 is also useful). It's all you need.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
product arrived on time, and is essential for me to pass my exam in June
amazing quality and reasonably priced
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
This book is fine for practice, but you need someone who understands music theory to mark it for you; there is no answer page, so this is not a teach-yourself sort of book. Perhaps most importantly, it is now out of date. Although the theory itself does not, of course, change, the format of the exam is no longer the same. If you are trying to question spot, this book will lead you astray, as will the distribution of marks on the practice papers. I suggest buying some recent past papers to get a proper feel for the exam. We also found the Hofnote website excellent for online practice.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
This is the book for practising ABRSM music theory questions for the Grade 5 exam. It is really good and covers the new theory following on from Grade 4. Each new concept is introduced and then there are lots of chances to practise it. The answers are at the end.
I would recommend purchasing the ABRSM "text book" for music theory if you haven't already got it - The AB Guide to Music Theory Vol 1 This covers all music theory from Grade 1 to 5, arranged by subject (part 2 covers Grades 6-8).
Also it is very helpful to do some past papers as the question styles in the exam are not the same as in this "Music theory in practise"book. They tend to test multiple aspects all rolled together, so the past papers are helpful, such as this one Music Theory Past Papers 2014, ABRSM Grade 5 If you are not completely confident in marking these questions, there is a Model Answer book that goes along with the past papers Music Theory Past Papers 2014 Model Answers, ABRSM Grade 5
I sat this exam many years ago and am now coaching my two sons through it. I also teach music. Anyone armed with the books I have mentioned should be fine sitting the ABRSM Grade 5 theory exam!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
plenty of questions but to a child it may look very boring and serious- although it has good information and examples. It also links to the pink theory book 1 and 2, by telling you which page to refer to which is definitely useful. Plenty of space to answer questions although buying a separate book for answers is very annoying.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
I had no formal theoretical exam experience before buying this. However in order to progress to any Grade 6 Practical exams, it is necessary to pass Grade 5 Theory. This was one of the recommended books for me to get. With this (and the other two books) I passed :)
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
It is more expensive to buy books 1-5 if your child has to do the music theory exam, but the single books are much better, they impart the material in an excellent overseeable format and build up the theory in a logical way.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
A must have for preparing for the ABRSM grade 5 theory exam but I don't think it covers absolutely everything you will need to know for the exam? For example, ( unless it has been removed ) you may get asked to write 4/6 3/5 ( Ic-V ) below the stave where this chord progression occurs?, I think an example of this question could have been included in the work book?. Although, it may like I said, have now been removed from the exam as I don't think it appeared in the 2014 past test papers? Other than that, I would recommend this book. Also, I am happy to answer any questions you might have about grade 1 to 5 theory, so please feel free to ask.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Does what it says, although you need the AB guides to music theory to supplement the sections here if you are teaching yourself.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
I would advise anyone who is tackling this grade to obtain some help from a teacher. You need to have worked through the previous grades for this to make full sense. The answer booklet is JUST an answer booklet with no explanations at all.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
2015 Past Papers Now On Sale. Biggest Range Online. Shop Now!