Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars37
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£21.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2014
This is a special album, since it is NOT Nightwish, yet it is so close to it. It sounds a bit like Imaginaerum yet at the same time so far from it...

You don't have the heavy elements here, it is more lyrical, as it is a soundtrack, but the quality of the music is still unbelievable!

It is strange how can this man, Tuomas Holopainen, turn to gold anything he touches.

What is even more brilliant is that this is a soundtrack for a movie that does not and will not exist! Don Rosa has been clear about not wanting to work with Disney, so the dream of a movie is gone. Still Tuomas loved the story so much that he alone decided to give it a worthy soundtrack! And although Don Rosa at first was sceptical (to say the least) about this strange man approaching him with such a bizzare idea, the whole thing came out so beautifully, that even he accepted to participate in its promotion...

Wonderful musical landscapes, Lyrics taken from the comics series and pipes from heaven.

This is an album for everyone who listens to quality music, not just Nigtwish fans, its a wonderful soundtrack, one of the best this year.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
If you like complex melodies or soundtrack music then this is something not to miss. It's such a beautiful album that it far exceeded my expectations. It keeps the signature style of Tuomas's writing but brings it to a new level. Johanna Kurkela's voice is the icing on the cake for me.

It's a must buy
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
For anyone reading this, this isn’t a metal album and it is wrong to class it as metal like Amazon does. It is a classical/folk soundtrack album based on Scrooge McDuck. That said, most Nightwish fans should like this as Tuomas’ sound and amazing compositions are still very much present. If you like Nightwish songs such as Creek Mary’s Blood, Last of the Wilds, The Islander Meadows of Heaven, I Want My Tears Back, Arabesque and Turn Loose the Mermaids or film soundtracks in general then chances are you’ll enjoy this album, if you’d rather it was metal then this isn’t for you.

The actual album is a masterpiece and takes the listener through an up and down ride. I’ve never felt so emotional over Scrooge McDuck in my entire life. (And now have some serious desire to watch Duck Tales) Glasgow1877 starts the album off with its atmospheric Scottish Celtic folk sound; it acts for the most part to build up to the rest of the album. Into The West, starts the feeling of adventure with its western tones. Duel & Cloudscapes is fun and dramatic with its dark cartoon horror inspired moments. Dreamtime continues those dark moments in a haunting marching pace which builds up but never bursts over the course of the song. Cold Heart Of The Klondike is the only song that features Tony Kakko on vocals; it starts off bombastic like many Nightwish songs but slows down in places, to give the song an interesting contrast and a sense of adventure. The Last Sled starts off fairly mellow and builds up an exciting pace before turning mellow again. Goodbye, Papa, is a slower instrumental track that goes into a lively Scottish influenced early mid-section before turning slower and sad at the end. To Be Rich, is a fairly short ballad which leads into A Lifetime Of Adventure (The single which I’d guess many would have heard before the release of the album), one of the few songs where the vocals take the centrepiece and allows the main vocalist, Johanna Kurkela to really shine. It is a sweet reminiscent song which sums up the rest of the album. The final track Go Slowly Now, Sands of Time is a ballad sang by Alan Reid and is somewhat of a counterpart of the previous track from Scrooge McDuck’s point of view and provides a fitting bitter sweet ending to the album.

There's also another version of A Lifetime Of Adventure and another CD with all the songs as instrumental versions, as most of the songs are either instrumental or feature very only a small use of vocals I don't see much point, still it is a nice addition for those who want it. The packaging is gorgeous, I don't normally consider the art work but it is very beautiful.

As a big fan of Nightwish, I wasn’t entirely surely how much I’d enjoy this album, while I like classical/instrumental music, it doesn’t hold my attention for long, but I ordered it on faith and mostly because I couldn’t resist the lure of having a Tuomas Holopainen signed art card. Now that I’ve been listening to it for the past few days, it has exceeded all my expectations and is possibly some of the strongest work Tuomas has done.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Anyone who's familiar with the work of Tuomas Holopainen will know he has a penchant for whimsical melodies and pounding orchestras and this latest endeavour is no exception. The album opens up with an ode to traditional Scottish anthems in 'Glasgow 1887', featuring bagpipes and rising orchestras. The vocals of Johanna Kurkela are immediately apparent and soar as she demonstrates her vocal ability from energetic belting to sombre harmonies.

It is no coincidence that the album is presented as a storybook (which is beautifully laid out and very reminiscent of old children's comics), since the music plays out chronologically to the life of Scrooge McDuck; as it would a story. Immediately 'In to the West' paints pictures of horse & wagons and vast deserts while the turbulent (and bizarrely playful) 'Duel & Cloudscapes' rings loud of music from Pirates of the Caribbean.

'Cold Heart Of The Klondike' is a particularly powerful piece featuring the talented vocals of Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica) in a fast paced, war chant and showcases Tuomas' sheer ability as a composer. From there we have other more unusual tracks like 'To Be Rich' in which Kurkela demonstrates middle-eastern sounding vocals which play out into something that sounds almost like Enya (of all people!). 'A Lifetime Of Adventure' (which is featured twice in slightly varying styles) is very much the main single of the album and boasts beautiful child-like melodies, fragile vocals and catchy lyrics.

So now the main question you're probably asking: Does it sound like Nightwish? Absolutley! Tuomas' signature style is very apparent and the symphonies are beautiful. Musically, it sounds very much like a continuation of their latest album 'Imaginaerum' taking influences from folk music and theatre, however with a much subtler approach. Which brings me to my only complaint in which I feel a good number of the tracks stopped themselves before they could really soar. Another is it, like Imaginaerum sounds very much like a film score rather than an independent musical outing. All in all though, this is a fantastic album and feels very polished. I would recommend it to any Nightwish fan and lover of quality music.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
If your expecting this to
sound like Nightwish your
gonna be disappointed but
its a fantastic album in its
own way although i have
idea what to class it as
musically. Buy it sit back &
Chill. Astounding
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Music "inspired by" the life of Scrooge McDuck. It's hard not be inspired by such an amazing story. Nightwish's Tuomas Holopainen knows how to create an enchanting melody, so this album ought to be a success...right? Well, it doesn't fail. But for this most part this album just feels like ANY other Celtic-themed soundtrack.

There are some standout tracks that raise the overall average. Most tracks are merely pleasant listening when they should have provoked a range of emotions. Tuomas Holopainen's heart is in the right place though he might have been able to produce something more wonderful and expansive had this album been officially endorsed by Disney. I have no doubt of his abilities as a composer, it's just that this album feels more like rejected Riverdance ideas and less like the powerful soundtrack to Scrooge's life that it should have been.

Three stars for most of the tracks, but overall a 4 star review thanks to some moments of true inspiration.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
Great album, couple of marks and scratches on both discs so needed a good clean before you could listen to the whole album. The Album itself is great if you like Nightwish you will love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
This album is pure quality and nothing short of fantastic taking you on a atmospheric musical journey. The talents of this man are endless.
Thouraly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
The reviews above are detailed and insightful and go a long way to giving you a feel for the album. My review will be short and simple.

Buy this. If you like music, buy it. If you like Nightwish, buy it. If you don't know who Nightwish are, buy it.

Really, just buy it.

Go on. Why are you still reading? GO! BUY!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
A prog-rock album based on the adventures of a cartoon duck? Well, I have to say it surprised me but it really does work. The orchestration is rich, the songs original and memorable and the packaging exceptional. If you've read this far, you're going to buy this album anyway, why waste any more time? Do it!
33 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.