or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a 1.96 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Music in Dreamland [Paperback]

Paul Sutton Reeves
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
Price: 14.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, 14 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Paperback 14.99  
Trade In this Item for up to 1.96
Trade in Music in Dreamland for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 1.96, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

4 Mar 2011
Music In Dreamland is the authorised biography of Bill Nelson, best known as guitarist, singer and songwriter with 70s art rock band, Be Bop Deluxe. Be Bop came to prominence through a combination of rock theatrics and Nelson's flamboyant guitar work, moving from glam rock to new wave, via the band's art rock masterwork, Sunburst Finish. After Nelson split Be Bop Deluxe he formed the acclaimed but short-lived Red Noise with whom he recorded the new wave classic Sound on Sound. Draws on hours of new interviews with Bill Nelson as well as David Sylvian, John Leckie and Steve Harley.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Spend 30 and get Norton 360 21.0 - 3 Computers, 1 Year 2014 for 24.99. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

Music in Dreamland + Live In Concert At Metropolis Studio [2CD+DVD] + Be Bop Deluxe At the BBC 1974-1978 [3CD/DVD]
Price For All Three: 46.90

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Helter Skelter Publishing (4 Mar 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1905139292
  • ISBN-13: 978-1905139293
  • Product Dimensions: 1.7 x 15.2 x 22.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 307,083 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

Reeves has come up with a real page-turner. -- Classic Rock magazine, July 2009

A valuable and diligent assessment of a neglected artist. --Rock'n'Reel magazine, October, 2009

Lovingly assembled biography of one of the UK's most reluctant guitar heroes and all-round creative mavericks.
--Record Collector, June 2009

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best rock biography ever? 19 July 2009
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
This is just fantastic, a true insight into the life and works of Bill Nelson, with an emphasis on the Be Bop Deluxe era, but a very detailed account of everything prior to and since then.
This book will make you realise just what a brilliant lyricist Bill is, I always loved the words and the way it felt like poetry, but when you read the line by line explanation of Love Is Swift Arrows you realise that there was just so much more depth to his writings than you ever imagined.
Bill himself was very involved with the book, so there is lots of first hand recollections and his opinions and thoughts.
If you've ever been a fan, then this is not just a nice addition to the collection, this is ESSENTIAL. Buy it NOW!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stuff 3 Jun 2011
Format:Paperback
Being a long-time fan of Be Bop Deluxe, but not so familiar with Bill Nelson's solo work, this book was a revelation and an incitement to rectify the latter. It's definitely something to read for hard-core fans. The physical book itself is a monstrosity, though. I have seldom seen a worse layout, and it's a shame that the book designer was so far removed from Mr. Nelson's own lofty, artistic heights...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading for Bill's fans 6 Jan 2010
Format:Hardcover
Don;t be put off by the odd pink cover, this is a very good account of Bill Nelson background and work, and an easy and informative read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! 18 Nov 2009
Format:Hardcover
Despite what the synopsis says above, the book was not designed by Bill. Buy it though!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight, A great read 24 Mar 2011
By Colin Smith "keep on running" TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is a comprehensive and very enjoyable biography concerning a creative genius, who's contribution to music has never received the widespread recognition it undoubtedly deserves.
Bill Nelson's professional and private life is well documented here, from picking up a guitar for the first time at the age of around ten, through the musical experiences of his youth, to the creation of Be Bop Deluxe, and beyond.

The disbanding of both versions of BBD and the reaction of the band members is covered. Theories are put forward in an attempt to unravel one of the great mysteries of rock music: Why didn't BBD and Bill Nelson become household names? The book predominantly details the BBD years, but Nelson's subsequent solo career is also covered.
The book is interspersed with comments and reflections from Nelson and former band members, as well as friends and producers from the music industry.
All five BBD studio albums, plus a selection of later works, feature a track by track breakdown, explaining the reasons and influences for the lyrics, which makes for very interesting reading.

For fans of BBD and Bill Nelson, this book provides a fascinating insight into the man, his thoughts, and the influences that inspired his creativity, and is certainly a very worthwhile read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback