Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars112
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2003
Muppet Treasure Island is a must if you like the Muppets!
The light hearted fun factor of the movie goes from begining to end, with stars Billy Connolly (who has a small but pivotal part), and Tim Curry doing a wonderful job.
This movie is good enough to buy on dvd even without the bonus materials, but with them it's even better. There is a good mini documentary about the making of the movie that shows you some of the sets, as well as small interviews with a few of the cast and crew. The sing along bonus feature is a bit of good fun for the children too. The movie has a feature comentary by director Brian Henson that is informative and pleasant to the ear. This movie also has plenty of good one liners, and the "Cabin Fever" scene is great!
I have been wanting to buy this movie for years and now that I have I am not dissapointed. I am happy with the sound and picture quality and the only drawback for me is that Disney didn't put it out on dvd sooner.
This is definately a movie that has appeal even after you have seen it a number of times.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 December 2006
It was great to see all your old Muppet friends in a classic. The singing adds a new dimension to the story. Not that "Sixteen Men on a Deadman's Chest" is not good in its self. And the beautiful Benjamina Gunn added a more romantic touch. By the way if you enjoy the singing skulls you may also want to view the movie "8 Heads in a Dufflbag" with George Hamilton. The song "Cabin Fever" will have you singing along.

Talk about sophisticated dialog.

Benjamina Gunn says, "You left me standing at the altar!"

Captain Smollet replies, "I was on a ship headed for Zanzibar. I got cold feet."

Benjamina Gunn, "You're a frog! You're supposed to have cold feet!"

Tim Curry (being himself) was an excellent Long John silver. The only other film where he exceeded this is in the film "Oscar" with Sylvester Stallone.

This movie was nominated for both Golden Satellite Award and Young Artist Award.

No matter how you CUT it this is a worth while movie to own.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2007
All I can say is WOW! this is one of the best films I have ever seen, none stop comedy from start to finish, especially in the character of clueless Morgan.
The whole muppet cat is magnificent. From this film I feel i have learn't a valuable lesson: the best thing about being a pirate is you don't have to wear a suit.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2007
I feel that this film is for the kids and the grown ups. Its not stop comedy from start to finish, it will have the childen in fits and theres 2 0r 3 'grown up' jokes in the film which will have u sprayin water out your nose!

its well worth a watch especially if you've got children, coz there'll love it

family classic
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2009
I never laugh so much as when I watch this film. I have seen it endless times now and can never get bored with it. Forget children, this one is for me.

Treasure Island getting the Muppets overhaul. It just has to be worth it. Funnily enough though, like the other great avetnure they have had with Dickensian London, they stick to the story, but just add their own brand of mirth.

For me, there isn't a best part as it is all just brilliant. But perhaps the songs are the best. Good old Hans Zimmer, he of Pirates fame and others. The entrance of Miss Piggy as Benjamina Gunn for example, is sheer class.

Get your laughing muscles ready for a sensation they aint had in a while when you buy this one, for it is GREAT!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2005
The Muppets always manage to bring a refreshing new perspective to literary classics, which in this case is 'Treasure Island', a book by R. L Stevenson, which children may previously have found boring if they had tried to read it or with older adaptations of the novel. The Muppets always manage to make it fun and enjoyable with a good selection of songs, and general good humour.
When Jim Hawkins is given an ancient pirate treasure map by his dying friend he decides that as he has nothing else to do he will get a boat and a crew, and go in search of the treasure that is marked with an X. While on the ship Jim meets Long John Silver, the one legged cook, and the two become friends. However him and many more of the crew may not be all that they first appear to be, and unfortunately for Jim he might find out the hard way.
The legendary Kermit the frog has the lead as far as the muppets go as the captain of the ship, with his other half, Miss Piggy who left and came to live on the island when Kermit left her standing at the altar. The rest of the gang also appear including, Rizzo the rat, Gonzo, Fozzy the bear, to name but a few. Tim Curry has the role of Long John Silver and is very good in this role. Kevin Bishop co stars as Jim Hawkins the young boy who was given the treasure map by his old friend Billy Bones, who was played by comedian Billy Connelly.
There are a number of nice extras on the DVD itself including: a documentary about the making of the movie with interviews from certain members of the cast and crew. There is a feature length commentary from the director Brian Henson which are always very interesting, and finally a sing along bonus that is wonderful for the kids.
Overall, 'The Muppets Treasure Island' is a fresh and new perspective on an old classic, and the muppets make it much more appealing to children, allowing them to enjoy classics such as 'Treasure Island' as well as adults. With a great cast, a great selection of songs that you just won't get out of your head (at least not for a while anyway), and plenty of jokes this films a winner and highly recommended, especially if you have young children.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2000
In the most recent Muppets film, Muppets in Space, the best things about a Muppet film - the witty song lyrics, the subtle visual gags, the true humour of the bizarre - were sadly lacking. Treasure Island gets it all right. It's more grown up than Christmas Carol, with slightly edgier humour despite the fact that Christmas Carol had a darker storyline, but still manages to entertain the kids. Despite great characters and a fantastic role for Miss Piggy, the movie is stolen by the horde of rats, who hilariously parody humans taking a sterotypical cruise. Watch out for them also in more serious scenes! This film will please both kids and older Muppet enthusiasts. If you've enjoyed previous Muppets films, this one is well worth checking out.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2001
This is a truly brilliant film starring the Muppets and an all star cast with great performances from Billy Connoly and Tim Curry among others. The songs will have you laughing and wanting to join in (I especially enjoyed the singing heads at the beginning). The jokes are also on perfect Muppet standard. An all round good film for children and adults alike.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 January 2007
It was great to see all your old Muppet friends in a classic. The singing adds a new dimension to the story. Not that "Fifteen Men on a Deadman's Chest" is not good in its self. And the beautiful Benjamina Gunn added a more romantic touch. By the way if you enjoy the singing skulls you may also want to view the movie "8 Heads in a Dufflbag" with George Hamilton. The song "Cabin Fever" will have you singing along.

Talk about sophisticated dialog.

Benjamina Gunn says, "You left me standing at the altar!"

Captain Smollet replies, "I was on a ship headed for Zanzibar. I got cold feet."

Benjamina Gunn, "You're a frog! You're supposed to have cold feet!"

Tim Curry (being himself) was an excellent Long John silver. The only other film where he exceeded this is in the film "Oscar" with Sylvester Stallone.

This movie was nominated for both Golden Satellite Award and Young Artist Award.

No matter how you CUT it this is a worth while movie to own.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2000
I bought this cautiously on the recommendation of a colleague. Since then my girls (now seven years' old) and I have watched it dozens of times. I've never been a fan of the Muppets, but the (almost) believeable characters and story draw us in. Most movies of this ilk have dreadful songs, but we like these so much we bought the soundtrack CD! The end-of-film fight is a cracker - more likely than any Bruce Willis effort.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse