Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
54
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2006
Mrs Caldicot has a bummer of a husband. He dies. Her relatives want to dump her in a nursing home so they can sell her house. And then it starts. Good old Mrs C suddenly gets a bit lively. She stands up for herself and wont put up with the boss of the nursing home. She starts a revolution. Its sad and funny all at the same time. And underneath it all there is the message. I loved it.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
This book is a very funny. Anyone with elderly parents will find it very amusing and anyone with children will know how to behave in the future to make there life hell!. The next book in the series, Mrs Caldicot's knickerbocker Glory, is also a great read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
This brought back memories of seeing this on TV some years back. It's a pity it was never repeated.
Lovely easy book to read. I then purchased the follow up book, Knickerbocker Glory which was just as good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
I bought the book because I so enjoyed the film. Both are wonderfully gentle comedies and somehow quite English. Made me smile for the most part, laugh sometimes, and bring a tear to my eye on occasion. I am part way through 'Mrs Caldicot's Knickerbocker Glory' and am enjoying equally as much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
You may recall this as a tv comedy series, which was based on the book, but departed from it in several ways.

This original small book is a light but enjoyable read telling the story of a lady placed into a less than perfect nursing home and how she took it on - and took it over.

And several years before "Waiting for God" appeared.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
the film does full justice to the book...and more.
pauline collins and the rest of the crew bring this book to life and
touch on the state of some retirement accomodation offered in britain
as we have seen in recent news reports.you will laugh but it does have serious undertones.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Read the book first, then watch the TV film, not the other way round as I did. The characterisation as portrayed by Pauline Collins and the rest of the cast is much stronger than in the book. It's a mildly amusing, light-hearted, easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
When I downloaded this book I didn't realise it had been made into a film. The author must of spent time around elderly people because they have written about their attitudes and mannerisms (In a good way) perfectly. It will make you laugh and cry and not want it to end
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
This book made me laugh out loud, which is a rarety nowdays. At some points it made me sad and angry and gave me cause to ponder how some people perceive older people but mostly, it's gentle and very funny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
What a lovely book to read makes you realize we all have to get old but it doesn't stop you having fun
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse