Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop Now Shop now
Mount Modern has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Mount Modern
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Mount Modern CD

1 customer review

Price: £11.30 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
18 new from £3.99 1 collectible from £4.80
£11.30 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Product details

  • Audio CD (14 Nov. 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Big Scary Monsters
  • ASIN: B005VQJCJ8
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  Vinyl  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 480,654 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Mount Modern
2. Weapons
3. Funemployment
4. Downaging
5. Major Labels
6. Battle Hymn Of The Fox Father
7. Lifestock
8. Farmscrapers
9. Take Care
10. Pro-Disney
11. Pants

Product Description

Icelandic musician Snævar Njáll Albertsson is the mastermind behind Dad Rocks!, the solo project of the singer who initially rose to prominence with the Danish band Mimas. Dad Rocks!, however, is quite different: the guitar here is mostly acoustic and is accompanied by piano, trumpet, violin, viola, handclaps and much more. As Dad Rocks!, Albertsson is inspired by acts such as Bill Callahan, Owen, Why?, Akron/Family and Do Make Say Think. This has led to a sound that is a unique mix of folk, pop and lo-fi with complex guitar-work and anthem-like arrangements. Snævar Njáll Albertsson s primary sources of inspiration, however, are the relations closest to him. Most of all his little daughter who also inspired the name Dad Rocks!, naturally a pun on the dad rock genre. The use of pathos and irony is something that is explored throughout his work. Lyrically, this is also a central aspect with subjects both big and small. Sometimes delivered almost cynically but with words that are close to naïvism. Whilst the EP, Digital Age, was recorded in a lo-fi setting on an analogue tape recorder, Albertsson had another vision for the debut full-length, Mount Modern, and went for a different aesthetic that allowed the instruments to stand out clearer to bring out every single melody carried out on the many instruments played on the album. For this task he enlisted Icelandic super producer Addi 800 (Blur, Björk) to mix the album and Tom Mcfall (REM, Stars, Regina Spektor, Bloc Party) to do the mastering.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By simon on 20 Jan. 2013
Format: Audio CD
i love this album,if you like your music acoustic, lo fi with horns,then this is your perfect album.
its an album that will capture you in different listening moods, if you listened to it in different seasons through the year,with reflective songs and social commentary on love,life and kids.
battle hymn of the fox father,weapons,funemployment and downaging are my favourite tracks,but i could name the eleven tracks ,the album is a classic and probably one of the best albums of 2011.
if you like bands like badly drawn boy,or kings of convenience,give mount modern a listen,you won,t be disappointed.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 2 reviews
Dad Rocks! is for beards and knitting in the park like happy weather 1 Dec. 2011
By finethankyouhowareyou? - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Mount Modern is most compelling for its honesty of emotion and shameless lyrical confessions. At once nostalgic and at the same time like meeting someone new and being surprised how well you just hit it off. Organic and sensitive.
dad rocks! - mount modern 29 Nov. 2011
By Harmonicait - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This album does what music is supposed to do for us: it reaffirms our creativity and humanity while still posing questions about the world around us that are so universal they transition seamlessly from Denmark, to Iceland, to the United Kingdom and to New York City, wielding the same power and magic in their wake. Also check out another Paper Garden Records Release, Atlanta based Little Tybee: Humorous To Bees [Explicit]
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions