Start reading Morning Frost: DI Jack Frost series 3 on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Add Audible Narration
Morning Frost (Unabridged) Narrated by Stephen Thorne £15.09 £3.49
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Morning Frost: DI Jack Frost series 3 [Kindle Edition]

James Henry
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (93 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £4.68 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £2.31 (33%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Audible Narration

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.68  
Hardcover £5.00  
Paperback £3.85  
Audio Download, Unabridged £13.20 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
MP3 CD, Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged £57.00  
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Buy a Kindle book between now and 31 March and receive a promotional code good for one free Kindle book. Terms and conditions apply. Learn more

Book Description

A gripping prequel to R. D. Wingfield's A TOUCH OF FROST, perfect for fans of David Jason's Jack Frost and readers who love Stuart MacBride, Peter James and Lynda La Plante.



November 1982. It’s been one of the worst days of DS Jack Frost’s life.



He has buried his wife Mary, and must now endure the wake, attended by all of Denton’s finest.



All, that is, apart from DC Sue Clarke, who has been summoned to the discovery of a human foot in a farmer’s field. And things get worse. Local entrepreneur Harry Baskin is shot inside his club and a valuable painting goes missing.



As the week goes on, a cyclist is found dead in suspicious circumstances. Frost is on the case, but another disaster – one he is entirely unprepared for – is about to strike…



Product Description

Book Description

The third book in the bestselling prequel series, starring R. D. Wingfield's unforgettable creation Jack Frost - younger, greener, and just as uncouth.

From the Inside Flap

November 1982. It's been one of the worst days of Detective Sergeant Jack Frost's life. He has buried his wife Mary, and must now endure the wake, attended by all of Denton's finest.

All, that is, except from DC Sue Clarke, who has been summoned to the discovery of a human foot in a farmer's field. And things get worse. Local entrepreneur Harry Baskin is shot inside his club and a valuable painting goes missing.

As the week goes on, a cyclist is found dead in suspicious circumstances. Frost is on the case, but another disaster - one he is entirely unprepared for - is about to strike.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1023 KB
  • Print Length: 385 pages
  • Publisher: Transworld Digital (7 Nov. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00DW4LBFE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (93 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #23,354 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

James Henry is the pen name for James Gurbutt, who has long been a fan of the original R. D. Wingfield Frost books and the subsequent TV series. He works in publishing, and enjoys windsurfing and long lunches.

After a successful career writing for radio, R. D. Wingfield turned his attention to fiction, creating the character of Jack Frost. The series has been adapted for television as the perennially popular A Touch of Frost, starring David Jason. R. D. Wingfield died in 2007.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mission Accomplished. 20 Jan. 2014
By Pigwin
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
When R.D. Wingfield died in 2007 it would have been generally assumed that the Frost novels would have died with him and I was therefore intrigued when I saw that James Henry had written a prequel to the Frost series of detective stories featuring a young detective Frost. Writing a prequel to a much-loved and well-established series is an ambitious and challangeing task for any author but James Henry has more than risen to the task. I was pleasantly surprised to see how the author had captured the essence of Frost in his early years in Denton, managing to encapsulate all of his foibles, dishevelled appearance, tasteless and inopportune jokes, combined with a maverick attitude to the job.

This is the third novel in the prequel series and opens on the day that Frost buries his young wife, Mary and, needless to say he gets drunk at the wake and manages to insult Mary's family. As in the Wingfield books, Frost though flawed has always had the affection, loyalty and support of most of his colleagues who look after him on this most tragic of days.

However, life still goes on in Denton and there are many cases for the police to solve such as body parts turning up on a farm, a nightclub owner being shot at outside his club and a hit and run resulting in the death of a local paperboy.

There is also the added complication of DC Sue Clarke's pregnancy as Frost just might be the father. There are many other strands to the crimes taking place in Denton and Henry skillfully weaves them together. The long suffering Inspector Mullet has much to keep him awake at night, not least having the onus on him to promote Frost!

I enjoyed this book just as much as the two earlier novels by James Henry, i.e.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Frost chases criminals in 1982 7 Nov. 2013
By C. Bannister TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Hardcover
The year is 1982, the place Denton, England and a foot is found in a nearby field while Frost buries his wife Mary. As his colleagues and a large contingent of the Masons in attendance at the wake the criminals in Denton go on a crime spree. With no time to mourn the loss of his wife, a wife who by his own admission he hadn't put at the top of his priorities, Frost is soon investigating a rape at a school, the shooting of a small-time crook and coming to terms with the fact that a new computer system is being installed in Denton Police Station.

This is the third prequel that James Henry has written to the brilliant R.D. Wingfield books featuring Frost. This last one takes us up to Frost at Christmas the first in the original series. James Henry does a fantastic job of recreating Frost and the writing of R.D. Wingfield, so much so that I forget that it this isn't the original. The crimes are sufficiently bizarre enough without being unrealistic, Frost is instantly identifiable, if a little younger and the references to the England of the eighties subtly inserted. I had forgotten how Radio Rentals and Rumbelows were ubiquitous in many towns, how life before mobiles meant the police would stake out telephone boxes and that once upon a time renting a video was the height of the technological revolution.

A great read for those of us who mourn the passing of R.D. Wingfield but Frost really couldn't have been put into a safer pair of hands.

This prequel series starts with First Frost: (DI Jack Frost 1) and was followed by Fatal Frost: (DI Jack Frost 2) and both are written with the same gentle humour along to back up a great police procedural.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in return for my honest review.
Was this review helpful to you?
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing. 14 Mar. 2015
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I have read and re-read all the Frost books, including those by James Henry, and this is by far the most disappointing. Even by the half-way point I was waiting for some of the usual Frost, wit, lively banter, or multi-plot bumbling disorganisation to appear, but it didn't. Even overlooking that 'facts' created in the other books have been changed to give this story a bit of a start, I found it to be a very slow, almost boring book. I couldn't even picture David Jason as Frost, something that always adds life to the other books. Disappointed. Any further books in the series must return to the standard of Mr Henry's previous two offerings.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Addition to the Frost Series 23 Sept. 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Very enjoyable. I hope the author continues giving us many more Frost stories. The only gripe is he seems to have completely rewritten Frost's wife's death. The test of a good book is if you don't want to put it down, and this was certainly the case here. James Henry has really captured the character of Frost, though it is difficult to think of Frost without picturing David Jason speaking the words.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morning Frost published November 2013 13 Dec. 2013
Format:Hardcover
Classic Frost from a dated 1970s. An untidy detective with too many cases too solve. Rape, murder, burglary plus the death of his wife as he staggers from one disaster to another annoying people and trying to adapt to a changing world.

The book has lots goIng on with an assortment of characters from the previous books you won't to put this book down but also don't want to Finnish it

Waiting for the next instalment
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same old Same,But 17 Feb. 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Just like the TV. Just like Wingfield. Shut your eyes and imagine David J just that little but younger and you wont go far wrong.
Not often do books and TV run so well side by side. This a rare talent. I trust that we shall see more.
No spoilers. But did she hit the paper boy? An unexpected ending.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category