Start reading Moon Lord: The Fall of King Arthur - The Ruin of Stonehenge on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Moon Lord: The Fall of King Arthur - The Ruin of Stonehenge
 
 

Moon Lord: The Fall of King Arthur - The Ruin of Stonehenge [Kindle Edition]

J. P. Reedman
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £8.99
Kindle Price: £2.10 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £6.89 (77%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.10  
Paperback £8.90  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Product Description

Many Sun-Turnings have passed since the Ardhu the Stone Lord inherited the kingship of Prydn. His illegitimate son Mordraed seeks his father’s hall on the Great Plain, and a place among the famed warriors of Kham-el-Ard, but his appearance brings a shadow and a doubt.

With his power waning and the land beginning to fail, Ardhu must lead his warriors on a final journey to retrieve a golden Cup, which the Maimed King of the Wasteland foretells will unite a crumbling kingdom.

Gal’havad, most trusted of Ardhu’s men, and his only legitimate heir - a sickly youth, half in the World of Spirit - is befriended by his half-brother Mordraed and lured into a deathly pact.

Meanwhile, The Merlin, old and ill, struggles to see through the darkness that is rising and is made temporarily powerless to help, betrayed by those he thought friends.

With An’kelet and Fynavir’s illicit affair discovered, Mordraed manipulates his father into leaving his Kingdom to wage war on his former friend and seizes power himself, turning the fields to dust and slighting Khor Ghor, the great temple to the Ancestors upon the Great Plain..

Mordraed, the Dark Moon, has Risen… and the Stones of the Giants’ Dance will fall!

Stand-alone sequel to STONE LORD

Moon Lord is a book set in Britain’s prehistory such as you’ve never read before. Mixing fiction with the latest archaeological discoveries, it covers a prehistoric landscape ranging from Stonehenge and Avebury, to Seahenge in Norfolk and Newgrange in Ireland. A novel of the prehistoric origins of the man we called KING ARTHUR…

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 5025 KB
  • Print Length: 340 pages
  • Publisher: Mirador Publishing (24 Sep 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00FFBC8AE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #379,146 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Born to a Canadian soldier and English war bride, Janet grew up in Victoria, British Columbia. From an early age she displayed an interest in the past, especially celtic mythology, which was somewhat in the blood as her grandmother came originally from Co.Kildare, Southern Ireland. She wrote her first story at 5 years old, and a novel length fantasy at 12, and she's never stopped...

Growing weary of Canada, the search for inspiration brought her back to the British Isles, first to Derbyshire's Peak District where she first got a taste for her sense of place & memory, finally settling in the West, very close to Stonehenge.

Janet is very well known for being prolific in writing for small press publications, her poetry, and for fan fiction over the 80's and 90's. She has turned her hand to acting, organising events, and a spot of archaeology and tour guiding.

She is author of two best-selling novels about Stonehenge, placing the Arthurian Legends back into the British Bronze Age. Combining real archaeology and a sense of place which brings the landscape and people alive more than ever before, she may be bringing both volumes out as an Omnibus, with all new chapters, in the near future.

Janet has also written a number of smaller stories, available in Kindle format,
dealing with Prehistoric Britain, Robin Hood, & seasonal children's stories using European Folklore, in the vein of The Brothers Grimm and Neil Gaiman.
Her dystopian children's fantasy novel, The Quest For The Rose, is due for publication in the U.S sometime in late 2014.

Reedman's most recent offering confronts the figure of King Richard III, vilified by Tudor propaganda as a conniving, twisted hunchback who murdered his nephews to get to the throne.
As we are learning from the recent rediscovery of his remains in Leicester, as well as a wealth of documentary evidence also recently found, the real story is of a King who was up against an almost impossible task, perhaps doomed from the beginning.

Sacred King is a historical fantasy novella dealing with Bosworth and its aftermath. Primarily a redemption tale, it uses local Leicestershire folklore & the Prophecies of Thomas the Rhymer. It has been likened to a modern day Dante's Inferno, culminating nicely to the later day discovery, televised to the world, with brooding clouds overhead, on the very anniversary of the battle.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Moon is Rising.. 8 Dec 2013
By Emmling
Format:Paperback
`Moon Lord' picks up some years after Reedman's previous 'Stone Lord', and reimagines the later stages of the Arthurian saga in the same Bronze Age setting, centered around the Stonehenge landscape. The plot revolves around Ardhu's waning strength and confidence in his role as unquestioned ruler, and in turn the reader is witness to a reversal of fortunes for several of the main cast. The illicit lovers Fynavir and An'kelet are discovered and reduced, Merlin is 'elf-shot' and weakened. All this makes for a darker, more emotionally explorative novel. Even the new character of Mordraed, the Moon Lord himself, is no exception; he is compromised, hesitant to enact his dark fate and compelling. Only Morigau remains untroubled and deliciously maniacal. I won't reveal the climax, but suffice to say it is faithful to the novel's darker tone and harshness of climate in which it is set. In terms of form, Moon Lord continues the rich imagery and vividness of setting I so enjoyed in the first book. The locations map and glossary of place/character names are welcome additions that enhance appreciation.
Olivia, Salisbury
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Arthurian legend from a different perspective 7 Nov 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
MOON LORD: THE FALL OF KING ARTHUR
THE RUIN OF STONEHENGE
BY
J.P. REEDMAN

Ms. Reedman takes the well-known and oft told tale of King Arthur and makes it her own. The story centers around Mordraed, illegitimate son of Ardhu Pendraec (Arthur Pendragon) and Ardhu's half sister Morigau (Morgana). Mordraed has been groomed by his mother to ascend to political power, and even in his revulsion of her, does her bidding.

There is phenomenal attention to detail, copious amounts of research in both the legend and geography, and an authentic, intelligent writing style. She takes her readers on an adventure of betrayal, regret, power struggles, and fights for survival. The characters' names are changed a bit, as if they morphed through the ages to their current pronunciation and spelling. For instance, Fynavir is Guinevere, Lord An'kelet is Lancelot, and the son of Ardhu and Fynavir, Amhar, is given the adult name Gal'havad (Galahad). They reside in Kham-El-Ard (Camelot).

For fans of historical fiction, and of the Arthurian legend, I highly recommend this book. Note: I received this book to review.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Stones... 12 Oct 2013
By Isfet
Format:Paperback
Moon Lord-the Bronze Age Arthurian Saga continues...

It is almost two decades since the events laid out in 'Stone Lord',and the events set in motion by Ardhu,An'kelet and their companions head towards their inevitable climax.

'Moon Lord' is the second book in J.P.Reedman's Bronze Age treatment of the Arthurian tales. Here the 'knights' and their ladies are portrayed as Chieftains and warriors of the Stonehenge era. It's a swift-paced,gripping book where the intricate strands of each character's story finally come togther in a wonderfully vivid scene amongst the megaliths at Stonehenge itself.
One of the main characters the story revolves around is Mordraed,the bastard son of Ardhu by his sister Morigau. Mordraed is an extremely well-realised character,as beautiful and deadly as a Bengal tiger, who brings mayhem and tragedy in his wake. However,it is possible to feel sympathy for him as the story progresses.
Ardhu, An'kelet and the Merlin are older now,and Mordraed's appearance brings heartache to each one. The unfolding of events takes place in various sites across the South of England,Wales & including Newgrange in Ireland,which is equated with the mythical 'Spiral Castle'. The familiar motifs of the Arthurian cycle are cleverly interwoven with recent archaeological discoveries and ancient legends.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book; Reedman avoids the trap of depicting prehistoric peoples as either modern people in fancy dress or animal-skin wearing subhumans. Her characters are purely of their time, when they believed spirits and gods were everywhere, and life was an unchancy thing. She knows her archaeology,too.
So if you're looking for a good,meaty,well-written story with rounded characters in a believeable setting,writen by an author who knows their stuff,this one's for you..
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category