Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
109
4.6 out of 5 stars
Platform: Nintendo 3DS|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2013
Never played a monster hunter game but heard good reviews on it, and gave it a try. I am very happy with it and can easily see myself playing 50+ hours on it. Lots of quests and you get to make gear and weapons out of the monsters you kill/capture. Also there is bonus stats for a full set ect. Also the behavior of the monsters is very interesting like they limp away when you hurt them so much, and you have to chase them through different areas. There is a very strong tactical and strategic element to the game as the monsters have several attacks and they are mostly randomly performed but with tell tell sighs that you pick up on when you have killed them multiple times. ( which you will need to do if you want a set of armour)

There are 12 weapon types with different combos and a special powerup attack or power mode you need to charge. Each weapon can be upgraded many times often giving you the choice between several different choices. Also the many traps like electric trap and pitfall traps are very good and further the strategic element of the game. the only one draw back i have with this game is the extremely hard to use camera on the 3DS.. You have to press on the touchscreen part with your right hand thumb which means you cant press the x,a,y buttons used for combat. I hear there is an addon for the 3DS which negates this experience but costs 16£ no thanks... You can get used to it after a while.

Overall there is so much in this game to do, there is no other game on 3DS that I have owned that I spent more time on than this game.. I have spent 22 hours so far got a few armour sets got a nice longsword that does lightning damage and looks like chainsaw blade... so good... lol. Id like to add ive not even scratched the surface of the game like theres a different area which has harder quests and access to harder monsters which you should only do with good gear and experience. There is also online play which i cant use but you can play with up to 4 people and take on bosses. It is scaled down if you have to solo like me :) Hope I didnt go on too much and I hope you find this useful.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
This game is fantastic! It has a huge selection of monsters to hunt, and all weapon types are unlocked, so you won't get bored using just a couple of weapon types over and over. This game has endless hours worth of playtime to those people who are willing to spend the time on this game, which i highly recommend! Having played both the original and MHF2, i can happily say this is the best one yet, and easily the best one to start with if you are new to the series.

The only real downside to this game is not really in the game itself, but the hand cramping you may end up getting for periods of extended use, and the touch screen camera control instead of a second joystick can be a little awkward at times. However it is still completely playable, and you can always get the Circle Pad Pro extension for your 3ds, which adds on a joystick to the side, so that you don't have to use the touchscreen.

For those of you who have played previous generations of this game, the old monsters that are in this version have been fully updated with new attacks and AI, while still retaining the old feel. You will NOT be disappointed by this game!

For the newer players, the game can be a bit tedious at the start, as the quests you are given are usually about gathering or hunting smaller monsters, but if you can bear through that then you will get into HUGE amount of fun that is hunting GIANT MONSTERS.

My favourite game series of all time *****
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
I've played many Monster Hunter games in the past and have always found them compelling and a lot of fun.
The thing you have to realise about this game is that it is not a total walk in the park. It starts off pretty easy, but you will soon have to learn to strategies, be patient and be willing to learn attack patterns of each monster that you have to take down...but there is nothing better than taking down a behemoth that when you first witnessed, wanted to cry over!
If you want a game to just jump into for a few minutes, this probably is not for you!

So, the good points:

- Big battles with lots going on at once, all in glorious 3d at 60 frames per second. It looks fluid and gorgeous.
- Tonnes of different weapons, armour, items..bugs...fish...there is just SO much depth to this game!
- Beautiful array of monsters, ranging from vibrant and exotic, to demonic and terrifying!
- Great variety of different quests and places to visit..from lush woodlands, to barren wastelands where you need cool drinks to survive!
- Pet pigs..cats..acorn things...everything you can make yours and customise.
- If you have friends with this game, it will be great fun and could lead to some epic encounters!

A couple of 'negative' points:

- No online play, even though the Wii U version does. It's a bit annoying because not everyone will have friends who will be willing to buy this game, so multiplayer is strictly local sadly.
- You really do need to invest in the 3DS XL Circle pad pro. People rant on about how they can manage without it, and yes, I can do - but it is more FUN and EASIER to use it. You won't know what I'm saying until you try it yourself.

Overall, the 'negatives' are only minor gripes.

This is a fantastic game, BUY now!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
MH3U is a great fun RPG game that has thousands of hours of fun in it. Whether solo during the single player or connecting online to kick ass as a group, this game is sure to please. Battling giant monsters that are hundreds times your size is great fun - after working out the attack pattern, give it all you got! With thousands of enemies, weapons, items, powerups and adds, you can even customize weapons to create your ultimate sword, axe, mace etc! This game is great fun for children and adults alike (I'm 26!) and would recommend to anybody. Also available on WIi.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
Although this is the 3DS version of the game it has sharper, cleaner graphics than the WiiU version & the 3D is excellent. This game has months of gameplay before you even take into account any of the DLC available and also has almost infinate replay value as there are many different weapon styles to choose from. While the game is not plot heavy some of the games mechanics take a while to get into so this game rewards you for putting hours in.

If you're looking for a game that will keep you busy for maybe half a year - i recommend this

If you're looking for a quick game for when you're sat on the bus look elsewhere
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Such a great game, and an essential for 3DS, and avid Monster Hunter fans.
I will say this now, that you WILL NEED a circlepad pro to get the best out of this game, as some of the sections can be super difficult later on in the game without it.
It makes it super smooth and easy to control the camera and position it where you want when hunting, instead of having to keep tapping the touch screen and trying to attack monsters at the same time.
It's great to be able to hunt on the go, and there is a wide variety of monsters and quests to keep you occupied for hundreds/thousands of hours, alongside the many weapons/armour sets you can make.
The only thing that let me down in the game, was the ability to hunt online wasn't there, like in the Wii U version, which is why I switched to that, for most of my gameplay.
Thankfully they fixed this feature in the game, however this is still a great purchase, and an awesome title to invest your time in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Probably the best game I have played in a long time, MH3U really shows what the 3DS is able to do. Taking the role of a new hunter, working to help and protect a small village, this game reminds me a lot of an MMORPG. Although the main game is a solo adventure you can team up with others through Wi-Fi (or online if you play the Wii U - you can swap the save file between the two consoles if you have the game on both)

You can spend your time collecting ingredients to make potions, weapons, armour and ammunition or take on Quests from the Hunters Guild. As you play through the story, new areas are unlocked and ever larger monsters appear. Combat is very well implemented. Although there are a limited number of moves, combat is not simply a case of mashing at the buttons. Each creature has its own attack pattern, which requires you to pick your moment to attack, before rolling out of the way of the creatures counter attack.

You can play the game as is, controlling the camera using a virtual D pad on the lower screen, but it comes alive with the Circle Pad Pro. Adding a second stick makes control totally effortless and it is well worth getting if you get hooked on this excellent game.

Whether working through the Quests or gathering the ingredients you need for power ups (buffs) the time flies past, immersing you in the beautiful environments. After the first set of introductory missions you are able to quickly jump back to the village to save the game, which is useful on a hand held game. Best game on the 3DS so far!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
After my boyfriend received a 3DS for Christmas, all I ever heard about was this game. With his birthday coming up, I thought i'd get it for him. In a panic, I visited my local town - none of the shops had any to buy. So, I immediately turned to Amazon and just three days before his birthday purchased this. It arrived on time, in wonderful condition. Very pleased.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Fantastic game, it was the best Monster Hunter game in the series until MH4U came out !
Still, if you've finished 4U and looking for some more hunting action you can't go wrong with this title. Still a classic. 8/10 for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Around a year ago I bought a 3DS, mainly to play pokemon games and other DS games. I looked around for a few 3DS games but none of them really caught my eye, until now. I have been playing Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate for the past day and thoroughly enjoy it. I have played this series of games before, so already are a big fan. But this is hands down the best 3DS game that is out. You can hunt a wide range of monsters, as well as, farm, fish, create armour and weapons and multi-play with 3 people through local play. The only downside I would say is that it is not online, so if you do want to play with other people you will have to have some friends that have the game. But overall its a great game and a must buy for 3DS!
44 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.