Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars34
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2001
Tubal Cain has managed to take some of the most complicated theories, completely undress them and make them understandable, useful to the model engineer. Plus there is a handy note section so that the reader can make notes that are relevant to the particular project that they are working on at the time. The books available from both Tubal Cain and George Thomas, must be the complete model engineers Bible. As far as I am concerned, the book is a MUST HAVE.
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2009
You could pay around £100 for the equivalent "professional" handbook and still not find what you have in here. Extensive information but also succint comments that explain it all in terms of practical application. I got more out of the 2 pages on electric motors than from hours of lectures (admittedly rather a long time ago.) My only regret is that I didn't find this book about 3 decades ago.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
Does what it says on the side of the tin! Packed full of the more common information for the model engineer such as cutting feed, trig, steam and log tables but also contains info on boiler construction, electric motors, properties of materials, spring design etc. and even how to restore depleted accumulators! Worth every penny for a good basic all round book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
I had the impression, prior to buying this book, that it was going to be pretty comprehensive for the kind of tables and lists you would want to look up without leafing through lots of other books. Not so.

It gets carried away with theory (tries to teach logarithms, which I have never used for engineering calculations in 30 years since leaving school), then goes on with pages of log, trig and area-of-circle tables - why, when we all have electronic calculators now. Don't bother looking for anything on common alloys other than a bit on steel (but without recommendations on what they are all for); you'll still have to have a book that outlines common gear calculations as this does not; an odd and antiquated electrical section; vain and dry attempts to teach steam engine theory and the gas laws - pointless - read proper texts about those topics should you ever need to; no foundry information such as melting and pouring temperatures; long-winded instructions on various topics without any diagrams; no ER collet data; no carbide insert data (used for modern cutting tools); 'boiler work' does not mention current compliance standards; the list goes on.

You will find some useful things - screw thread tables, standard tapers, other scattered data.

In general, a modern 'handbook' would have a layout with a lot of break-out boxes and page tabs that make it easy to find granular sets of data, rather than the long narrative discursion which is the dominant style in this book. Tubal Cain I think died before the appearance of those American cop shows that gave us the line "just the facts ma'am, just the facts". Pity, as that's the advice he needed.

Overall a let down - but hey, buy it, its cheap - however it won't be what you look up for the majority of your model engineering 'need a quick answer' questions.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
As essentially a 'Reference' book, this is not a publication that one reads from cover to cover. It contains a mass of detailed information, from across his years of experience, in every imaginable area of engineering, as is only to be expected from the author, 'Tubal Cain' (the British engineer, Tom Walshaw - not to be confused with tubalcain, the American engineer, Lyle Peterson who dispenses a wealth of useful information - much of it in the way of YouTube videos, these days.)
"Model Engineer's Handbook" contains a lot of information that I will probably not have use for, or is 'above me', but it is a compendium containing many treasured sections that I would not be without.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Just what I need for quick reference. As a professional engineer I have many text books and manuals, but this small book is a perfect compendium of my day to day information needs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
This is a specialist book for model engineers and is an excellent compendium of tables, facts, figures, and techniques. Only for enthusiasts.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
There will always be a market for handbooks! And everyone of them will tell you its the one and only you need, and they will all be lying. Even with the internet, a book is handier I find. And often more trustworthy! But we need many to cover all bases. Thankfully they are not too expensive. I'm sure everyone ail find something of use in this one as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
This book has been written by someone who has taken literally tens of years
to gathe together this amount of data. It has to be a reference standard for
those working with machines in the workshop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
Tubal Cain is an engineering legend, and you can see why in this book. It contains everything you need to know, laid out in a logical (naturally!) way. It's a kind of bible, I suppose, without the stories!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)