5 used & new from £23.71

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Missa Solemnis/Symphony No. 4 (Giulini, Npo) Original recording remastered

Available from these sellers.
2 new from £51.01 3 used from £23.71

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

Product details

  • Audio CD (8 April 2002)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Original recording remastered
  • Label: BBC Legends
  • ASIN: B000063COQ
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 671,031 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Disc: 1
1. Missa Solemnis In D Major, Op.123: I. Kyrie. Assai Sostenuto. Mit Andacht - Robert Tear
2. Missa Solemnis In D Major, Op.123: II. Gloria. Allegro Vivace - Robert Tear
3. Missa Solemnis In D Major, Op.123: III. Credo. Allegro Ma Non Troppo - Robert Tear
4. Missa Solemnis In D Major, Op.123: IV. Sanctus. Adagio. Mit Andacht - Robert Tear
Disc: 2
1. Missa Solemnis In D Major, Op.123: V. Agnus Dei. Adagio - Robert Tear
2. Symphony No.4 In C Minor, D 417 'Tragic': I. Adagio Molto - Allegro Vivace - New Philharmonia Orchestra
3. Symphony No.4 In C Minor, D 417 'Tragic': II. Andante - New Philharmonia Orchestra
4. Symphony No.4 In C Minor, D 417 'Tragic': III. Menuetto. Allegro Vivace - Trio - New Philharmonia Orchestra
5. Symphony No.4 In C Minor, D 417 'Tragic': IV. Allegro - New Philharmonia Orchestra

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Doreen Hunt on 11 Sep 2011
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This live performance from the summer of 1968 is in my opinion the finest Missa Solemnis that the Philharmonia have left us. It is even finer - as a whole - than the Klemperer 1966 recording, and it is therefore criminal that it has now disappeared from the catalogue (or so it seems). The NPO and Chorus enjoyed a gloroius indian summer at that time and the NPO Chorus trained by the legendary Wilhelm Pitz were without any doubt the finest symphonic choir active at that time. The BBC engineers coped extremely well with the St Paul's acoustices and the stereo sound is very good withonly a few details here and there being a touch muzzy. The organ foundation is particularly well caught without in any way becoming intrusive.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
Avoid this one due to totally unacceptable recorded sound 24 July 2014
By I. Martinez-Ybor - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This is a lousy recording of what probably was a fine performance. Giulini was a marvelous conductor and his later commercial recording of the Missa Solemnis shows his winning ways with this great score. However this recording, probably the hook to buy the album, is technically a total disaster and should be avoided. St. Paul's Cathedral's acoustics where the live performance was recorded, proved to be a venue which totally defeated the BBC engineers. Note that other recordings have emerged from the facility unscathed and are quite estimable. Not this one. The reverberation (and how it was miked) renders every bar a total muddle. Sections of the orchestra become globs of undefined sound. All of this is made worse by Giulini's then conventional use of large forces. It is a shame, for earlyish Giulini is always a treasure to hear. But this performance is a sonic blur. Probably sitting in the nave at the actual performance it may have sounded clearer than what we get to hear in this unfortunate disc. I gave it two stars because the Schubert "filler", recorded in a theatre in Scotland, is quite good and benefits from decent recorded sound. Note that the Symphony #4 is Schubert's not Beethoven's; Amazon should correct the title entry as it makes it seem both works were Beethoven's.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category