Guar gum (guaran) is made from ground guar beans.
The processing of the beans produces a pale, off-white powder that's ground from coarse to fine.Guar gum is used in the preparation of multiple food products,thickening of dairy products such as milk and yogurt, the lubrication and binding of meat, and the improvement of the texture and shelf life of baked goods it is eight times stronger than cornstarch.It's also a common ingredient in gluten-free and vegan recipes .Guar gum is typically used in foods such as ice cream, smoothies, puddings and soups because of its water-absorbing properties.One of the most common uses of guar gum is the stabilizing of salad dressing, sauces and condiments. It is only to be used in small amounts in food as it can bind necessary liquids in your stomach and intestines and cause serious health issues. Guar gum can be used in lotions, gels and cosmetics because of its ability to mix oil and water.
1.Follow the recipe to create your sauce. Leave the addition of a small portion of salt and sugar until the recipe step in which you add the guar gum.
2.Measure out 1/2 tsp. guar gum for every 1 cup liquid.
3.Measure out the small portion of salt or sugar you haven't yet added to the recipe.
4.Mix the guar gum powder with salt or sugar. Putting the mixture into a shaker may help make the next step easier.
5.Sprinkle the mixture of guar gum and sugar or salt into the sauce with one hand while whisking vigorously with the other.
6.Continue to whisk until you're sure there aren't any clumps or lumps in the sauce.
7.Let the sauce sit for a while to thicken.