Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Mind MGMT Volume 2: The Futurist
 
 

Mind MGMT Volume 2: The Futurist [Kindle Edition]

Matt Kindt
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £14.99
Kindle Price: £11.14 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.85 (26%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £11.14  
Hardcover £12.74  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Product Description

We've learned some of the secrets of Henry Lyme; now get ready to meet the rest of Mind Management! With the remains of the Management attempting to reform and hot on Lyme's tail, the former spy is forced to seek help from other defectors around the globe, including the deadly Futurist, Duncan! Meanwhile, losing her memory has barely slowed journalist Meru down, as an attempt on her life puts her back on the hunt for Mind Management-and on a collision course with the terrible truths Lyme has hidden from her! Collecting MIND MGMT #7–#12, plus stories from Dark Horse Presents and i09! * Foreword by Scott Snyder (Batman, American Vampire)! * Matt Kindt's (JLA, 3 Story) game-changing series ups the stakes!

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 134800 KB
  • Print Length: 176 pages
  • Publisher: Dark Horse Books; Reprint edition (22 Oct 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00EZYG4N4
  • Text-to-Speech: Not enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #683,038 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars It keeps getting better... 4 Feb 2014
By Mathute
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I'm really in love with this comic book. I though the first volume couldn't be topped, and boy, was I wrong. Just buy it, read it, and when volume 3 comes out read every volume all over again.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Suspense Series 23 Oct 2013
Format:Hardcover
Volume One was absolutely fantastic with its thrilling ride of a story and I had high expectations for Volume 2 which were almost lived up to. I really enjoyed this but it just didn't have the thrills or twists of the first one. However, it continues to be a great story. We meet a whole bunch more of the mind management agents and now have a team, so to speak. They feel a bit like superheroes in that each has a special power but they are not heroes at all and none of them are even "good guys"; they are all rather ambiguous characters which keeps the tension taught as we never know what moves a character will make. The theme of this book is to let out the whole story behind Mind MGMT while meeting the new characters. The big reveal at the ending involves how Meru exactly fits into all this. It's a great reveal, even though I saw it coming. Now that we have the quasi- good and bad guys, I look forward to seeing the direction the plot takes in the third volume.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.6 out of 5 stars  10 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written but not convincing 29 Oct 2013
By Alt - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Mind Mgmt tells a typical story in an usual way: some of the text, and even little squibs of art, appear in the margins while twin sisters tell their story in the form of a comic book (which, of course, is incorporated into Mind Mgmt). Quite a lot of the story is told via the art (a good thing) but that storytelling style sometimes leaves confusing gaps (not a good thing). The story itself has been done many times -- secret organization, agents trained from childhood, controlled by government, disbanded, reorganized and privately controlled for nefarious purposes. I give this version of an old story credit for being particularly well written although not particularly convincing.

Some of the mental abilities displayed by team members are more interesting than is typical of similar stories. The ability to sense structural weaknesses, the ability to survive, the ability to kill with a finger (sort of), the ability to influence people (and nations) with music, and the ability to predict the future by aggregating the thoughts of others are all pretty cool.

I enjoyed the story, largely because the prose is quite good. The art is distinctive but it doesn't blow me away.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continues to Impress 17 Oct 2013
By abefroman - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
When I stumbled upon this series with issue #1, I did so because it sounded interesting, had amazing art, and was the start of a new series. Little did I know that I was going to be hooked on the amazing world that Matt Kindt created. This book continues where it left off, except this time Kindt expands on/explains more about the Mind MGMT organization. As for the artwork, the watercolor artwork is simply beautiful. It is such a unique style in a field where so many thrive to be the next Jim Lee (I do like Jim Lee's work though). As for the production of the book, it is of the same quality as the first one. It has a sewn binding, introduction, and a few extras. Just like the first one, the binding is a bit stiff, however, it doesn't take away from the finished product. If you liked the first hardcover, or are interested in crime/supernatural/mystery fiction, pick this book up.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mesmerizing muddle 29 Dec 2013
By D. Lotempio - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
MIND MGMT volume 2 continues the implausible journey into paranoia and anxiety begun in volume 1. Fans of Thomas Pynchon and Philip K. Dick will likely enjoy this retread their mind-twisting work. The whole thing is outrageous and absurd. Author Matt Kindt attempts to create a dizzying, ethereal world with his watercolor art. It is unlike other graphic novels on the market, which is a problem. His characters appear contorted and out-of-focus. The muted hues with their earthy tones create a depressing, claustrophobic atmosphere. It’s all just a muddle. I wish there was a way to give this book zero stars.

MIND MGMT volume 2 chronicles the attempt by former provocateur Henry Lyme and true-life mystery author Maru to recruit old operatives of the MIND MGMT conspiracy. It is reminiscent of The Invisibles by Grant Morrison or Espers by James Hudnall. Someone is trying to restart MIND MGMT for their own nefarious ends and erasing Lyme and his compatriots is on their agenda. Global conspiracies, bah! It’s all rubbish really. The book only caters to sub-human Morlocks, easily swayed by their fears.
Oh the book does tries to create a persuasive atmosphere. The colors echo the central idea that something mysterious is going on just outside your normal perception. If you look in margins, readers will find peculiar instructions. They’re not hidden but, by placing them just outside our focus, they’re effectively obscured. The whole package is trying to hypnotize the reader. It’s giving you instructions. You’re being prepared for receipt of the ideas imbedded in MIND MGMT. It isn’t surprising then that this volume features multiple characters with the ability to use media to influence society. The Ad Man can change your mind (quite literally) with his ads. A young musical rebel can end rebellions or start insurrections with pop songs.

It’s all quite magical really. MIND MGMT #2 is refreshing different from any other graphic novels on the market. Creater Matt Kindt has made a lovely, albeit anxious, package that’s a treat to read. I heartily recommend curious readers pick up both the first and second volume IMMEDIATELY. They’ll open up a whole new world for you. Everything will be clear, and very soon, all of those other mainstream comics will be forgotten. It's so fantastic that I'm compelled to give it 5 stars. I can't wait for more MIND MGMT.
5.0 out of 5 stars Exponential Depth 15 July 2014
By Christopher - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Although thinner at first impression, the story it contains is even more rich and dense than volume one. The only problem I had was that I didn't have volume three in my hands when I was done. Graphic storytelling, and really storytelling of any kind, at its best.
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating & Imaginative 14 July 2014
By Justin P. Carney - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Matt Kindt is one of the most creative and artistic comic creators out right now. His art is visually stunning, his book design is captivating and imaginative. I love the layers of the book, from the flow of the narrative and giving you just what you need when you need it, to the sidebars and extras that give additional clues and pieces of the narrative outside of the main storytelling.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category