Buy Used
£6.56
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox co uk
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Trade in your item
Get a £3.24
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Midnight Folk (New York Review Children's Collection) Hardcover – 1 Sep 2008

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£6.56


Trade In this Item for up to £3.24
Trade in The Midnight Folk (New York Review Children's Collection) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £3.24, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Hardcover: 247 pages
  • Publisher: New York Review of Books (1 Sept. 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1590172906
  • ISBN-13: 978-1590172902
  • Product Dimensions: 14.7 x 2 x 22.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 727,361 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By Alan Murray on 24 Feb. 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Lovely book, good price. Not as spectacular as Box of Delights, but still a gem. Makesaniceoair with the same edition of B of Ds.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 13 reviews
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
A treasure of a book 17 Nov. 2008
By A Reviewer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Endlessly inventive, funny, scary, and heartwarming -- The Midnight Folk is a children's book for the ages. I first discovered it in England, where it's a classic nearly as famous as Alice in Wonderland. I can't fathom why it's less well known in the U.S. Kay Harker lives in a wonderfully funny and spooky old house, where the chess pieces play themselves at night and there are secret corridors behind the walls, where the witches (his governess and her gang) look out from the eyes of the portraits. The scene near the end where all Kay's toys come to his aid in the grand battle is just thrilling. I'm so glad this book has been reissued -- for many years it's been available only in a condensed edition that leaves out lots of the good stuff. This is one adults will enjoy as well as kids.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Childhood Memories Rediscovered 27 Mar. 2009
By Fae Deaton - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
My mother brot me this from New York on her various day trips to see plays etc. She said there was a great display of books in grand Central Station and would pick up a book for me on her way back to the train platform back to New London CT. I read it over and over all my years as has my oldest daughter. When the pbs tv show came on it was such a fabulous visualization of all the wonderful adventures of Kay. The story seemed so real and when we lived in England 60-64 more pleasant memories in living "on the economy". Very satisfying story, easy to get caught up in w/ references to the Knights of the Roundtable, pure joy to read at any age. Fae Deaton
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
John Masefield's fiction for children ROCKS! 4 Mar. 2009
By Mary A. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Imagine a world where a young boy can do anything. That's the world of Kay Harker. What creative books these are (The Box of Delights is the second Kay Harker book)! My 10 year old daughter is impressed and couldn't put either book down.

I highly recommend both books and thank the New York Review Children's Collection for bringing back these two wonderful voyages for a child's imagination.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
The Midnight Folk 14 Feb. 2009
By Lady de Winter - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
John Masefield, the author of The Midnight Folk wrote in the early "teens" and "twenties" of the twentieth century.
We have read The Midnight Folk to our children and grand-children.
After all these years, it retains its powers of imagination and fascination.
Kay Harker, our ten-year-old protagonist is an orphan of wealthy parents. He is under the control of his Wicked Governess, Daisy Pouncer.

Kay's adventures in his corner of the beautiful English Countryside are delightful. The animals on the estate are inter-active. Some animals are working for good, other animals are allied with Daisy Pouncer, and her after-hours band of witches. Kay's adventures happen in a witchy, fairy-tale venue that he accesses after he has been sent to bed. Masefield uses his considerable knowledge of English folklore and local English history to weave a mesmerizing story. It requires reasonably literate listeners to hear or read the story (This is NOT Good Night, Moon) and reading it together is a pleasure to parents as well as the kids.
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
I waite a long time for this 6 Dec. 2008
By Shirley Wardzinski - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book had been out of print for a long time, and the used copies were very expensive! It is the perfect companion to his other story "Box of Delights". Perfect for anyone who loves fantasy---made me feel like a child again! it was great fun to go with Kay on his adventures. I found that the author has the ability to cause us suspend "disbelief". Now I want more!

Shirley Wardzinski in Indiana
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback