Start reading Men of Honour on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
OR
Read for free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Men of Honour
 
 

Men of Honour [Kindle Edition]

Patrick Mercer
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy unlimited access to over 650,000 titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device for £7.99 a month, including this one. Learn more


Product Description

Product Description

Two soldiers. One war. And no victors.

Major Gary Pearson has only a few more weeks left to serve before he brings to a close a career in the British Army that has been long and violent. So many young lives have been lost that he is now just looking towards the finishing line - and desperate to get all his men across it alive.

Captain Richard Shaw sees the battle differently. To him, success in the field means glory, and glory means promotion.

If men get hurt along the way, that's soldiering.

In this brilliant, provocative novel Pearson and Shaw clash brutally in the dusty, blood-soaked killing fields of Afghanistan. This is a campaign that will be fought to the death - and in which the sanity of the men is more likely to be a casualty than the enemy.

In the tradition of 'Journey's End' and 'Tunes of Glory', 'Men of Honour' is a searingly honest, graphic account of the front-line realities of modern warfare.

Written with the insider knowledge of a former soldier turned politician, 'Men of Honour' is destined to become the classic novel of Britain's 21st-century Afghan campaign.

Patrick Mercer is author of the Anthony Morgan Trilogy, 'To Do and Die', 'Dust and Steel' and 'Red Runs the Helmand,' as well as a number of straight histories of Victoria's wars and the acclaimed novella Doctor watson's War. A military historian by training, he was decorated four times as an infantry officer and then was the defence correspondent for BBC Radio 4's Today Programme.

Patrick Mercer's books have received widespread acclaim.

'A finely-drawn depiction of battle and the camaraderie of war' wrote the Daily Mail of 'To Do and Die.

‘A tremendous achievement by a storyteller who knows the humour, the fear and the frenzy of men in battle,’ said Bernard Cornwell of 'To Do and Die'.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2847 KB
  • Print Length: 303 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press (25 Jun 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00LBFNVZY
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #262,057 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Faces of Battle 3 Sep 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
Written from the perspective of two senior military officials who consistently come to blows with one another over tactics, policies and procedure, this book gives an emotive and action packed account of modern warfare in Afghanistan. The stomach turning accounts of engagement with enemy troops, the masculine bravado with which the horrors of combat are dealt with and the extreme emotions which rage secretly behind the soldiers brave faces will particularly appeal to squaddies and their families (although in some senses it might make uncomfortable reading for them). Book isn't faultless, there was a bit too much jargon at times and a couple of things became repetitive, but a very good read nevertheless.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
By Edward
Format:Kindle Edition
Mercer's long and distinguished career as a soldier combined with his excellent characters and storytelling ability makes for a thrilling read. The work is so descriptive and graphic in places, you almost feel you are living the life of a modern day soldier on an Afghanistan battlefield.

This is one of the finest fictional accounts of modern warfare and the book deserves its place among the greats such as 'Journey's End'. I would highly recommend it!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed but also human 1 Sep 2012
By Antonia
Format:Kindle Edition
I've enjoyed Patrick Mercer's historical novels set in the 19th century so was interested in what he'd do in reference to a modern day war story. Men of War is different (and I still prefer the likes of To Do And Die and Doctor Watson's War), but this book is worth a read for those interested in the genre and present Afghan War. Men of War is very strong on military language and detail - although was perhaps too much jargon/slang and weapons stuff for my taste. But the story involving two commanders with conflicting views of the war itself and the responsibilities they have toward their men is gripping and human.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Implausible and Steroetyped 19 Mar 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I left the British Army 5 years ago after a 35 year career as an infantry officer, including two tours in Afghan. I found this book to be full of totally implausible and unrealistic tactical events and stereotyped characters - from the Late Entry Officer Commanding to the young officer with Combat stress (possibly cowardice). Clearly, although Patrick Mercer did serve in the Army, he is either so out of touch with the modern reality of soldiering or very badly advised; possibly both. Disappointing - I won't be reading any more of his books.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not his best 26 Oct 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
First of all, this book was spoilt for me as every single apostrophe displayed as a question mark on my kindle, no idea why. Some pages could have 20 such marks scattered across the page.

I found the format slightly confusing, the narrative shifting between the main characters. Sometimes this works, but not this time for me.

I completely got the army mentality and humour, but I did struggle with the breakdown from the training and procedures that are so drilled in to our armed forces, and found it implausible. Maybe the author with his experience knows better, and this is an accurate representation of what can actually happen on the ground, but I hope not.

A sad tale, quite well told, but ultimately did not work for me.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate and Honest War Story 27 Aug 2012
By Chris
Format:Kindle Edition
`Men of Honour' brings the harsh realities of war to life with believable characters and an abundance of fast-paced action. Partly due to the strength of the writing and partly due to the author having been a soldier, there is an authenticity to this book that makes it both an engaging and sometimes disturbing read. Soldiers are not saints, but they do still have a code. And also a sense of humour. The two main protagonists are well drawn. They're individuals, but they also represent different philosophies. This book should go down well with soldiers and also their families. There's sometimes a distracting overuse of military slang/jargon - although there is a helpful glossary included, so this doesn't impede things too much.

I suspect that there will be plenty of other novels to come out about the Afghan war over the next few years. Few will probably top this, in regards to action and it's symapthy with and knowledge of British soldiers.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read from start to finish, 12 Feb 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Fantastic,especially if you have a military background,feels as if your there getting shot at with the rest.Makes you appreciate the courage of our young soldiers who go through this for real.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed. 23 Oct 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A really good book based in a period of recent history where he has not been before. I look forward to his next one.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not my cup of tea
Published 5 days ago by dragonlance
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not much of a story/
Published 3 months ago by MR JA GARDNER
1.0 out of 5 stars out of touch with reality
I can only comment on the first third of this book as I have grown so frustrated with it I have stopped reading it. Read more
Published 16 months ago by William
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced and totally absorbing
I wasn't quite sure what to make of this at first, with the story alternately told from two different first person perspectives, but I soon realized it worked perfectly,... Read more
Published 20 months ago by chrisbeynon@totalise.co.uk
1.0 out of 5 stars Should be withdrawn from sale
I could have really enjoyed this book but it was full of spelling, grammar and syntactical errors, this spoiled what was in essence a thoroughly good story. Read more
Published 20 months ago by Dave
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
I enjoyed the book but it took me a while before I realised the different characters were telling the same tale from different points of view. Good and easy to read though
Published 22 months ago by mr s h cripwell
5.0 out of 5 stars Unlike any other war story
The British Army in Afghanistan, real and personal battles to be fought, won and lost. If this is what its like I'm glad it's soon to be over for everyone involved. Read more
Published 23 months ago by Amazon Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars MEN of HONOUR
Men Of Honour, A more accurate account of everyday soldiering. combining heroism and fear. what it really is like, good.
Published 23 months ago by Colin Bonner
4.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING READ
THIS BOOK GIVES THE READER AN INSIGHT AND RELATIONSHIPS OF THE PEOPLE INVOLVED IN THIS TYPE OF CONFLICT.
THIS BOOK IS A MUST FOR ANYONE WHO HAS BEEN INVOLVED IN THE MILITARY
Published on 19 Dec 2012 by Robbie L
4.0 out of 5 stars Bombs and bullets but no 'boss'
An exciting strongly told yarn in modern vernacular, and clearly based on Mercer's own Infantry experience, although I don't think he served in Afghanistan. Read more
Published on 15 Dec 2012 by wadibasher
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category