Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£27.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2009
We bought these blocks for our son when he was a year old - he is now nearly 7 (and has a 5 year old sister) and these are still one of the most played with toys in our house! They are fantastic for imaginitive play, and my 2 spend hours playing sorts of bizarre but wonderful games with them.
Of all the more high tech and expensive toys they have, these win out every time.
They're nearly 6 years old not - and have been sat on, stood on, flung.... and are still strong and solid.
Completely brilliant!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 August 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
In the box there are
8 large (12"x6"x3")
8 medium (6"x6"x3")
24 small (6"x3"x3") blocks. Which are recommended for 2 years and up.
The blocks are either red, blue, or yellow and look like a brick wall when built up, which is really easy to do.
The blocks are really strong and sturdy and take a good bash with no problem, brilliant for building them up and knocking them down games.
This is a really simple idea executed well, kids always play with boxes, usually for longer than they played with the gift that was in them.So this set uses that theory and it is genius!
We have had them an hour and already they have been a hundred different things, a house, an aeroplane a tower, a falling tower etc etc.
Brilliant for fine motor skills, for stimulating imagination and even story telling. This is a great educational product cleverly disguised as fun.
There has been a lot of fun and laughter and ideas thrown around just playing with simple boxes, brilliant!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
These cardboard building blocks are absolutely ingenious. The forty blocks include 8 large red blocks, 8 medium blue blocks and 24 small yellow blocks, which look like bricks. They come flat packed and have to be folded into shape. Once you have got the hang of it, you can build them all quickly and it took me, plus a friend, about 20 minutes to put them all together. The way they fold means they are not easily crushed and my friend’s young son (aged3) threw them, stood on them and jumped on them, which they seemed to withstand very well and without crumpling or bending. Simple toys are often the best and these are great for imaginative play. These bricks have been used to construct houses for the three little pigs and then ‘blown down’ with great gusto, my daughter has used them to create catwalks for her dolls fashion shows, they have been used as towers, hurdles and as just about anything in between. A really good buy, which are a great addition to the playroom and are popular with just about any age. Being light, they don’t hurt small children when knocked down either, plus they are ideal for toddlers to stack. Versatile, simple and great fun.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Almost everyone has focused on the pros, so to make a difference I will comment on the cons. First of all and despite what is written on the package, the so-called step-by-step instructions were not included within, so I had to look for them at the melissa and doug website. Secondly, imho they do not suffice for a brain of average intelligence. So, I found an amateur video in Youtube much more enlightening. Thirdly, most of the blocks seemed to have fold marks in places where they shouldn't, as if someone had misused them or not taken good care of them while preparing for packaging. And finally, they are considerably smaller than one would expect having looked at the product photos. I think, to be fully satisfied with the product, the blocks should be either twice the size or the number; or one should buy another 40-piece package..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 August 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
These are a brilliant toy that my child loves. They come flat-packed so you'll have to put them together yourself. The instructions, at first glance, look complicated but are actually simple to follow although ofttimes you'll wish you had three hands. If you have nimble fingers you'll have them all put together in under an hour.
The blocks are completely cardboard so there is no worrying about sharp edges or staples; in other words, there are no safety issues.
My child has thrown the blocks, jumped up and down on the blocks, launched the blocks from the window, and they have survived so well they still look new; they're incredibly robust. Plus they can be used to enhance play with other toys. Overall a brilliant toy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2010
I bought this for my 5year old nephew's birthday last December. My sister-in-law has not stopped telling me how brilliant it is. The children (4 of them) play with this toy more than any of their other toys put together. They absolutely love it. She's bought several as gifts since.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 October 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
An almost limitless amount of interest can be had with building these cardboard bricks into various constructions. It contains 40 bricks in three different sizes with the majority being the smaller size and equal numbers of medium and large (24+8+8) in rather striking red blue and yellow.
It's a really nice idea that they are made from cardboard, it makes them robust, light, easy clean, sustainable etc. Children really love interacting with these and due to their size you can make quite imposing looking structures. It's true you will need to be mindful where to store them unless you want to unfold and fold them into shape each time. A really really good interactive present.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Our daughter enjoys playing with these cardboard boxes. I know it sounds a little bit odd to pay for cardboard boxes but they are very sturdy. Our little one has sat on top of these boxes and they haven't deformed at all!

They are very easy to put together, once you get going. They also apparently encourage construction skills and creative play but at home, it's more exciting for her to knock down whatever we build than the actual building itself but I can see the potential once she is a little bit older.

The only downside for me is that they take up quite a bit of space, so I have only put together half of the boxes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 18 September 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Rather good kit this: 40 cardboard blocks that remind me of a giant Jenga kit.

Each die-cut pre-creased net is supplied flat and requires 22 folds / creases to make an individual block. It took around 40 minutes to assemble them all. My seven-year-old daughter could construct them by herself; not so for my four-year-old daughter.

Anyway; both girls have had great fun building towers and chairs and walls and tables and tunnels and bridges (and so on). Their particular idea of pleasure was to kick the construction to bits and start again. The strength of the bricks (boxes) is impressive and the girls took delight in using them to build a series of stepping stones around the garden.

Is there a down-side? Well only that when assembled the blocks will make a foot-square pile that's 28 inches high (think medium sized kitchen stool).

Oh! and another thing; we reverse folded some of the bricks (easy) to expose bare cardboard ... Paints? Felt pens? ... Oh yes! it's another dimension and later they can then be returned to standard-brick sanity after Banksy has gone to bed!

If you have the space then these blocks are great fun and in the very end they can go off and be recycled. Marvellous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Stacking bricks is one of the simplest early activities, enormously important for developing motor skills and in the case of my children an activity they return to again and again

As always with Melissa & Doug, these are very well made, and they have been thoughtful with the mix of colours and sizes, making it a perfect set.

The most fun bit for me was building all the boxes - the are each made from a single piece of cut and scored cardboard, and are really cleverly designed, with internal structure for strength. Fold, tuck, align, fold, tuck again and done. Lovely.

Can't find a single negative. Five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)