Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now
Mehul : Stratonice has been added to your Basket
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £6.99

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Mehul : Stratonice
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Mehul : Stratonice

2 customer reviews

Price: £7.37 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
Does not apply to gift orders. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
27 new from £3.94 1 used from £3.95
£7.37 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 5 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Product details

  • Conductor: William Christie
  • Composer: Etienne-Nicolas Mehul
  • Audio CD (12 Oct. 2009)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: CLASSICAL
  • ASIN: B002PZDL4K
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 192,587 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Méhul : Stratonice : Overture
2. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Ciel! ne sois point inexorable"" [Chorus]"
3. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Mes amis, retenez vos plaintes"" [Antiochus]"
4. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Ciel! ne sois point inexorable"" [Chorus]"
5. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""J'échappe enfin à leur foule importune"" [Antiochus]"
6. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Insensé, je forme des souhaits"" [Antiochus]"
7. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Mon cher Antiochus"" [Séleucus, Antiochus]"
8. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Quelle funeste envie!"" [Séleucus] ""Ah! gardez vos trésors"" [Antiochus]"
9. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""A mes conseils, unissez votre voix"" [Séleucus, Stratonice, Antiochus] ""Seigneur, Erasistrate arrive en ce moment"" [Séleucus, Stratonice, Antiochus, A Guard]"
10. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Seigneur, prenez soin de vos jours"" [Stratonice, Antiochus]"
11. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Qu'ai-je entendu?"" [Antiochus, Erasistrate]"
12. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Parlez. Achevez de m'apprendre"" [Erasistrate, Antiochus]"
13. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Je ne puis résister à mon impatience"" [Séleucus, Erasistrate, Antiochus]"
14. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Je tremble, mon coeur palpite"" [Stratonice, Erasistrate, Antiochus, Séleucus]"
15. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Seigneur, allez au temple"" [Erasistrate, Séleucus, Stratonice]"
16. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Seigneur, on croit que ma présence"" [Stratonice, Antiochus]"
17. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Eh! bien, Seigneur, que faut-il que j'espère"" [Erasistrate, Stratonice, Antiochus] ""Ils s'aiment"" [Erasistrate]"
18. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Sur le sort de son fils"" [Erasistrate]"
19. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Le Roi s'avance, il faut dissimuler"" [Erasistrate, Séleucus]"
20. "Méhul : Stratonice : ""Vous mon fils, approchez"" [Séleucus, Stratonice, Antiochus, Erasistrate]"
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Product Description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Kicek&Brys on 17 Jan. 2002
Format: Audio CD
In 1816, the great German writer and music critic E.T.A. Hoffmann wrote of Mehul's operas: "Serious, dignified, harmonically rich and thoughtfully fashioned, they should not be allowed to disappear from the stage". Sadly however, Hoffmann's advice was not followed in the twentieth century and nowadays they have vanished almost completely, despite being admired by (and influencing) Beethoven, Wagner, Berlioz and Weber. French opera in general has been rather neglected on disc compared to its German and Italian counterparts, and whole areas have been left to gather dust on the shelves. The era between the retirement of Gluck and the emergence of Berlioz (roughly 1780 - 1825) has been particularly badly ignored, really only represented in the mainstream repertoire by Cherubini's "Medee" in a mangled Italian version which attempts to turn it into a bel canto opera. Now, with the appearance of "Stratonice", Francophiles at last have the chance to hear a real rarity.
Etienne Nicolas Mehul, along with his friend Luigi Cherubini, was the most important French composer of the Revolutionary era. "Stratonice", a one-act work from 1792, is a short example of the most popular genre of the time, 'opera comique' (though this work is not in the least bit comic - the phrase simply means it has spoken dialogue, and rather a lot of it, between the arias). The story, set in ancient Syria, concerns Prince Antiochus, who is secretly in love with his father the king's, fiancee, Stratonice. The king can't understand why his son is pining away but the canny doctor, Erasistratus, finds out the truth and everything is resolved happily. Mehul was a pupil of Gluck and the older composer's influence clearly shows in the cool, classical chorus which opens the work.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Joan on 9 July 2013
Format: Audio CD
Can anyone help and tell me where the libretto of this opera could be found? The web page the CD indicates does not seem to work anymore. Thanks.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Great music! 26 Dec. 2011
By Gabriel - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This a fantastic work, great conducting from William Christie on the period instrument orchestra and the cast is top notch. My only complain about this specific edition is that as happens in most reissued editions the words, and translations, won't come along within the booklet. Rather there's a web link included on the booklet where you can get the words... but it's not from the official recording company webpage nor does it have a translation into english. You'll get only the french text. This is a major issue about many reissued recordings... is it really necessary to save on paper to lower the price only a little bit? I'd rather pay some more and have the full libretto with the original text and english translation printed on the booklet. That's not an intelligent tactic to fight the illegal digital music distribution. I'm giving four stars only because of that. For the music and performance it's an easy five stars.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category