Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Me Original recording remastered, Extra tracks

Price: £4.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
35 new from £3.47

Frequently Bought Together

Me + Sandie + Love Me, Please Love Me
Price For All Three: £14.97

Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (8 April 2013)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Original recording remastered, Extra tracks
  • Label: Union Square Music Limited
  • ASIN: B00BB5OL4Y
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 60,558 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. You Don't Love Me No More
2. I Don't Need That Kind of Lovin'
3. Down Dismal Ways
4. Oh No He Don't
5. When I Was A Child
6. Do You Mind
7. (You Don't Know) How Glad I Am
8. I Know
9. Till The Night Begins To Die
10. Too Bad You Don't Want Me
11. One Day
12. When I Fall In Love
13. Message Understood
14. Don't You Count On It
15. How Can You Tell
16. If Ever You Need Me
17. Tomorrow
18. Hurting You
19. Nothing Comes Easy
20. Stop Before You Start
See all 24 tracks on this disc

Product Description

In just one extraordinary year Sandie Shaw had gone from being Adam Faith's teenage discovery to being acclaimed as The Barefoot Contessa of The Top Twenty with a string of major hit singles to her name. An established teen icon and growing up fast, Sandie's second LP (indeed, her second LP of 1965) saw her take significant strides in the studio, recording more demanding material and, for the first time, one of her own compositions Till The Night Begins To Die. Also included on this reissue are the non-album singles and their flip sides recorded between September 1965 and November 1966. You can hear Sandie's ability to generate real pathos on tracks like If Ever You Need Me, Run and Think Sometimes About Me, where she demonstrated how well she was able to interpret and live inside a lyric. Record companies moved swiftly in the '60s. For Sandie in retrospect it must have seemed like clinging to a painted pony on a musical carousel that never stopped. She was up and down the charts constantly. When one hit single sunk out of the Top Twenty chart it was considered expedient to have the next one ready and off she would totter for another whirlwind tour of the UK or Europe. It was heavy workload but it resulted in an awful lot of good recordings - in several different languages.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer TOP 500 REVIEWER on 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase
This is an excellent re-issue of Sandie Shaw's 2nd album in digi-pak form (61.58mins). It has excellent sound quality (which has been remastered). The cd comes with a 16 page colour booklet that has some great images of Sandie and very good and sometimes humorous liner notes. The first 12 tracks are the original album as released in 1965 and in my opinion is much better than her debut album. It contains 6 tracks written by the tremendously talented Chris Andrews and one written by Sandie herself. Overall, the first two tracks - 'You don't love me no more' & 'I don't need that kind of lovin' are both very good as is the ballad 'One Day' the rest are still quite good with the exception of an awful cover of 'When I fall in love' at the end of the album. (7.5/10). The bonus tracks are all great, they're the next 6 A & B sides (1965 - 66) which are either very good or top class (all of which were written (except 1 'Hide all emotions written by Marty Wilde) by Chris Andrews. 'Tomorrow/Hurting You' (mono) is a truly outstanding 45rpm. This is a great value for money re-issue by Salvo. 9/10. Buy it and enjoy.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Verified Purchase
It's great that this early album of Sandie Shaw has been released again on CD, as the last time I heard it was when I bought the old LP version, as a teenager, which was a long, long time ago. It's great to hear it again sounding so fresh as if it was recorded yesterday and what an amazing singer Sandie is.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Peter Durward Harris #1 HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWER on 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase
The second in a series of five covering Sandie's sixties music, this CD begins with the 12 tracks from one of her original albums, then adds a further 12 bonus tracks, these having been released originally as A and B sides of singles. If you are only familiar with Sandie's hits, some of the other music may come as a shock, so you might want to listen to samples before committing yourself if you have doubts.

Perhaps surprisingly, Sandie's hits nearly all occurred between 1964 and 1969, and some of those hits were only minor hits. Within the last 12 tracks here, you'll find Message understood, Tomorrow (both top 10 hits), Nothing comes easy (a top 20 hit), three other hits and the B-sides for all six.

The first 12 tracks feature an entire album, originally titled Me, which avoided anything released as the A or B sides of singles. The most famous song here is, of course, When I fall in love. Originally recorded by Jeri Southern, the song became an American top 20 hit for Doris Day, but the song aroused British interest later in the fifties via Nat King Cole's cover version. Sandie re-interprets the song in her own distinctive style, so I'm not surprised that some people dislike it. For me, re-interpretations of familiar songs are always interesting, even when I don't like them. In tis case, I love what Sandie did with the song, but it is likely that I'll always prefer Jeri's original version to any other.

Anybody who is truly a fan of Sandie's music (and not just a fan of her hits) will enjoy this a album. A lot of people, including some who apparently call themselves Sandie Shaw fans, should check those samples before buying.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category