Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2002
AN IN DEPTH AND INVALUABLE REFERENCE FOR DIETITIANS AND NUTRITIONISTS. A GUIDE ALSO FOR THE FOOD MANUFACTURING INDUSTRY WHERE THIS BOOK HELPS IN LISTING OVER 30 DIFFERENT SOURCES OF PROXIMATES AND CONSTITUENTS IN HUNDREDS OF DIFFERENT INGREDIENTS. A MUST FOR THE FOOD INDUSTRY!
11 comment29 of 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
Book is exactly what I expected helped with my degree course work... Helps with daily counts for nutritional values
If you are looking for a book that has every food sample in then this is definitely the one to go for
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
Book is very expensive but i needed it for my course, its ok but doenst give you everything you need, most of the foods i needed to look up werent in it!
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
This McCance and Widdowson publication is like the Holy Bible of nutrition and is a must have for nutrition students. It contains the macronutrient, micronutrient and bioavailability values for a wealth of specific foods and drinks. If you are reading nutrition and do not have this book I strongly recommend you buy this. It will assist you for the rest of your career.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2009
Used by dietitians throughout Britain, this book is the ultimate guide to the nutritional content of food including macro nutrients, trace elements, vitamins and fibre for a wide range of basic foodstuffs. Scientific methods of analysis are used to produce the results.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
I bought this item as I used to work in a food testing and research laboratory, which looked at composition of food stuffs. However, I shall soon ne embarking on a paid training placement at a county council owned scientific services lab, where food composition is part of the testing they do, and compositional analysis of food products, to check whether or not they meet the specitied requirements of trading standards. This book will come in handy when i start the paid training placement. I would highly recommend the book to anyone who works in the food science industry, dietetics and other nutritional related disciplines.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2010
I brought this as nutrition undergraduate... um whats there to say it does what its suppose to do. It has it flaws but it can't list everything and be specific, it is only just a guide. Needs updating.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
Awaiting a 7th edition as is missing some new foods which have been introduced since 2002.
Great book though.
Good to buy with in the Amazon (UK) deal of food portion sizes and UK DRV's as are all useful together.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
The only place I could find a detailed listing of the micro & macro nutrients of foods. There is more to life than carbs, fats and proteins.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Anyone who is doing a nutrition course at uni must have this book! Its interesting and very easy to understand!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.