Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2009
I found 'Mastering Public Health' an invaluable revision resource when preparing for the Faculty of Public Health Part A membership examination.

The book is excellently structured to follow the Faculty of Public Health Part A syllabus. This was a sensible choice by the authors because it ensures the book serves as a great 'dip in and out of resource' which can be used to guide and support revision into different sections of the syllabus.

The authors state "our aim throughout the book has been to strike a balance somewhere between brief lecture notes and a full-prose text book." The book definitely leans more to the former, which is no bad thing, because it keeps it relatively concise and each chapter comes with a list of 'further reading' so it is always clear to the reader where to go to gain more in-depth knowledge of a subject.

I hope there will be subsequent editions of this excellent book which keep abreast of developments in Public Health as well as reflect any changes made by the Faculty of Public Health to the Part A examination syllabus.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2010
I bought this book shortly after securing a place on the Public Health Specialty Training Program. I was looking for a book that could provide an overview of the information needed to pass the Part A exams. I must say this book has proven to be quite valuable. Having completed a Masters in Public Health, the concepts were quite easy to understand. It may not work as well for indivuduals who are just starting the Masters, as the book's explanatory style is not exactly beginners level. A good book, all the same.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2012
Increasingly known as "the red book", this is a fairly comprehensive textbook for the MFPH Part A examination. The coverage is not perfect, and further reading is probably required in some areas, and there are a few glaring errors in this book, so it cannot be relied upon alone as a sole study-guide for the exam. I understand that a second edition is in production, which should hopefully tackle some of these problems, though I would still be very wary about relying on a single book - especially when it is a book used by most people and well-known to the examiners. It's important to emphasise that this is only a revision book, not a book that will tell you everything you need to know to pass the exam. It covers the important points, but I think that wider reading, knowledge and experience is required to do well at Part A.

All of that said, it is the best available single book for MFPH revision. If you use this alongside the curriculum, the Faculty's extensive bank of past questions, do some of the suggested further reading, and pick up bits and pieces from your own experience and education, then I don't think you can go too far wrong for revision purposes. I'd suggest keeping a copy of something like Statistics at Square One to hand, as the statistics section in particular contains a number of errors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2009
Excellent book. Focus on the right content.
Book best available for MFPH exam prepartion.
Dr. Muhammad Imran Omar.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
I was told this book was the gospel for people taking the part A exam. How wrong I was to purchase it. The book, if you can call it a book, is just a load of bullet points. There is nothing to actually read. It reads like a printed syllabus or something. It is a waste of money and a really rubbish, unhelpful item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2010
This book is a paricularly good overview of the rather unwieldy syllabus for MFPH Part A. This book is probably best used to familiarise yourself with the concepts that you need to know for the exam (and public health practice in general), however you may need to do some further reading to ensure that all your bases are covered. That being said, this book does give good pointers on where to head for additional information.

The one word of warning that I would give is that some of the statistical and epidemiological formulae enclosed are not entirely accurate - so make sure that you've got a good statistics and epidemiology book to hand.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
This is a great overview, covering most aspects necessary guidance on where to find more in-depth information (if required). A good, concise overview, and good as a revision guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
Very helpful and useful lots of good information. I have used it for several pieces of work and it has proven to be of good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)