Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars40
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2009
I really can't fault this. I am a professional photographer, but one is always experimenting and practicing, and it's always good to see how other people do it.
Considering the plethora of books on this subject around, and the fact that most of them are either a) directed at newbies/amateurs. or b) just generally misinformed, rubbish, or both, this one hits the nail on the head. It works both for beginners and advanced users, and explains in simple terms what is needed to produce the right effect. It doesn't rely on jargon, and is well laid out and uses good examples accompanied by both photos and diagrams. We've had enough "idiots guides", this is simply a practical guide - thoroughly thumbs up.

It's a really good reference manual without getting too heavy, and I refer back to it regularly. If you have any interest at all in studio photography, this is the one book you need.
0Comment|84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2009
Very easy to read, a lot of images and diagrams to describe how lights can change images and subjects. Clearly marked lighting equipment makes easier to set up yourself in studios.
This book is quite thin but a lot of information for you to carry around in case you need another lighting. This book just works. Worth having it with you.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
For anyone who has just bought studio lights and is asking themselves "ok, what do I do with these then?" - this is the book for you. It is an excellent grounding in how to use artificial lighting to create stunning and beautiful effects. The book goes on to explain - in plain English, how to paint with light and create depth in your shots. This, for me, is the key element in creating a shot which stands out from the crowd. Although the book looks somewhat 'dated', the content is exceptional in terms of getting across the fundamental rules necessary to embark on studio shoots. The examples lend themselves well to illustrating what the author is trying to convey. Don't get me wrong, you can't just pick up this book and expect to open a studio a week later. The book tells you how to do it - but leaves it up to you to practice and apply. It's a great refrence to keep in your bag. You will find yourself re-visiting it time and again.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2006
I'm an amateur photographer and doing this for more than 7 years but mostly I do outdour photography. This book was really helpfull for me, since I had not so much knowledge in indoor photography. Before that I didn't know anything about calculation of light which comes from several sources, what kinds of light are and how they can be combined and so on.

I do recommend this book to anyone who had no or not so many knowledge in indoor lighting and wants to have some basics and start making some nice (at least well lighted) portraits.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
Setting my first steps into studio photography, it's not always clear and easy to sort out which light(source) to use. Terms like softbox, snoot, umbrella, beauty disc, strip light...etc are relatively new to me.
My main expectation for this book was to provide me with some solid and clear examples of how to set-up light and which light to use.
I was not dissapointed; first the book gives a brief description of several lightsources and then moves on to several styles of studio photography (not all but thats virtually impossible).
A real delight was the possibility to see the same picture taken with different lightsources for you to judge which one is the best. Also clear diagrams how to use the different lightsources and props.

When writing this review I was a second year photography student.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
Despite being a little dated in look and feel, this book had everything going for it, but doesn't quite hit the spot. In terms of positives, it has lots of little pictures showing the same model lit under different conditions, different chapters covering lots of topics and lots of technical information. However, the book has two significant problems... Firstly, there is no real "flow" to the book - although it starts well, covering the basics, it jumps about from there on, instead of keeping up a steady "story". It is less of a course in lighting and more of a series of essays. The second problem is more signifncant in that a lot of the techniques just aren't explained particularly well - lots of technical jargon right from the start, which is quite difficult to wade through all done in a very dry style. You find yourself having to re-read paragraphs, just to understand what is going on. This isn't good enough writing, as everything should be 100% clear, even to a relative novice.

However, if you take be book as a series of photographs with explanations as to how they were achieved then it is probably worth the money. However, if you are looking for a real lighting course, I'd look elsewhere...
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
Expert advice, well presented and in a logical order. The technical terms used - kept to a minimum - are all explained in simple language. Perfect if you have a lot to learn but not much time to learn it in.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
I've had a large amount of studio lighting now for 10 years, I've never really put it to much use and when I did I only used a couple of brollies against a white or black background and my pictures, although acceptable, were very flat looking. What this book does is take the novice through the fundamentals of lighting ratios and onto setting up different lights and modifiers for various effects. It's all clearly set out with lighting diagrams, exposure settings, camera angles, and model angles and poses. A very well written book by someone who knows what he is doing and has given a good explanation on how he attains his results and leaves it to the reader to not only try out his ideas but to experiment with ones own ideas. A very worthwhile read and although the book is a bit on the thin size it is packed with useful information.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2010
This book explains some very complex and advanced lighting techniques, and it does so pretty well. However it will be of limited use (if at all) to someone starting out with a basic two-lamp starter kit. The vast majority of the examples require comprehensive studio equipment to re-create. Some use as many as half a dozen light sources, together with specialised reflectors.

A high level of knowledge is assumed, which was not a problem for me because I already know (for instance) how to use a lightmeter to measure flash exposure and also I fully understand the concept of exposure values. This may however be a problem for others of limited experience. The explanation of each technique starts with a broad brush of the basics but then the learning curve exponentially rises as the book moves quickly on to adding more and more lights and equipment. Unless you have access to such equipment, you will not get past the basic starting phase of each project.

This book will probably be an invaluable reference for the experienced studio photographer who has access to a proper studio and a comprehensive set of gear. It is however, not much use to someone who is working with a portable "studio" consisting of a basic two-light setup.
33 comments|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2010
I enjoyed and am still enjoying the wisdom in this book thanks for the information
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)