Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
69
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2007
Having read all of the Halo novels and enjoyed them, I decided to buy Mass Effect: Revelation from Amazon seeing as I'm really looking forward to the forthcoming video game later this year.

This book initially focuses on establishing the backbone of the universe, explaining and detailing to the reader the situation in the galaxy, mankind's massive technological evolution and it's introduction onto the galactic stage that it shares with many other species. Once the groundwork is laid, it opens up into it's own narrative that concentrates on a few central characters and tells a story which is a small piece of a much larger puzzle.

It's a light and easy read, although it manages to be descriptive and interesting. It's not particularly emotional, although I thought there were some cool moments in it that will very much appease fans of the type of game it's based on.

I would recommend it to anybody who has enjoyed books based on video games before, or to those wishing to get a little bit of insight into BioWare's next massive fictional world. It doesn't take long to read, so it's not a major time investment and it's enjoyable and entertaining while it lasts.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I don't recommend reading the book before finishing the videogame because it will ruin the last plot twist but, if you've just finished it, it gives some explanations about Captain Anderson and Saren's past.
It also gives more of what we already like in the game: the description of the Citadel, the combat sequences, they have the same pace. Specially the first part reminds me of the mission where I had to rescue Liara.
About the writing style, maybe it is not the best or most elegant I've seen in a book, but it works for entertainment.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2011
Really enjoyed this prequel to the first Mass Effect game, it gives a lot more background to Anderson and Saren. I would like to go back and play the game again having now read this book. A must buy for any Mass Effect fan
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2010
If you are a fan of Mass Effect games, you are going to love this book. Its a well written story about what happens before the first Mass Effect game, about humanity and their relationship with other species and their integration in the Citadel space. And in the foreground story there is a thrilling adventure with a great sense of mistery that will be cleared through the reading advances.

I cannot do another thing that recommend this book, not only to fans, but to people that like science fiction books. Be aware that the chances that you get hooked up with the story and buy a copy of the Mass Effect game for PC or XBox are too high after reading this book...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
"Mass Effect: Revelation" is meant for the hardcore Mass Effect fan! If you're looking for a good sci-fi novel, this is not the book you want. Its a simple story on a very interesting universe that sadly does not come alive in the book as it does in the videogame. To be perfectly honest for the non fan this book will hold little value or entertainment. However if you've spent hundreds of hours on the ME trilogy, as I have, this is very interesting and highly enjoyable. The book explores Saren and his "renegade" style deeply and we get to read how he came to know Anderson and found Sovereign! If you have no idea how important this is, again this is not the book for you. If you know what i'm talking about, read on! Also present is Kahlee Sanders who appears on Grissom Academy in ME3 as is Grissom himself. The book is filled with little treats to the loyal and fanatic ME follower and is the true start to the franchise, something any real fan cannot afford to miss! The writing is simple but effective and the action is plenty and bloody! The only fault I would point in the book from a fan's point of view is that Anderson is not really explored beyond a crush on Kahlee and his strong sense of duty! He comes across as a weak hero and severely lacking dimension and charisma. Of course my opinion is tainted by seeing Anderson over three games and already having a strong and very positive view of his character which only makes the Anderson from the book suffer even more by comparison. Saren is the real focus of the book and his road to Sovereign the payoff for the reader and fan. As a fan ME: Revelation was an enjoyable, compulsive read, giving me exactly what I wanted as a completely hardcore, obsessive ME universe lover. Looked at as a literary work this is a simple tale without much to recommend which probably wont even make someone unfamiliar with the franchise to go out and find the game! For anyone who knows what destroy, synthesis and control means, it is unmissable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
As a big fan of Mass Effect I was interested to see if the game would translate into a book and if the characters would come to life as they do when your playing the game. I also wanted to see how the book would rate compared to other science fiction novels, as I've read a lot of them. I must admit I was a bit concerned it just wouldn't add up but I was wrong.

Revelation follows the story of a young Lieutenant Anderson, who if you are familiar with the games plays a significant role. The book and story is surprisingly good, the characters are well rounded and authentic and it actually reads like a normal science fiction story, you could just pick this up without any prior knowledge and enjoy it.

The other characters are written very well and the story allows you to easily 'see' them in your mind as you are reading, which after playing the games is great. I would highly recommend this especially to all Mass Effect fans but also to readers of the genre as a whole, it's surprisingly very good, I'm now on book two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
The only reason i finished this book is because i am a huge Mass Effect fan, but now that i have i wished i hadnt. The writing is quite juvenile, horribly overdescriptive (you could problably drop 100 pages of it) and quite lackluster. It feels more like a screenplay rather than a novel, trying to "describe" huge action set-pieces of falling debree against what everyone who knows this universe are complete 100% plot-armored characters completely destroying the illusion of danger. DO NOT READ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 July 2011
As a video game tie-in, this is surprisingly good. The writing is to a decent standard and it goes some way to fleshing out the characters of Anderson and Saren from Mass Effect 1 (the game).

The book's plot covers a few events mentioned in the game and pretty much leads up to the beginning of Mass Effect's story. Drew Karpyshyn, one of Bioware's writers, takes the opportunity to use the book to explain a fair bit of the Mass Effect universe, especially humanity's recent arrival in it. This does bog down a bit early on as he goes into too much detail on interstellar communications and the like, but the pace picks up in the second half of the book.

One area not covered is how English is the standard spoken language of the entire galaxy...I would have loved an explanation for that one. A lot of time is also spent on Alliance hero Admiral Grissom in the early chapters, but then he is left behind by the story and never heard from again, which seemed a little odd.

But overall, it's exciting stuff which remains faithful to the ME style and is a good companion to the games. I shall be checking out further books in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
This is an essential read for any Mass Effect fan.

Drew Karpyshyn knows the ME universe well and he's a talented writer. His narrative style of switching character perspective throughout the story is implemented well here and helps to push the plot forward with rarely any dull parts in between.

This book serves as a back story to the ME universe and some of its main character who are in the games. While I feel my love of the game series and related material may be making me a bit bias, I think it would also appeal to sci-fi lovers in general without the need for supplementary content, such as the video games.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who is into sci-fi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
ok so i never give out 5 stars as i have yet to read a book that is perfect in every way but saying that this book is pretty darn good.

so additional info Revelation is set about 20 years before the first Mass Effect game and leads into ME1's story giving us some nice lore and background stuff that never comes up in any of the games or is skimmed over as we didn't really need to know about it at the time and while i spotted some of the story coming a mile off it was still a fun read.

if you're a fan of the Mass effect setting then i'd say this is a must read, if you're not a fan of the games i'd still say this stands up well as a close to reality sci fi story.

bottom line ied recommend it to a friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.