Start reading Mary & Elizabeth on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Mary & Elizabeth
 
 

Mary & Elizabeth [Kindle Edition]

Emily Purdy
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (46 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.99
Kindle Price: £2.62 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.37 (67%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.62  
Paperback £6.39  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Review

Praise for Mary & Elizabeth:

‘An enjoyable historical read.’ Closer Book Club

Product Description

Two sisters: united by blood, divided by the crown…

Mary and Elizabeth is an unforgettable story of a powerful love affair that changed the course of history, perfect for fans of The Tudors and Philippa Gregory.

They shared childhood memories and grown-up dreams…

Mary was England's precious jewel, the surviving child of the tumultuous relationship between Henry VIII and Catherine of Aragon. However, when Henry fell passionately in love with the dark-eyed Anne Boleyn, he cast his wife and daughter aside.

Henry and Anne's union sees the birth of Elizabeth. Mary is soon declared a bastard, stripped of all royal privileges, performing the lowliest tasks. But, there is something about Elizabeth. And Mary soon grows to love her like a sister.

After the passage of three years, and Anne Boleyn's execution, Henry can no longer bear the sight of his female heir. With the birth of a son, Edward, both Mary and Elizabeth seem destined for oblivion. But as history will show, fate had something far more elaborate in store…


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 645 KB
  • Print Length: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Avon (9 Jun 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00563K2M2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (46 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #22,750 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Emily Purdy (Brandy Purdy in the USA) is the author of the historical novels THE CONFESSION OF PIERS GAVESTON, THE TUDOR WIFE (THE BOLEYN WIFE in the USA), and MARY & ELIZABETH (THE TUDOR THRONE in the USA). An ardent book lover since early childhood, she first became interested in history at the age of nine or ten years old when she read a book of ghost stories which contained a chapter about Anne Boleyn haunting the Tower of London. You can follow her, and her cat Tabby, via her blog at http://brandypurdy.blogspot.com or on Facebook as Brandy Purdy - Emily Purdy.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad. 10 Aug 2011
Format:Paperback
It shows how desperate I was for anything new to read on the Tudors that I bought this as I still have nightmares over the Tudor Wife.The previous reviewers are spot on with their criticisms about the obsession with sex...and honey...and sex...however I did quite enjoy this. Some of the descriptions are good and I found Mary's appraisal of Elizabeth at the end rather moving. I do accept the Seymour episode as it's clear that something occurred which Elizabeth was resourceful enough to survive, though the portrayal of her with Philip of Spain is really hard to believe...I don't think Elizabeth would have been so blatant, she was intent on preserving her life.

If you can suspend some disbelief, it's good enough as a holiday read, it passed a few hours entertainingly.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
By Iset TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
Before I get into the review proper, for the benefit of of fellow Amazon customers I just want to highlight the fact that this novel is also published under the title The Tudor Throne under the author's real name Brandy Purdy.

I rather felt that "Mary & Elizabeth" had its good points and bad points, and they actually balanced each other out, resulting in a fairly mediocre, middle-of-the-road book. I thought the premise was interesting, the focus on their relationship in the early years up to Elizabeth's accession, and the idea that despite their differing ideological, political and personal backgrounds their dynamic simply as sisters had a significant impact on their other roles to each other. Writing alternate chapters from one sister's point of view and then the other's was an interesting way of exploring these questions, but writing it in first person? The risk in using first person is that historical figures are wonderfully and horribly complex to nail down, and it's a feat rarely pulled off. Mary and Elizabeth in this novel are interesting and entertaining characters, but they're not true to life, in my opinion. I felt that the language and writing skill Purdy displayed was competent, and there were moments in particular that I really enjoyed, such as her description of the masque of flowers and the wares of "the Cakes and Ale Man".

However, for me there were a few negative points as well. Here and there certain sentences, usually describing a character's attire, went on and on and they're rather unwieldy. Also, there were certain words and phrases that were anachronistic.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious 4 Mar 2012
By Thalia
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is basically soft porn with a bit of historical inaccuracy thrown in. Not recommended reading - there are much better historical novels available.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate and sensationalist 22 Sep 2011
By Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback
History is written by the victors as the old saying goes but I'd like to add an extension to this: and historical fiction writers to suit their own purposes. What Elizabeth Purdy creates here is vastly inaccurate, has major problems with its timelines and of course sadly is pure sensationalism with a good smattering of sex included for no real reason but to titillate the reader.

Add to this problems with the perspective of the stories main two protagonists (as it's told from Elizabeth and Mary's first person point of view) and it's sadly something that whilst OK, is not something startling or a title that stands out from the masses of titles out there. Finally add to the mix major problems with what's gone before including lack of research and the story really falls far short of what I was hoping for.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely diabolical. 17 Aug 2011
Format:Paperback
I had to have this book forcibly removed from my hands because it was enraging me so much.

I would really question whether the author has any historical knowledge at all, especially regarding the customs and etiquette of the Tudor court.

The plot is just one sensational, over-the-top and holy inaccurate event after another.

I think that the most accurate part of the book is the title.

Terribly written and with a complete disregard of any truth. I appreciate that a writer of historical fiction needs to use a little artistic license in order to further a plot, but this is absolutely diabolical and bordering on the ridiculous.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, please no more from this author 1 Jan 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
I would hesitate before getting any more books by this author, this was completely spoilt by the bodice ripping scenes which other reviewers have described, and also the rendition of Cakes and Ales which was completely unnecessary and put me off reading any more of this dreadful book.

I have to say that I was not expecting this book to be so graphic in its descriptions of sex, I was unprepared for that and did not like it at all in the book.

I also hesitate to wonder whether the author has done any research at all into the Tudor Court, I certainly shall not be keeping this book and will be consigning it to the charity shop this year, there are much better historical fiction books on the market, and I am sorry to say that I became seduced by the cover and failed to look beyond the first few pages.

If I could give no stars to this product I would do, but I give one star reluctantly in this case.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
great thanks
Published 3 months ago by Ms Morag A Baillie
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read.
If you are interested in Tudor history you will enjoy this book, it's very detailed, I found it a very good read. Phyllis Lloyd
.
Published 3 months ago by phyllis Lloyd
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Well researched and very well put across. I couldn't put it down.
Published 3 months ago by sunshine
3.0 out of 5 stars Holiday read
A bit of a fanciful account of this relationship and period in our history but I still enjoyed it. !
Published 5 months ago by Mrs Anna P Dale
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Great read loved it
Published 5 months ago by anita t eccleston
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting take on the two queens
I quite enjoyed this tale which provided a different side to the old hat stuff we usually get about the two queens. Half-sisters, years apart, this was a different look. Read more
Published 6 months ago by Liz Bailey
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
Cool but Elizabeth did not keep her promise.. which I think is not fair for mary since she's got a true faith
Published 7 months ago by K. Grayson
4.0 out of 5 stars great read
really enjoyed this book Have read a few of her books and have enjoyed each one i have read..looking forward to the next one
Published 10 months ago by JEAN BIRCH
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary and elizabeth
another great book to read, the battle between the two girls is quite scarey. but interesting and at times very touching
Published 11 months ago by Mrs C.A. Buckley
3.0 out of 5 stars Started off a bit slow
But not for long....obviously we don't know the thoughts of Mary and Elizabeth but with this book we can easily imagine we do. Read more
Published 11 months ago by Samantha SC
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category