Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now
Ave Maris Stella, Magnifi... has been added to your Basket
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by dolandaka
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: one very slight mark to surface, very good throughout, posted quickly by reliable uk seller
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £7.99

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Ave Maris Stella, Magnificat (Nichols, Bourne, Pryce)
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Ave Maris Stella, Magnificat (Nichols, Bourne, Pryce)

1 customer review

Price: £16.11 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
Does not apply to gift orders. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations.
Only 14 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
10 new from £6.91 3 used from £8.68
£16.11 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 14 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Ave Maris Stella, Magnificat (Nichols, Bourne, Pryce)
  • +
  • Cecilia McDowall - Laudate, Five Seasons, Radnor Songs
  • +
  • Stabat Mater (Vass, Broadbent)
Total price: £61.48
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Orchestra: Orchestra Nova
  • Conductor: George Vass
  • Composer: Cecilia McDowall
  • Audio CD (1 Nov. 2004)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Epoch British Music
  • ASIN: B0006AZOZA
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 36,961 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Song Title Time Price
  1. Ave maris stella11:52£0.99  Buy MP3 
  2. Magnificat: I. Magnificat 5:48£0.99  Buy MP3 
  3. Magnificat: II. Ecce enim ex hoc beatum 3:18£0.99  Buy MP3 
  4. Magnificat: III. Quia fecit mihi magna 4:05£0.99  Buy MP3 
  5. Magnificat: IV. Et misericordia 3:41£0.99  Buy MP3 
  6. Magnificat: V. Fecit potentiam 4:00£0.99  Buy MP3 
  7. Magnificat: VI. Deposuit Potentes 4:42£0.99  Buy MP3 
  8. Christus natus est: I. Personent hodie 3:12£0.99  Buy MP3 
  9. Christus natus est: II. Entre le boeuf et l'âne gris 3:16£0.99  Buy MP3 
10. Christus natus est: III. Gaudete! 2:35£0.99  Buy MP3 
11. Christus natus est: IV. Infant Holy, Infant Lowly 2:36£0.99  Buy MP3 
12. Christus natus est: V. Angelus ad Virginem 3:32£0.99  Buy MP3 
13. A Fancy of Folksongs: I. Green Bushes 3:21£0.99  Buy MP3 
14. A Fancy of Folksongs: II. The Rambling Sailor 2:33£0.99  Buy MP3 
15. A Fancy of Folksongs: III. The Crystal Spring 2:54£0.99  Buy MP3 
16. A Fancy of Folksongs: IV. O, no John! 2:43£0.99  Buy MP3 

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful By "johnscottcree" on 28 May 2005
Format: Audio CD
These are the comments of one with a background in popular music who has enjoyed, as a camp follower, performances by his wife's local choir for several years.
There are four works on this CD. Three last for about 12 minutes and the more multi-structured "Magnificat" is about 25 minutes long.
The compositions are sympathetic to both performers and listener. The vocal range is neither too demanding nor too complex rhythmically, which suits the ears of this listener. There is no danger of rhythms sounding gimmicky or of melodic changes being made purely for effect; everything seems purposeful.
Being "sacred", much of the music has a spiritual quality. This may sound a truism, but the spirituality in these works transcends and is simultaneously enhanced by the use of the Latin texts, particularly in the first two works, "Ave maris stella" and "Magnificat". "Magnificat" is the longest work and features some demanding vocal harmonies which resolve happily. Orchestral accompaniment complements the vocals with subtlety. Individual instruments are given room to breathe - cello introduction is followed by oboe then violins. Bassoon (and bass or cello?) underscore the mezzo solo. Track 4 is a slow section, with subdued woodwind, which requires singers to hold long notes. If analogies are appropriate, please excuse my limited knowledge. Gorecki came to mind here, as did Bernstein in the more rhythmic preceding section, with interludes like a Shostakovich film score in track 2 and a Josquin motet after the soprano/mezzo duet. It seems good that a work should offer such diverse suggestions, yet retain its freshness and originality.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category