or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a 0.25 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) [Paperback]

Epictetus
4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
RRP: 7.99
Price: 6.81 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 1.18 (15%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 14 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback 6.81  
Audio Download, Unabridged 3.95
Trade In this Item for up to 0.25
Trade in A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 0.25, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Spend 30 and get Norton 360 21.0 - 3 Computers, 1 Year 2014 for 24.99. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) + Meditations (Penguin Classics) + Enchiridion (Dover Thrift Editions)
Price For All Three: 14.40

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 96 pages
  • Publisher: HarperOne (24 July 1995)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062511114
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062511119
  • Product Dimensions: 12.8 x 11.5 x 0.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 162,016 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Synopsis

Epictetus was for former Roman slave and great Stoic philosopher whose talks have been admired for more than 1500 years. Destined to be a rediscovered in the tradition of "The Art of War" and Baltasar Gracian's "The Art of Worldly Wisdom". "A Manual for Living" presents the essence of perennial stoic wisdom in aphorisms of insight and simplicity. This instruction book should interest readers with its contemporary and pragmatic reflections on how best to live with serenity and joy. This book is part of the "Little Books of Wisdom" series which offers inspiration, common sense, and perceptions on the big and not so big issues that concern everyone - from faith and feminism to nature, philosophy, literature, business and just getting through the day. The books illuminate daily living, the spiritual life, intellectual pursuits and the world around - all in all, a series which addresses life and how people live it.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
How do I live a happy, fulfilling life? Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
The thoughts of Epictetus need no recommendation. The original 'Encheridion', on which this is based, is rightly one of the most influential advice manuals ever written. This modern reworking takes some liberties with the language, but in a good cause. Sharon Lebell's approach to the text does an excellent job of making the relevance of the ideas to modern life even more glaringly apparent. If you feel confused and overwhelmed by the pressures of the contemporary world then start looking for your answers here. Living 1,900 years ago, Epictetus understood more about the art of living than the vast majority of people now alive. Here lies wisdom. Open wide and be refreshed.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reaffirmation of my philosophy 19 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
I received an edition for my birthday, and I just read it twice (only 81 pages), and it did give me an attitude adjustment...it is a philosophy of living, and I already kind of practice some its philosophies naturally somewhat anyway, but it assisted in allowing what I already practice, and enhanced my approach to other areas. It really inspired me though...so check it out! EPICTETUS was a ROMAN slave, and then became a teacher of his Philosophies from 45 A.D.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't live life without it! 17 Feb 2004
Format:Paperback
Simple, easy to understand and practical.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wealth of time-proof wisdom in your pocket 17 Feb 2011
Format:Paperback
A gem of a book that offers a wealth of thought and knowledge, condensed into a tiny book that fits in your back pocket. I have found this little book more useful and comforting than most of the volumes that grace the shelves in the philosophy section. I don't have the brilliant mind of a scholar, so this clear and 'to the point' translation is a revelation.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback