Managing Your Boss (Harvard Business Review Classics) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£5.99
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Managing Your Boss (Harva... has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Managing Your Boss (Harvard Business Review Classics) Paperback – 1 Feb 2008


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£5.99
£2.07 £2.04
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Trade In Promotion


Frequently Bought Together

Managing Your Boss (Harvard Business Review Classics) + Leading Change, With a New Preface by the Author
Price For Both: £21.99

One of these items is dispatched sooner than the other.

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 55 pages
  • Publisher: Harvard Business School Press (1 Feb. 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1422122883
  • ISBN-13: 978-1422122884
  • Product Dimensions: 16.8 x 11.9 x 0.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 423,616 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

About the Author

John J. Gabarro is the UPS Foundation Professor of Human Resource Management at Harvard Business School.

Now retired, John P. Kotter was the Konosuke Matsushita Professor Leadership at Harvard Business School.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Marcelo Landivar on 6 Dec. 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Everyone should read this book. We all have bosses and we need to learn to manage them, starting by realizing what "managing" a boss means, and it's not about manipulating her.

This is even more important if you work in a large organization, where complexity can quickly drive you out of track.

Only negative for me would be the format of this little booklet. This is a Harvard Review article that was forced into the format of a booklet. I would have very much preferred to buy the electronic version of the HBR article directly, which comes in a handy letter/A4 printable format. I bought the latter format for Peter Drucker's Managing Oneself and it is a much friendlier format.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 6 reviews
56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
Developing a good working relationship with your superior 31 Dec. 2001
By Gerard Kroese - Published on Amazon.com
Both authors are Professors at the Harvard Business School. This article was originally published in January-February 1980, this On-Point version includes a retrospective commentary and was published in January-February 1993. Both authors have written several books on general management, leadership, and human resource management.
The term 'managing your boss' means "the process of consciously working with your superior to obtain the best possible results for you, your boss, and the company." It does not refer to political maneuvering or apple polishing. In this article the authors explain by using both successful and unsuccessful boss-manager relationship how to develop a productive relationship with your boss. First, you need to understand your boss and his/her context. It is necessary to appreciate their goals and pressures, their strengths and weaknesses. But this is only one-half of the relationship, you also need to know your own needs, strengths and weaknesses, and personal style. "With a clear understanding of both your boss and yourself, you can usually establish a way of working together that fits both of you ..." The authors provide a short checklist for 'managing your boss', which is supplemented with a discussion on compatible work styles, mutual expectations, the information flow, dependability and honesty, and use of time and resources. The article is complemented with a retrospective commentary by the editors of the Harvard Business Review.
Lots of traditional management books discussed the importance of top-down management, but this article was one of the first to discuss the upward relationship between manager and boss. The article provides great insights, excellent practical advice, and uses good examples. It is no surprise that it has become one of the best-selling Harvard Business Review articles. I highly recommend it to leaders, managers, and MBA-students. The authors use simple US-English.
Too bad it offers very little by way of actual practice ... 16 Nov. 2014
By E. Sainio - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The versions I got simplified the length, shortening it to 10 pages and reprinting directly from the Harvard Business Review. It's not worth the expense of shipping, especially given that it sticks with generic advice (find out the boss' priorities, styles, and goals, and match up with them). Too bad it offers very little by way of actual practice or information beyond that.
not very helpful 31 May 2014
By Ivan - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Very few examples used
Did not speak on commonly faces problems and how to resolve them. I was expecting much more
Gear article 16 Mar. 2014
By J E OBRIEN JR - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Most people who have trouble with their boss don't know how to deal with it. Some assume that they are. too good to have the bad relationship hurt them. This book is constructive and gives excellent
examples.
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Digital Version is Short 7 Aug. 2009
By Green Bean - Published on Amazon.com
Beware-- the digital version is only 11 pages long. A similar version of this can be found FOR FREE online. The should be more clear about what they're offering. I had the impression I was buying the whole book.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category


Feedback