Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
I’d like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Mama Flora's Family: A Novel [Hardcover]

Alex Haley , David Stevens
4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Mass Market Paperback £4.83  
Audio, Cassette, Audiobook --  

Book Description

26 Oct 1998
In the tradition of "Roots" and "Queen, Mama Flora's Family" is a sweeping epic of contemporary American history, culled from the unpublished works of award-winning writer Alex Haley. It is the poignant story of three generations of an African-American family who start out as destitute sharecroppers in Tennessee. Mama Flora is the heart and strength of the family, shepherding her children through hard times after the murder of her husband by white land holders. She has passionate ambitions for her son Willie, but he dashes her dreams by abandoning his church-going roots and moving to Chicago. After fighting in the Second World War, he marries his childhood sweetheart and struggles to build a new urban life for his family. Flora's dreams are realized by Ruthana, her sister's child, whom Mama Flora adopts. Ruthana graduates from college, and as a social worker in Harlem, counsels underprivileged women. Through her love for the radical poet Ben, Ruthana begins to understand her heritage, and after a sojourn in Africa comes to a redemptive understanding of herself. In Chicago, Willie's twin son and daughter embrace Muslim militancy and Black Power, and eventually, drugs on their rocky road through the 1960s. Mama Flora struggles to maintain her family, but she also is caught up in the turbulent times. "Mama Flora's Family" is an American tale as dramatic and touching as anything Alex Haley ever wrote.
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed


Product details

  • Hardcover: 393 pages
  • Publisher: Prentice Hall & IBD; First Printing edition (26 Oct 1998)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0684834715
  • ISBN-13: 978-0684834719
  • Product Dimensions: 24.5 x 16.4 x 3.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 559,388 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing 11 Dec 2008
Format:Hardcover
This has to be one of my all time favourite books. I was immediately captivated by the heartfelt undertones that this book carried with it from start to finish. I really liked the way that history was incorporated into such a personal account. The backdrop of this story was set in a time where there were vast historical happenings. The main fact that this book was written from notes just portrays what an ingenious piece of prose that this story is. I would definitely recommend this book most highly.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellant read!!! 30 Dec 1998
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
I am an avid reader; this is one of the best books I have read in a long time!!!To write this novel from notes is great!!! It is a book for all races to read and enjoy and perhaps most of all learn from.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly touching book 8 Mar 2004
Format:Paperback
This book (like all Alex Haleys' books) is truly touching.
It is beautifully written, with a strong story line and characters.
A must read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By Bobbewig TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
At the center of Mama Flora's Family is the indomitable spirit of Mama Flora, the matriarch of an extraordinary family of destitute Tennessee sharecroppers. The characters are so real and believable it made this reader feel that I was right there with them experiencing all their trials and tribulations, as well as the joys. This book is much more than a poignant, hard-to-put-down story of a Mama Flora and her descendants from 1920 to the late 1990s. It, for the most part, effectively weaves into the plot much of what has transpired in American/African-American history during this time period (e.g., life for African-Americans in the South, the rise of the Civil Rights movement, the Black Panthers, the Nation of Islam, the Viet Nam war, political repression under Idi Amin, etc). Mama Flora's Family is a rich, resonant family novel that cuts across the barriers that divide us to touch the hearts of people of all races and backgrounds. I highly recommend this excellent, emotionally-packed posthumous novel written by David Stevens based on Alex Haley's notes and research.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
this book was well structured the writer stuck to his focus.i shared everything with this family in the book because i toohave gone through similiar times like these in life. it was one of the most heart warming stories i've read in a long time and the best part is that mama-flora did'nt die in the book.... thank you alex for another job well done,.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback