Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2007
I love this book; the romantic style of writing and stunning photography makes you want to travel immediately!
There is good coverage of the whole world, including a decent section on the UK, and includes a wide variety of experiences from hang-gliding in Rio de Janeiro to ghost-hunting in York, to camel riding in Oman, and it also includes festivals.
It is beautifully presented with stunning photography and has experiences arranged by country in the index which makes navigating the book easier. It also includes an appendix with a few lines of useful information about each experience, for example a website.

This book is not one that provides much practical information for planning a trip, but is perfect to give inspiration for where to go/what to do next!
11 comment|88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2008
This book is great, there is a big wide world out there and dipping into this when you have 5 minutes you are sure to find something to excite and interest you.

Obviously its not a guide book in the true sense but there are some fantastic sound bite nuggets in there that have inspired about 5 years worth of future holidays for me.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
I bought this book with some Amazon birthday vouchers and am nowhere near finishing it yet! It's one of those coffee table books that you pick up and dip into just because you see it there. My main criticism is that some of the writing is in coloured font on coloured backgrounds, so not all the reviews are easy to read. Still, that's not a reason to not buy it - so if you fancy exploring some new holiday destinations before you actually go there, buy this book...
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2009
I bought this book for my boyfriend for his 30th Birthday, he loves travelling and seeing new things. This book was perfect for him. It covers loads of different individual activities to do and they are all with in reach of the average holiday maker. Most travel books like this are only for the super adventurous or the avid backpacker. But this book has loads of activities that you can just do while you are out and about on holiday. I bought this book at the end of June and by August we already tried out two or three of the UK activities. Great book, interesting read and some fabulous ideas - even the kids can go on.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2008
This book is really well written and includes some amazing photos. As an individual who has travelled to many parts of the world it was fun to tick off some of the adventures as well as inspire further trips. What is also good is the adventures are varied so for the adrenalin junkies, there is the bungee jump featured in james bond's goldeneye to tick off. For others punting the river cam in cambridge.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
One of three key references (along with when to go where and the Travel Book)that my wife/travel agent uses to plan all our trips. When backed up by TripAdvisor we've not been let down yet.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
WOW! Inspiration for the soul and deadly for the bank account! Ideas to suit all tastes and so far the descriptions of that places we have tried have been spot on. Will be getting more of these if updated ones come out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2009
This book is beautiful, it was a gift and the reciptant loved it,the photos are amazing and they inspire you to travel to far flung places.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2009
I love this book! I am very passionate about travelling and could spend hours looking through this book and thinking about all the places I want to go to and planning future trips. It is laid out and presented beautifully with lots of amazing pictures throughout and interesting facts featured at the end of each section. If you have friends or family that are interested in travelling buy them this book as it would make a fantastic present or just treat yourself to it!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 August 2008
This book is massive: make sure you have a strong coffee table! It has lots of places you have never heard of in it with really useful ideas why you should go at that time of year. I noticed one error where they put you should go to place X in May but the wrote up was in the Feb section; this only happened once although I have not yet read all of it.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)