Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
13
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2004
Nominated for the American Edgar Award for Best Crime novel of the year in 1980, this is one of Rendell's marvels.
Less harsh, gritty, than some of her other novels, it is detailed, has a wonderful restrained violence, and psychologically brilliant. With a trademark shock at the end!
Make Death Love Me is a very very fine novel indeed - I reccomend it to all
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
i have choose 5 stars because i could not put this book down, it had me glued from start to finish.

i recommend this book to anyone who is sick of their daily routine and feels like a change
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2001
I would describe this book as an avarage Ruth Rendell novel. Having read most of her non-Wexford novels, I think the ones she wrote from the mid-seventies and onwards are worth reading and she gets only better with time.
The theme of this book is a bit similar to 'One Across, Two Down' in that the protagonist tries to escape a life of tedious routine with a family he doesn't like. The protagonist's grumpy old father-in-law who thinks an army take-over of the country and reintroduction of capital punishment (preferably with a pole-axe) will solve the nations problems, is quite a laugh.
I won't comment on the plot because I think that will spoil the book, but I can say that, as in many (if not most) of her books, there are two stories running in paralell and converging.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
Wonderful work by Ruth Rendell, as always!!
A superb work which, as always, keeps you gripped from beginning to end!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
I found this Ruth Rendall book very addictive. Could not wait for the next opportunity to carry on with the story. The ending was similar to finishing a crossword or jigsaw puzzle. It all fitted together very neatly. Most enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
The late Ruth Rendell at her irrepressible best. The usual finely drawn characters and descriptive prose that is on a par with that of Dickens and the Brontes. A well plotted story with the usual high quality conclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Ruth Rendell always excellent reading this is no exception excellent. Little twist at the end.well worth your time happy reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Must go through as many books of Ruth's again. Up there with the great Agatha Christie
. One of my fav A demon in my view
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
a well written book with an interesting and clever story. Enough said
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
Loved this book,a real page turner with a really good end!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.