Mainstream SF for the cautious

A Listmania! list by Phillip Kay (Sydney)
 
Report on Probability A
1.  Report on Probability A by Brian W. Aldiss
The list author says:
  "An 'experimental' novel: if you like Borges, Robbe-Grillet or Joyce"
Used & New from: 15.33
3.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

See buying options
The Best Short Stories of J. G. Ballard
2.  The Best Short Stories of J. G. Ballard by J. G. Ballard
The list author says:
  "Metaphor and concepts in stories that can expand your mind: like those of William Burroughs"
Used & New from: 8.02

See buying options
The Stars My Destination (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
3.  The Stars My Destination (S.F. MASTERWORKS) by Alfred Bester
The list author says:
  "An unputdownable metaphysical space opera whodunit, if you like Alexandre Dumas the father or Eric Ambler"
Used & New from: 0.01
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (78 customer reviews)

See buying options
The Demolished Man (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
4.  The Demolished Man (S.F. MASTERWORKS) by Alfred Bester
The list author says:
  "On the top of most lists for 50 years, it's Tourneur or Kidd meets Haruki Murakami"
5.59   Used & New from: 0.46
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (43 customer reviews)

Golden Apples of the Sun (New Windmills)
5.  Golden Apples of the Sun (New Windmills) by Ray Bradbury
The list author says:
  "A celebrant of small town America where something wicked this way comes: if you liked the films The Illustrated Man or Fahrenheit 451"
Used & New from: 0.01
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

See buying options
The Terminal Man
6.  The Terminal Man by Michael Crichton
The list author says:
  "A well researched 'faction' on the impact of computers on human behaviour: if you're interested in the morals of scientific research"
7.99   Used & New from: 0.01
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

Selected Stories of Philip K. Dick
7.  Selected Stories of Philip K. Dick by Philip K Dick
The list author says:
  "Read his complete works, he's SF's greatest mind, but you've got to start somewhere: if you like Orwell or Kafka"
Used & New from: 13.41

See buying options
Brave New World
8.  Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
The list author says:
  "Not a good book, but the most quoted of the utopia/dystopia genre. Everybody knows it, nobody does anything about what it tells us"
Used & New from: 0.01
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (258 customer reviews) | 1 customer discussion

See buying options
Flowers For Algernon (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
9.  Flowers For Algernon (S.F. MASTERWORKS) by Daniel Keyes
The list author says:
  "Both a poignant tale of our inevitable decline and death and a critique of scientific irresponsibility: if you liked the film Charly"
6.95   Used & New from: 0.39
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (259 customer reviews)

The Dispossessed
10.  The Dispossessed by Ursula Le Guin
The list author says:
  "Read the complete works, she's SF's greatest writer, this one looks at human nature, its politics and limited vision from the viewpoint of Lao Tse and Jung"
7.82   Used & New from: 3.60
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (82 customer reviews)

The Eye of the Queen (GOLLANCZ S.F.)
11.  The Eye of the Queen (GOLLANCZ S.F.) by Phillip Mann
The list author says:
  "The most plausible aliens you'll ever encounter, from H G Wells to James Cameron"
Used & New from: 0.39
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)

See buying options
A Canticle For Leibowitz: Book One: The Saint Leibowtiz Series
12.  A Canticle For Leibowitz: Book One: The Saint Leibowtiz Series by Walter M. Miller Jr
The list author says:
  "If only the Cold War powers had read this instead of stockpiling nuclear weapons: for those who wonder what the difference is between science and religion in building/petrifying a world"
6.99   Used & New from: 3.99
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (49 customer reviews)

1984 Nineteen Eighty-Four (Penguin Modern Classics)
13.  1984 Nineteen Eighty-Four (Penguin Modern Classics) by George Orwell
The list author says:
  "Orwell was that rare being, an honest thinker, whose essays shed light on every subject he touched. He worried, when 1984 came, if anyone would notice. Have you? (if it's all right with Big Brother)"
6.29   Used & New from: 0.01
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (692 customer reviews) | 3 customer discussions

Pavane (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
14.  Pavane (S.F. MASTERWORKS) by Keith Roberts
The list author says:
  "Often compared to The Man in the High Castle. These books remind us how unlikely the defeats of the Spanish Armada and of Hitler really were. Heisenberg, anyone?"
6.39   Used & New from: 1.98
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (34 customer reviews)

Mindswap: A novel
15.  Mindswap: A novel by Robert Sheckley
The list author says:
  "One of the most original minds in SF, Sheckley is also a wit, parodist and satirist writing in the tradition of Voltaire's Candide"
Out of stock
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Options
16.  Options by Robert Sheckley
The list author says:
  "Satiric stories that take you over the (un)known universe and make you examine the catch-phrases, institutions and conventions you know as if for the first time"
Used & New from: 0.01
2.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

See buying options
Time and Again
17.  Time and Again by Clifford D. Simak
The list author says:
  "A mezmerisingly plotted time travel paradox tale, but with all the values associated with The Grapes of Wrath"
Used & New from: 0.01
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)

See buying options
Star Maker (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
18.  Star Maker (S.F. MASTERWORKS) by Olaf Stapledon
The list author says:
  "Is this SF? Is the Divine Comedy SF?  Is the Odyssey SF? I've reviewed this book here"
5.59   Used & New from: 0.01
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (43 customer reviews)

Roadside Picnic (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
19.  Roadside Picnic (S.F. MASTERWORKS) by Boris Strugatsky
The list author says:
  "Working in the tradition of Swift and Gogol, the Strugatskys have taken ideas of interdependance of species found in Darwin and moved them to a galactic setting"
Used & New from: 3.74
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (30 customer reviews)

See buying options
Her Smoke Rose Up Forever
20.  Her Smoke Rose Up Forever by James Tiptree
The list author says:
  "This psychologist turned writer produces some of the most intensely referenced, beautiful and moving work in SF: if you like Umberto Eco"
13.50   Used & New from: 5.77
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

The Complete Short Stories of H.G. Wells
21.  The Complete Short Stories of H.G. Wells by H.G. Wells
The list author says:
  "Read all the scientific romances and all the short stories. Wells stretches the definition of SF, a genre he helped to form (and which he didn't recognise). More TV Star Trek than Star Wars"
Used & New from: 16.01
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

See buying options
One item is no longer listed in our catalogue.

More Actions

Discover more about this author
 See all of their Listmania! lists
Make your own list
 Create a Listmania! list
View your page on Amazon.co.uk
 Go to Your Profile page

Customer Discussions about products in this list  
   

About this Listmania!

 

Author

Phillip Kay (Sydney)
Qualifications: Curious Cat
Last updated: 21/10/2006
Report abuse
    

More Listmania!

 

books that I love books that I love

books that I love: A list of 13 items by Sean Davies "staticking"

Uncle Trev's Sci-Fi Tips Uncle Trev's Sci-Fi Tips

Uncle Trev's Sci-Fi Tips: A list of 11 items by Amazon Customer "tm-x"

My Bookshelf My Bookshelf

My Bookshelf: A list of 25 items by C. J. Staples "cristaples"

My favourite Sci Fi Books My favourite Sci Fi Books

My favourite Sci Fi Books: A list of 13 items by Mr. Paul Brightwell

My Sci-Fi / Fantasy experience My Sci-Fi / Fantasy experience

My Sci-Fi / Fantasy experience: A list of 16 items by C. E. Magos