Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars50
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£49.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2011
The best battery charger I have ever owned and I have been thru a few.
Batteries well spaced to keep them cool, easy to use, great range of functions.
After reading some of the other reviews about too many button pushes I cant see what the problem is. Feels far easier to set up than the BC-900, and whilst the display cycles rather than displaying all 4 batteries at once this is a minor inconvience.

Admittedly I am biased against the BC-900 after the first one had a dead power pack and one of the componants rattling around inside, the second charged 8 batteries before failing. This to me shows no quality control or testing at the factory. The MaHa however has worked faultlessly and comes with a 3 year warantee. Not cheap but a great product
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
Had it for only a few days so far so these are just first impressions.

It's big - 16x11x4 cm - but feels solid and has a 'professional' air about it.
Batteries securely lock into place.
Comprehensive instruction sheet.
Manufacturer's confidence in the charger's longevity evident with its 3-year guarantee.
The charger's firmware revision is just 4 months old. It's not a user configurable option so it's good to know that it's up to date.

Easy to navigate through the charging options as long as you know what you are trying to do! By this I mean first determine which charging option you want and at what current then insert the battery then make your selections with the buttons. It really is very easy - no button presses are required for a straight charge cycle - but you may want to select a different charging rate to suit the battery capacity in which case 3 or more button presses are needed. Again, very easy to understand as long as you know what you are trying to achieve before 'launching in'.

So far I have charged 3 sets of batteries and used the 'Refresh and Analise' mode on another set. I had thought this set was on its way out but the charger informs me that the batteries' capacity is only 5% less than labelled now.

NOTE that the charger's power supply is the Continental 2-pin type.

Very pleased that I now have total control of my rechargeable AAs and AAAs.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have owned a couple of these chargers for over 4 years now, and I am more than satisfied with their performance. True, there are a few steps to follow in order to customize charging current yet it becomes second nature once you get accustomed to it.
The unit will default to "Charge" when batteries are inserted. Default current is 1000mA for AA cells.

The good:
• Large clear backlit display during charge
• Charges NiCD and NiMH batteries
• Revives old NiCD
• Various selections of charge currents starting at 200mA - 2000mA (19 selections)
• Charges 4 AA or 4 AAA batteries
• 5 operational modes: Charge, Refresh & Analyse, * Break-In, * Discharge and Cycle
• Sturdy construction as expected by Maha
• Comes with a 3 year warranty

* For NiCD batteries

Not so good:
• Bulky
• Takes a considerable time to cycle through the voltage and current reading of the 4 cells. (Cannot be done manually)

The pros far outweigh the cons and find this charger great for eneloop, Powerex NiMH and NiCD batteries. I have revived so many old NiCD batteries, which other chargers simply could not handle.

Highly recommended to those demanding the best !
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
If you want a charger that just charges your batteries without needing to set anything then you should go for something cheaper and simpler. However this is a pretty easy charger to operate if you quickly review the well written instructions and it gives you many options to revive your batteries and to control how they are charged. With a traditional charger you have virtually no idea whether your batteries are starting to hold less energy and whether there is a problem with only one of a set of four for example or a problem with all of them. The Maha resolves this issue as it tells you exactly how much energy each battery is retaining so you can try and reive those beginning to fade. Basically it gives you the information and settings which enable you to understand and control what is happening to your rechargeable batteries. Some reviews comment that you have to toggle from battery to battery to make settings and review each cells information. This is true but IMHO a minor issue and mainly due to the amount of info available. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
Great for testing your rechargeable batteries. I have gone through all mine and recycled the duff ones, marked the acceptable ones with their capacity so I can now use them in matched sets.

Rechargeables are great but if you get a few duff ones then you are likely to end up using a duff one with some good ones and think they are all duff.

I found this far cheaper than just replacing all the rechargeables when I got a few duff ones in the mix.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
THis is a very good charger - as others have said. The recommended charging current is 1/2 times the battery capacity. The recommended discharging current is 1/4 times the battery capacity. Here are some settings for common batteries that I found useful.

2700mAh Charge: 1300mA Discharge: 700mA
2650mAh Charge: 1300mA Discharge: 700mA
2500mAh Charge: 1200mA Discharge: 600mA
2300mAh Charge: 1100mA Discharge: 600mA
2200mAh Charge: 1100mA Discharge: 600mA
2100mAh Charge: 1000mA Discharge: 500mA
2000mAh Charge: 1000mA Discharge: 500mA
1000mAh Charge: 500mA Discharge: 200mA
900mAh Charge: 400mA Discharge: 200mA
850mAh Charge: 400mA Discharge: 200mA

Using these settings for the correct Battery type you can use the charger to "refresh" tired rechargeable batteries, and of course just re-charge batteries as normal. The display clearly indicates what is going on and it works for both AA and AAA size batteries.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
The Maha batery charger makes charging batteries a little more complicated but the results are astonishing.

I have not needed to charge my enloop batteries since purchase 6 months ago and the charger gave my old batteries a new lease of life, enabling them to perform better than when they were new.

This product proves that more people should be made aware of how to care for their batteries.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
I have a couple of dozens of AA and AAA NiMH batteries that I use virtually everywhere, ranging from toys for babies to toys for adults. And with around 75% of them, when put into the charger, it simply resets. No indication why, but it refuses to charge or discharge those. With further 10% it says the impedance is too high - and refuses to do anything too. They might not be brand new, but still work in the applications that does not require high current. In other words - the charger tells me, that despite working fine, my batteries need to be replaced. No, thank you...

Another thing - the display backlight. It is very bright and cannot be switched off. If you need a night-light for your bedroom, that might be acceptable. I do prefer to sleep in the dark however...

And one more... It defaults to charging with 1000mA. Far too much, even for brand new AAA batteries. This requires the user to endlessly push the buttons to reduce the current to more reasonable values.

Apart from those design flaws, it is a good charger with a lot of options, battery care programs etc. Too bad it thinks it is more intelligent than it actually is.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
I bought this top-of-the-range charger after reading the reviews of others on Amazon. I too have used other branded chargers/batteries over the years and noticed how the batteries didn't hold their charge over time. I use rechargeable batteries for my camera flashgun so I need the power in them to be available when I get them out my camera bag. But since the batteries can sit unused for several weeks or even months at a time depending on when I find time to photograph, it is essential that I can rely on the batteries still having a good charge. So I bought Maha 2700mAh rechargeable batteries to go with this, again after reading the reviews.
The charger itself is a neat and easy to use once you read the instructions. They are all in American English only. If you need another language other than English then you could be stuck! There are lots of options to select when setting up the charger for new batteries or re-conditioning old ones, though it isn't difficult to use the select and cycle buttons on the front of the unit. It has a very clear and large LCD backlit display that stays lit the whole time. So you won't want this in your bedroom unless you like a bright nightlight as it illuminates the whole room when switched on! It comes with a mains plug for the UK with a few metres of cable so it is convenient to plug in and then place the charger on a top somewhere instead of having the charger and batteries covering up the socket like some models do. I guess you could easily get an adapter for other countries if you travel or a car charger since the input port for power on the charger looks standard.
As for the charging process, it is very thorough. The instructions give you an idea of charging times and some of them go on for several days while the unit thoroughly discharges and re-charges the batteries several times to maximise their working output. You can charge single batteries or up to 4 at a time and they can each have different settings according to their capacities.
I know this charger is 2 to 3 times the cost of cheaper ones but I think if you want something that will give you the most from re-chargeable batteries, including rejuvenating existing tired ones, then this is a worthwhile investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
This as to be the ultimate Nicad battery charger. I have had this product for a year before I reviewed it. It has kept my varied selection of nicads in perfect condition and restored many others from other chargers such as you get with nicads included from throw away back to serviceable condition. I particularly like the facility that allows you to select your charge rate for each individual battery and it shows you the finished battery capacity on completion. Perfect accessory in this age of battery driven products.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)