Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars209
4.5 out of 5 stars
Colour Name: Blue|Change
Price:£16.26 - £57.92
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2008
Wow - I ordered the MINI maglite and the light from such a small torch is fantastic. The focussed beam is a great bonus too - you turn the nozzle and the wide beam is drawn in until it forms a spot of light that reaches 70 foot to shine brightly on a car about this distance away, so probably could do even better than that if put to the test. Small and conpact but slightly longer than you'd expect from the picture, but still easy to carry if out after dark.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
Got this for my daughter for xmas - colour is fab for girls! V robust also. My kids love playing with torches and this means they won't be using mine! V light so no harm to little toes if dropped. And also v durable - ideal for kids.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
I did not get disappointed after I received this item. Maglite always provides good quality. This "small" torch has perfect lightbeam, which is strong, diameter can be adjusted (even at the biggest lightbeam diameter, it gives very bright light), and also can be used in a "candle"-mode.

Small, efficient with a strong light. Recommended to anyone.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 April 2016
Having bought one of these quite a few years ago this is available in the boxed case or with a holster pack option (same torch). There is a newer "pro" version out boasting somewhat improved light output over the standard torch.

As you'd expect from Maglite case quality is very good with a tougher anodised aluminium case. Unscrew the bottom to reveal a spare holder for the spare bulb holder under the spring (one was included in mine). Turning this on simply twist the top, if you continue to do so it can be removed to change the bulb. The front lens is plastic, that has one advantage in that it's shatter proof. Downside is it can get some minor scratches over time but with years of use on mine it looks quite fresh on the case and body and has had it's fair share of drops and knocks. It's a tough torch and a well made one at that.

The only real downside for me is comparing it to an LED torch (even an AA), they blow the Maglite away if pure power output is the main concern. To get an LED light (a decent one) will cost a bit more, but that has fallen quite a lot over the last few years. Bulbs have lasted a good few years and can easily be replaced, they use the Xenon type and are fairly bright for a traditional bulb - they just pale compared to the newer LED ones. Once you move up to the lithium powered LED's they're in a completely different power level compared to this, even though they can be just as small.

I still like the torch, but technology has moved on and the advantages of LED are quite compelling. No bulbs to replace (and a very long run time), variable power levels and they are much more power efficient and offer longer battery endurance. I still have soft spot for the torch, but it's since been retired as newer torches have come along. Worth a look at the price, but look around at other models if you want higher light output. Bit of a classic in many ways, but one that's been surpassed with newer technology.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2009
Now, it's a flashlight ok. It doesn't wash your laundry, it creates light. And as a flashlight it's damn good. Sure you can probably buy some no-name flashlight from your local store for a fiver, but it's always going to be so and so. Maglite on the other hand is a quality product. Something you can count on when you really need to.

I think I got my first maglite maybe some ten years go. And after that it has been the only brand I've owned. I think this is my third one. They last really well, especially considering what I put them through.

The flashlight itself is made of metal and feels very sturdy. You turn it on by turning the head, which also focuses the beam. So you can either get a wider light or a focused beam, which is very handy. If you turn it some more, the head comes off, leaving the bulb exposed, which can also come very handy sometimes as it then lights a much bigger space. Sort of like a candle, but like a candle it will burn your fingers if you touch the fire ;)

This is the small Maglite (altough the AAA version is even smaller). Basically slightly longer than the two AA batteries it uses (batteries included). So small enough to keep with you, when your out and about, you know back bagging, camping etc.

It comes with a black box for it to keep it in. Though to be honest, what kind of person keeps a flash light in a box. You keep it in your pocket, luggage, with your other stuff. Basically anywhere expect in a box of its own. It's not a fountain pen, it's a tool. A tool you keep with you, like a swiss knife.

Need a flash light? (stupid question, of course you do), look no further. But of course consider also the AAA model, which is slightly smaller.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
I ordered this torch to go in my daughters christmas stocking and she's chuffed with it. It is robust, looks great and gives a bright, well focused beam. Delivery was quick and painless.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2009
This item is good value for money Great light from it. Just what I need for the long dark nights ahead of me in the Shetland Isles
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
Does exactly what it says on the tin. Maglite (including 2 Duracell AA batteries) in black. Maglite are a trusted quality brand that I have used before and I would recommend this torch for anyone who might be into camping, in the forces (get a red filter), survival, adventure holidays etc.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2009
I am a great fan of Maglite Torches. My latest purchase is the 2 x AA battery Mini. True to Maglite this torch has l-o-n-g battery life with a powerful light varying from pencil to flood beam. The switch-on is by turning the focusing head. The coloured case is etched and this makes it easy to grip. The case is sealed by rubber rings to make it water resistant. Spare bulb is in the screw-in base. Great price from Amazon.
Ken Grant

Tags: Torch, Maglite, Maglight, Maglite Mini.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2009
I had previously owned a mini maglite and loved it. But it got lost, and I invested in it's larger counterpart - but larger didn't mean better! So I bought a new mini mag. It's incredibly powerful for such a little one, and only uses 2 AA batteries. Small enough for your pocket but big on it's beam! Beam is adjustable so you can pinpoint things, or see a larger picture. It's a brilliant value torch for what it delivers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)