Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars25
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:£29.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2013
I chose this book for the time period and was very surprised when it arrived - it's huge and really heavy, too big to fit in any bookcase I have, and I have many bookcases. The only way to read this is to use a table or a desk and that is annoying. I probably should have looked at the dimensions before I bought it, but it didn't even occur to me. One of the reasons is that each chapter is in 3 languages, English, German and French. Having said all that it is beautifully illustrated and is great value for money. Each chapter is written by someone who is clearly an expert in their chosen period and I learned a lot from it. I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in the subject, just find a very large bookcase to keep it in!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
This is fantastic , i wish i had bought it first time around. The book is stunning i really don't have any more to say exept just buy it at this price it is a real bargain.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
This is a wonderful history of magic and illusion through the centuries. A gloriously illustrated and beautifully written coffee table book – this is no light reading but its stature is matched by its engagement – I defy anyone with an interest in entertainment not to enjoy it.

From some of the most famous characters in the illusion business, to many of the more obscure performers, this book has the lot and is an absolute encyclopaedia of information – although written in an engaging and interesting style missing from many such works.

Immerse yourself in this and revel in the sheer inventiveness of creativity.

Absolutely delicious reading.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
lovely book, huge,with wonderful illustrations -an absolute bargain!!!! Buy this now and dont hesitate as its a true find amongst finds. My husband,whos a magician loved it!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
If you are here and looking at this review then you probably don't need me to tell you too much more about the book and why you should buy it. If you're interested in the history of magic and want something of real quality, then at this price, there really is no choice, you should definitely get it....

But a couple of things for me that bring it down to a four star. Primarily, as a number of people have mentioned, the book is in 3 languages. It doesn't detract from the overall appeal, but there is no getting away from the fact that two thirds of the book are completely unreadable to me. You could argue that in this day and age with our country embracing the EU I should get off my preverbially and learn a new language - but at my age that seems like an awful lot of work just to read a book:-)

One other point was that I had to return my first book. The binding was coming away down the spine and it felt as if it could easily start to lose some pages - if I'm honest the replacement isn't 100%, but that's probably just me nit-picking. The returns service from Amazon was excellent (and simple).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Had no idea how big this book and how comprehensive it would be. Highly recommended to any magic or poster fan wonderful graphic artists work.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
A very large book (A3 size) documenting the history of magic It's full of really interesting photographs and beautiful artwork.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Amazing value! This is a REALLY big book. You will need a table to put it on, you won't be able to leaf through it on the bus. It is packed full of prints of the most spectacular old poster artwork. If you are into magic, steam-punk, cabaret, old theatre or strange phenomena then you will find a wealth of inspiration in here. You can pore over it for hours.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
This is a super deal!
The quality of the book is real magic!
It is real eye candy for anyone!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
This purchase was a gift for a friend who is into their magic history - this was THE best present. It's an incredibly rich resource for anyone with any level of interest in the subject of magic.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse