Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars17
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£0.98
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2014
i have a sort of fascination for the topic yet i couldn't read this book. First of all it's got quite a lot of typos, then it is written for a very specific public in mind: people who know EVERYTHING already about the key events/figures/dates of the Mafia and you really want to read about the small tiny details you didnt already know then this book is for you otherwise you will soon get bored. There is NO generalities or even "stories" only a long and seemingly random list of obscure names and events that we are told make the history of the mafia. There is NO chronological order, NO timeline... and NO clue what we are supposed to get out of this book. Don't waste your time, pay for a better book.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
I’ve always found it amazing that a bunch of descendants from the poor streets of Sicily and Naples could command such power in the most powerful nation on Earth, but this book goes a long way to explaining how organised crime can get a firm grip, especially when the members of those gangs are prepared to exact the ultimate retribution on anyone who crosses them. Some of the stories are better than fiction and the pictures, some of which are pretty gruesome, bring it all to life. Rafe Patel.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
A cheap Kindle rough history of The Mafia, from its Sicilian origins to modern America, but very poorly written. Jumps about a lot and assumes a certain background knowledge on the readers part. Chapters are poorly constructed making it physically difficult to read. There are better Mafia books out there, so avoid this if you can.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
I found this book confusing, which ruined the flow of the story. There are so many names mentioned, I had to keep flicking back to remind me who was who, who was related to who etc. Shame really, as I was told it's an excellent read. I gave up in the end. But this is just one opinion. I hope others enjoy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
A comprehensive short history of a complicated historic criminal organisation with tentacles all over the world. The book names the bosses of the organisation
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
Feel relieved to have finished the book,some interesting bits ,just too many names facts and figures mind you how else could you write a history book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
I found this to be an informative but often difficult to follow book, it's lack of flow can make it a difficult read bit it is very accurate & concise
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
this is a exceptional read. the title says it all. the history of how the mafia was formed, before it was known as the mafia is fasinating.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
Very informative and a good insight into the various Bosses of the Sicilian & Italian organised crime families.
Really enjoyed it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
A lot of facts given quite quickly, however an a good read and very interesting if you're a fan of the Mafia and it's history.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Find Out.- The Vegas Mob Tours. Visit Mob Hangouts & Movie Sets.