Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars225
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 14 December 2008
Well I must have seen the first Madagascar film at least twenty times (or heard it in the background) so maybe I prefer this new one because it's different, I don't know, but my children (5 & 8) thought it was a riot and to be honest so did I. Whether it's better or not though, one thing I am quite sure about is that this is a great film for kids and the parents will be laughing almost non-stop too.

Behind the wise-cracks and inevitable mayhem there are some issues to think about, such as the importance of water for animals in the African desert, the rite of passage that a lion goes through within its pride, and I suppose shyness and insecurity and how to deal with these in a would-be relationship. You could say that in their different ways the four friends (the lion, the hippo, the zebra and the giraffe) go through differing challenges relating to their own identities now that, for the first time, they are back in their natural territory among hundreds of similar creatures.

From start to finish though the film's main purpose is to amuse and to entertain and it does that very successfully. Given its main target age group it can't really be criticised as I am sure children will love it. As far as mine are concerned, they have already asked me to get the DVD and I am confident that it will be repeat-viewed just as the original has been.

A very funny animated film suitable for all ages. My favourite character - and I don't seem to be alone here - is Skipper, the penguin 'boss'.

UPDATE 8th April 2009 : Just bought the DVD and watched it again with my children, I haven't changed my mind about it and nor have they. They were laughing throughout. I can now see the similarity with the Lion King better than I did before, but M2 is still more entertaining for children and of course a whole lot funnier.
44 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
I did not enjoy the first Madagascar that much. So naturally I was skeptical about this one.

But wrongly so, it would seem.

Where the first film never seemed to go anywhere or be particularly funny, this film removed itself from that with a definitive storyline and developed the characters much better than before. Even the irritating King Julian became an integral part of the fun.

It felt much more like the Dreamworks films I enjoy so much, with their individual style, offering something for adults with subtle humour and references and plenty for the kids with their wonderful animation and great comic timing and slapstick. Infact you might say that the later Dreamworks films are catering even more for the adults watching with their kids.

This Madagascar offers a direct lead on from the first, having the ever resourceful Penguines fix up an old crashed plane, to fly the stranded zoo animals back to New York. They end up crash landing in Africa where they are all originally from, so obviously they all hook up with their native species and find out what like is like in the wild. Alex the lion meets his dad (voiced by the late great Bernie Mac), and accidentally mistakes a fight for a dance contest and gets his family banished, oh, and has to wear a silly hat.

Meanwhile the Penguines hatch a plan to rebuilt the now twice crashed plane by hijacking tour jeeps, with hilarious consequences, the brave granny who beats up Alex the lion in the first film is back, and stranded after her tour jeep is hijacked by the Penguines creates a primitive colony of her own with the other tourists.

It's all very outrageous, and very good fun. Usually I cant stand Ben Stiller (the voice of Alex the Lion) but in this his talents seemed well disposed, and his delivery brought a smile to my face.

This film is a vast improvement over the first, it's funny, witty, has great comic timing and style, an easy to follow story, complete with hilarious side narratives and the return of the well spoken chinpanzee, which adds to the Penguines comedy routine.

A great family watch, something for everyone.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa` is pretty much your typical animation. Following the format of the first film this has plenty of fun and humour for the kids, as well as some `in jokes' and touches to keep the adults entertained and well. This film follows the same group of animals as they try to return to New York from Madagascar and end up returning to their roots in Africa instead. You get the same great cast doing the voice overs from the first film and some extra voice talent to compliment them. You may also be glad to hear the penguins are still there in all their evil, brooding glory and the Lemur King Julian manages to hitch a ride as well. In fact King Julian comes out with some of the best lines in the film. The animation is ok, not as good as other films I`ve seen but still credible and solid competition to films released by the Pixar studio. The music is pretty good as well. You can also watch this as stand alone film if you haven't seen the first film as some back story is supplied. This is light hearted and fun, about all that it sets out to be and if you enjoyed the first film or are a fan of animation in general then this is well worth checking out.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2009
Madagascar 2 is a movie with a moral - accept your friends and family for who they are. As such, it's in good company; more and more of these animated family films contain similar messages (not least the Shrek trilogy), although where the original film focused on the friendships between the animals, this is more concerned with families and partners (with some hilarious couples forming!) Yes it pushes the message a bit hard, and yes, it's a bit trite in places, but there are some moments of comedy genius which more than counter that. The penguins are as brilliantly evil as ever, the monkies aren't quite as good, although the bit where they form a trade union and demand maternity leave (even though they're all male) is quite amusing. We also see the return of the batty old woman from the original film, this time leading her own tribe of lost tourists, although I think there was a bit of overkill with her character: once you get that the 'frail' little old lady could flatten Jackie Chan with her left-hook, there's really nowhere left to go. King Julian doesn't get the same screen-time that he did in the original, nor the little bug-eyed one that follows him around and I fail to see the logic behind a great white shark finding its way into the middle of the savannah. There's also a faint ecological message hidden in there somewhere; some damning (pun intended) commentary on the impact humans have on the wildlife around them when they alter habitats to suit their needs and whims. I just can't shake the nagging feeling that this is a poor man's Lion King with a few laughs thrown in; but the penguins make up for a lot, and it well deserves its 4* rating for them alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2009
My grandson who is 4years old had already got the first Madagascar DVD so for Easter this year I bought him Madagascar Escape 2 Africa, he watches it everyday along with his father & anyone else who is present. He laughs out loud at certain parts and always sits engrossed thoughout the whole of the DVD.

I would certainly recommend this to anyone with children as it is a very good film - funny in parts and sensitive in others. There is nothing in it to be deemed offensive and is just good family viewing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
New York Zoo animals, Alex the Lion, Marty the Zebra, Melman the Giraffe and Gloria the Hippo are still stranded in Madagascar,try and start to leave the island.

They land in the wilderness of Africa, where Alex meets the rest of his family, but has trouble communicating with them after spending so much time at the Central Park Zoo… Not being a fan of the first movie, i wasn't expecting a lot from this sequel, other than 'cash-in'.

I was very surprised to find that this usurped the original every way possible, and was a lot of fun, even though Julien was still very annoying whenever he popped up.

the voice acting is well done, and the pop-culture references are very funny and quite intelligent, something that dreamworks have been doing now for a while to distract the adults from being bored.

if anything, this could be 'the lion kings' idiotic cousin, as there are references sprawled along this movie referring to the Disney classic (sons lost, a bad lion wants to take control as the alpha lion, but with less trauma of course) there are a lot of life lessons as always in films like this, but they are subtle and short.

the penguins almost steal the show again, but the granny takes credit for this, as she is probably the nastiest animated non-villain ever.

a good sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2009
My younglings insisted that I take them to see this but even they got bored with it from about the midway point. It is actually quite funny to begin with but when the minimal & cliched plot gets going things just get duller and duller. The characters are forgettable, with the exception of the penguins and Prince Julian. Pixar still make the best animated features that please audiences of all ages - Dreamworks don't even come close to the Pixar gold standard with this disappointing effort.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
I went to see this film at the time of its release - back in 2009 - with my youngest son (aged 11 at the time) and my husband (always a child at heart!) I have to say that we were all more than a little disappointed. Towards the end, I even found myself almost constantly looking at my watch, not a good sign - desperately waiting for it to finish - such was the level of boredom. I think younger children would probably enjoy it though as it is very 'lively', but with little plot or jokes of enough substance to keep older folk entertained.

Sequels of this kind of film genre are rarely as good as the first it seems, and no doubt only come about as a result of the popularity of the first film. Now this is on DVD at least viewers won't have to waste their money on a cinema trip, as we did. And there'll also be the advantage of being able to pick and choose your moments of viewing as the humour is much thinner on the ground than in the first, and what there is tends to be very much more 'in your face' in that oh-so-American way. Whilst not absolutely dreadful, this film, equally, is not one likely to make it to many people's favourite films list - and will no doubt slip down such a list for the tiny tots as they grow up and it recedes into the forgotten past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa` is pretty much your typical animation. Following the format of the first film this has plenty of fun and humour for the kids, as well as some `in jokes' and touches to keep the adults entertained and well. This film follows the same group of animals as they try to return to New York from Madagascar and end up returning to their roots in Africa instead. You get the same great cast doing the voice overs from the first film and some extra voice talent to compliment them. You may also be glad to hear the penguins are still there in all their evil, brooding glory and the Lemur King Julian manages to hitch a ride as well. In fact King Julian comes out with some of the best lines in the film. The animation is ok, not as good as other films I`ve seen but still credible and solid competition to films released by the Pixar studio. The music is pretty good as well. You can also watch this as stand alone film if you haven't seen the first film as some back story is supplied. This is light hearted and fun, about all that it sets out to be and if you enjoyed the first film or are a fan of animation in general then this is well worth checking out.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2010
Almost better than the original Madagascar, the characters and story line have been developed and have grown into a fantastic family film with all of the hidden inuendos for the adults that you would expect from a family film. Kind Julian shines in all his Lemur glory and steals the show, although there are many funny lines from all the characters, as you would expect. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)