Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
88
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2013
Macleod's is an old favourite with medical students. This newer edition is slightly larger than the previous edition and multiple changes have been made. To keep up with online developments they have increased the amount of online content and video content, which is always beneficial as it can be easier to explain by watching rather than reading.

The main changes in this edition are extended and new chapters in the examination in specific situations; the frail elderly, assessment for anaesthesia and sedation and the febrile adult. The babies and children chapter has also been extensivly added to. These additional chapters definitly take the book from being purely for medical students to being an indispensible aid for new FY1s starting on the ward. I would go as far to say as it is worth buying the book purely for the chapter one examinination of babies and children as it is very detailed and covers everything that a junior doctor working in paediatrics and A and E needs to know.

The standard chapters have been revised, more pictures have been added. The text in general has remained the same.

The final chapter on OCSE's is the newest addition to the book. In previous editions the OSCE stations were within the chapters on that particular system. These have been removed and a whole chapter added. Unfortunatly this is the only part that lets the book down, as it doesn't have the detail that the previous editions stations within the system chapters had. I think the idea of having a chapter, but it needs more specific stations and how to tackle them.

This doesn't detract from the textbook at all. It is an excellent text, with many improvements on the previous edition and definitly bridges the gap between Medical Student and Junior Doctor.

Competing interests: I was involved in reviewing the previous edition to make improvement on this edition and recieved a free copy of the above edition.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
I love this book. As a paramedic practitioner I have nearly every clinical assessment/examination book out there. They all cover pretty much the same ground but Macleod's is the most accessible book to have on your library shelf at home. Probably not as in depth as Bates and the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Examination and Practical Skills is the best pocket book out there. You wont be disappointed with this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
Macleod's Clinical Examination has become one of the foremost texts on Clinical examination available on the market with medical schools, hospitals & doctors around the world using this text to improve their clinical examination methodology. Though Macleod, the original author of this text is now gone, this title still bears his name and with this most recent edition to maintain it's place as the authoritative text on the market has seen many revisions to it's content and structure.

The greatest advantages that are now present in this most recent edition are the addition of the new OSCE preparation section. On reading the title this does appear to have the makings of what could be a fantastic new component to this title, in this section you are given a station such as 'The Endocrine Station' and then examples of common presentations/tasks before being given details on common omissions & difficulties on this station. In this reviewers opinion having used other texts such as Clinical Skills for OSCEs, this section does not quite hold all the advantages of this text if you wish to use it to prepare for the OSCE. What would be good to see in following editions would be the addition of further videos to the online library that demonstrate common OSCE stations for the student as currently the videos only give some of the examinations & then how to do them on the ward with no advice for the OSCE where you may have between a 5-10 minute station to get history &/or examination done.

The further advantage of this text is the close integration with the two other texts in the Davidson's family. The disadvantage of this text would be as mentioned above and also the price of this text as there are certainly other texts available on the market that are cheaper for the students already stretched wallet if you are happy to forgo the videos or would rather have more specific titles for OSCE. If this is the case then you could potentially consider the above title and/or Clinical Skills Explained: From basics to OSCEs.

In conclusion I would certainly commend this book to any/all medical students as being one of the most authoritative texts on clinical skills available on the market. Why not get it out from your university library if they have a copy and then if you agree with me, purchase your own copy of this title so that you can access the online resources?

Competing Interests: Student Reviewer - Received Gratis Copy of this title
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
I'm a final year medical student in the UK and I would recommend this as a MUST buy. Everyone should get this because it provides an excellent detailed understanding to each clinical examination.

Strengths
- Well laid out and absolutely perfect for the clinical years
- Very helpful mnemonics and memory aids
- Systematic approach to the OSCE
- Pictures means you actually can appreciate what you're looking for rather than just saying the words

Weaknesses
- Doesn't contain simple to use mark sheets
- Does not cover OSCE histories adequately

If this review was useful please click "Yes" below. If not, please comment below and tell me how I could improve it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
As a current 4th year medical student Macleod's Clinical Examination has been a lifesaver in revising for OSCEs & practical examinations.
The explanations are comprehensive and cover all the main topics, and examinations themselves are well illustrated and explained.

Would highly recommend to medical students through to qualified physicians looking to polish off their examination technique.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
Advised to buy this for advanced practice masters along with some others
I bought 3 recommended texts but this is my favourite
Pictures are amazing
Clear easy to read
Online integration available on registration with videos
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
What a great price and so quick with the delivery. I thought the book wouldn't really be new as it stated but it was new. I advice to anyone reading this is use this company they are in my opinion the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
I am an Elsevier Student Ambassador and this book was provided free of charge to review the material. Macleod’s Clinical Examination covers the principles of clinical examination and also recaps over history taking as well. The book goes through each system: cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, renal etc but also goes through examining in specific situations such as Babies and Children or the when a patient is critically ill. This was extremely useful as this is not always taught in the early years of medical school when you are examining patients. There is also a very useful section at the end that goes through OSCE and other examination formats. The textbook also comes with a student consult enabling buyers to have full access to the text online as well as online access to 28 unique clinical examination videos.

The text is clear and detailed and recaps and builds on the understanding medical students have on reasons behind certain examination techniques. Pictures of how to examine are clear and well labelled whilst the book also shows photos of certain diseases helping students recognize them in a clinical scenario. The textbook also provides useful information on causes of the disease, clinical features and further investigations enabling a complete understanding of the reasoning behind examining and how best to deal with the patient’s condition.

Although the book is quite large it is an incredibly useful guide for students learning how to improve their clinical examination technique. It is has all the information on how the examination is performed, the clinical findings, causes and further investigations all in one easy to read and I found it much quicker looking through this book to get a good understanding of the material then searching on the internet as I had previously done. A must have for medical students!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
Got this as recommended reading for my PAS course as OSCE prep and for use in practice by senior colleagues, I'm an ECP/Paramedic.
It's easy to use and read, and I regularly refer to it . would make it a purchase for anyone in my line of work from either a nursing or paramedic background.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2016
Good book for clinical skills; usually the core curriculum textbook for most medical schools too.

Slightly difficult to follow sometimes as each step in the examination routine is highly detailed. Does have diagrams explaining how certain skills should be conducted but often need to watch online videos to grasp how to examine fluently.

But this book is excellent when you already understand the basic routine of examination as it gives advice about how to interpret your findings.

Competing interests: Student reviewer and was sent a free copy via Elsevier Publishers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£23.39
£23.60

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)