Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars43
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2012
This has given me all sorts of help getting to grips with my new Apple laptop (I've come over from Windows, so thing are a bit different!)
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
Clarity at last. I now have a source of real help and guidance written in language with which I can cope!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
Having bought my first MacBook as a very senior citizen, I needed help changing my mindset from Microsoft. Mostly Mark's book does this, though at times I still have to consult my sons.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
My first 'Dummies' book. And the last.
Flimsy and superficial. Poorly structured.
First Mac, so it hasn't helped at all in impressing me that the Mac is in any way better than my Vaio.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I was so excited to get this book to help me set up my new MacBook, but really it is no help at all. Badly organized, doesn't explain things clearly, not even an amusing read as most For Dummies books are.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
This not written for the UK market. After trying to understand it, I gave up and traded it in - it is a difficult read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
I'd recommend this product for anyone new to Apple products. I dip into it when I am flummoxed and find an answer. Even the opening pages 'how to look after your macbook' got me thinking.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Easy to understand, well laid out, found the information needed very easily .makes using my Mac laptop much easier to handle
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Don't know what I was expecting from the book, other than a good, honest plain talking guide to the MacBook that would give me the information and insights that I needed.

I doesn't deliver. Still a lot of intuition required to figure out the information contained.

I learn't more from the Apple web guide and playing with the lap top!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This claims to be easy to follow with no jargon, but I have not found it to be anywhere near as reader-friendly as other "Dummies" offerings - I find that I often need to read something through at least 2 or 3 times to get to grips with it.

However my main criticism is that the author seems to think he is funny, and insists on putting in lots of what I imagine are supposed to be "witty" asides which for me totally spoil the whole package. I really can do without meaningless comments like "Now ain't that just sassy!" or "Hot patootie!", they ruin the flow, and after a few minutes I just want to throw the book at the wall. Maybe I am getting old, or perhaps I am just too British!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)