MCTS 70-680 Rapid Review: Configuring Windows 7 and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a £3.00 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading MCTS 70-680 Rapid Review: Configuring Windows 7 on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

MCTS 70-680 Rapid Review: Configuring Windows 7 [Paperback]

Orin Thomas
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
RRP: £18.99
Price: £12.91 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: £6.08 (32%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, 28 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £10.04  
Paperback £12.91  
Trade In this Item for up to £3.00
Trade in MCTS 70-680 Rapid Review: Configuring Windows 7 for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £3.00, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

31 Mar 2012 0735657297 978-0735657298 1

Assess your readiness for MCTS Exam 70-680—and quickly identify where you need to focus and practice. This practical, streamlined guide walks you through each exam objective, providing "need to know" checklists, review questions, tips, and links to further study—all designed to help bolster your preparation.

Reinforce your exam prep with a Rapid Review of these objectives:

  • Installing, Upgrading, and Migrating to Windows 7
  • Deploying Windows 7
  • Configuring Hardware and Applications
  • Configuring Network Connectivity
  • Configuring Access to Resources
  • Configuring Mobile Computing
  • Monitoring and Maintaining Systems That Run Windows 7
  • Configuring Backup and Recovery Options

Frequently Bought Together

MCTS 70-680 Rapid Review: Configuring Windows 7 + MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-680): Configuring Windows® 7 (Corrected Reprint Edition) (Certification)
Price For Both: £55.40

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 230 pages
  • Publisher: Microsoft Press; 1 edition (31 Mar 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0735657297
  • ISBN-13: 978-0735657298
  • Product Dimensions: 21.6 x 14.1 x 1.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 29,483 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • See Complete Table of Contents

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

About the Author

Orin Thomas, MCITP, MCTS, MCSE, Microsoft MVP, is a consultant and writer whose books include the SELF-PACED TRAINING KITS for Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows Server 2008 / 2008 R2, Exchange Server, and SharePoint exams. He is also a contributing editor to Windows IT Pro magazine.



Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rapid Review 11 Dec 2012
By fee
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
For anyone doing computing coursethis is a very handy and light to carry around book. Great to refresh your brain, just before your exam. Has all the information you need. Has helped me pass.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars  12 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like others are saying, a great last minute review 18 Mar 2013
By John - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
I ordered this book after reading reviews of the 70-680 MS Press Training Kit book, and the other 6 reviews of this book. I scheduled my test a week and a half out after finishing the Training Kit book and taking 3 practice tests and reviewing the areas I was not getting good scores in on the practice tests. I then read horror story reviews of the Training Kit book on Amazon and felt I may not be as prepared as I need to be for the test I'd already scheduled. Several of the good reviews of the Training Kit book pointed to this as a good companion to read leading up to the test. As others have stated, it reads fast and is light (~200pgs) and smaller, so it can be easily thrown in a backpack or laptop bag. I'd read several pages during downtime at work, over lunch, and at home. I finished it prior to taking my real exam. I even reviewed some things in the car prior to taking my test. It is a no BS book, and gets right to the areas you need. The setup of the book is in the same order of the Training Kit book, all topics are in the same chapter and order. It is basically a bunch of True/False questions that are asked about each area, some very easy, some a little more tricky. It is kind of stupid that the answer is listed on the very next line, making it very easy to glance at while you are reading the question. It's way better than putting them in the back of the book though and always having to flip back and forth, but I'd almost prefer that they push it to the next page so your eyes aren't drawn to it so easily. One thing I did was take a bunch of sticky notes before reading a section or chapter and put them over the answers so I wasn't able to "cheat" at an answer. For each question it gives you a very descriptive answer as to why it is True or False, and even goes it more detail, especially with the command line commands and switches. For $20 this is a great tool to have to help prepare you for the test. I would say this book alone is not enough to do it. The Training Kit book is also necessary, along with their practice tests (which are NOT hard enough IMO). A lot of the tasks they test over is stuff I do in my job so I'm a lot different compared to someone that might be taking this with no prior knowledge, that's where the Training Kit book may help as there are lots of Training tasks in each chapter of that book (none of which I actually did). I did fail my first time out, by maybe 2-3 questions (that's why Second Shots are so great). After reviewing my printout of the failed test, and writing down everything I could remember after getting back to my car, I used this book to study my lacking areas (never even went back to the Training Kit book) and I passed my second time out with a score of 850.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last step in your exam preparation 9 May 2012
By JUAN JOSE DE LEON - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
This book is full of tricky questions that will help you know your weak areas for the exam. Is organized by exam objectives and after each question it points you to resources for strengthening the area of knowledge.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passed the first time :) 3 May 2012
By L T Ror - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I bought the book as soon as it came out, and found the material to be very useful. The layout of each section gives the reader a firm understanding of not just fundamental concepts, but also useful information about detailed scenarios. The structure is composed in such a way, that the sections aren't overwhelming, in a time when testing anxiety can be present. This read will give you the confidence you need to have success.

To make a long story short... I passed the first time I took the test and this was my first MS certification. Thanks Orin!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good pretest review guide 13 July 2012
By Spoon - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Really good to use as a book that you can read anywhere that you have some spare time before the test. You can go through the whole book in 2 days, so it works really well for reading during lunch at work, or any other place you have 15 min. The questions asked are very different than what's included in the 700pg training kit, so it gives you a slightly different set of information to work with. I was reading this book in the waiting area right up until they called me to sit for the exam.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book for Last-minute Exam Review 10 Jan 2013
By H Spikes - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book is just what it says it is and well-worth the price. Its a great read for last minute exam review sessions. The book is laid out in the EXACT order of the 70-680 exam objectives and gives you "just the facts" written right next to the corresponding test objective. The book is small enough to take and read anywhere and very convenient. I kept it with me and was able to break it out and review whenever I had a few free moments during my days(i.e. dental appointment waiting room, DMV waiting rm, etc. etc., and the last 30 minutes sitting in the car before actually going in and testing). Yes I know I probably was thought of as a Geek by people who saw me reading this book in public, but it worked as I was able to pass the exam on Jan 7, 2013 with a score of 820. A reminder though, this book is just to be used as a last minute study guide and not as your only study source. You will need to have already got a good foundation in the material before using this book as it is really a rapid pace, in-your-face, review with no room for too many questions--just a final "absorption" of the objective material before you test. Good Luck......
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback